We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful time”
Review of Village Susegat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Susegat
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful time”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We have been back a week now and wish we could go back tomorrow. From the moment you arrive you just relax, the bungalows are lovely with huge comfortable beds and beautiful bed linen. Di looks after you so well and nothing is to much trouble ,and Steve makes the best butter chicken and tandoori that I have had anywhere . The whole place I just immaculate and the setting is beautiful . Thank you Steve and Di for another wonderful time at village susegat , god willing we will be back again next year.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the moment we arrived and were met by Di at the gate to the property my wife and I knew we had made the right choice for our first holiday experience in Goa. She and her partner Steve who are British, have created the perfect beach retreat in an idyllic location at Morjim in north Goa. The bungalows, designed by Steve, are comfortable, clean and equipped with a large comfortable bed (fully insect proofed) and en-suite facilities with hot water provided by solar panels. Bed linen and towels are changed twice a week when the room is cleaned.

The restaurant has a comprehensive menu featuring British and Indian specialities and fresh fish including Pomfret, Red Snapper and Kingfish. Don't miss Steve's Beef and Ale pie or the Goan Fish Curry. Breakfast is a treat with a choice of Full English or the more healthy option of fresh fruit and all at prices you will not believe!

The staff are all attentive and charming and happy to serve drinks and snacks whilst you lounge on the comfortable sun beds and when they are not serving you they are tending the gardens or raking the sand!

The owners are happy to arrange taxis and give advice on trips and local places of interest (including other restaurants!)

We are already planning our return trip for 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnandsue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

When we arrived at Village Susegat, to one of the owners, Di, waiting for us at the end of the lane. I was so happy to be out of a moving vehicle (after an epic train and car journey) that I hugged her - this unknown woman - twice. By this time, it was dark, and we couldn't see the property well. Di walked us to our beach hut and, without checking it out, we dropped our bags and went to the restaurant on the property for dinner.

The restaurant was lit beautifully. Nice, soft music (not techno, finally, which is a favorite of Indian establishments) was playing on the speakers, accompanied by the sound of unseen waves crashing on the nearby beach. The wait staff was coordinated in simple t-shirts and slacks. And, best of all, the menu was western - predominabtly British. I never thought it was possible, but one can get tired of Indian food. Di's husband, Steve, is the food engineer here and he is really good at his job.

With the first mouthful of carrot cumin soup, I knew that this place was going to be heaven. The soup tasted so wholesome, filling and nourishing. The second course was even better - vegetarian shepard's pie - and the third, dessert, was the best - rich caramel chocolate pie. I am a big believer that if the washrooms are clean, the food will also be prepared in a sanitary way. Well, this place is immaculate! Exactly what 4 weeks of my Delhi Belly ridden stomach needed.

We went to bed satiated and woke to the sight of our beautiful beach hut where we were to spend 7 more nights. In the light of day, we could see that the simple hut was well constructed and painted in neutral colors. Our room has a solar heated standing shower, separate toilet and sink, king sized four poster bed draped in mosquito netting, and lots of suspended shelving. Over the next week, it really became our home away from home. We were also delighted to find out that the beach - which we couldn't see upon arrival due to the dark - is less than a 60 second walk from our hut. This place is divine!

Above everything, the owners, Di and Steve, are fantastic, friendly people. They are a British couple who spend 6 months of the year in India running the beach huts and restaurant. It is truly a labour of love, as it takes 6 weeks at the beginning of every season just to set up and another 6 weeks to tear down at the end of the season. While Steve is in the kitchen or fixing little problems in the huts, Di looks after the office, the dining room and the staff. They do all this with smiles despite neither having had time this season to go for a walk on the beach!

Room Tip: All huts are beautiful. There is no air con but there is a ceiling fan which should do the trick at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We arrived in late November and stayed for two weeks. Steve (the owner) was extremely welcoming and hospitable. The staff in the restaurant were friendly, attentive and efficient. We had breakfast there every morning and it was excellent. The room was cleaned regularly and clean towels arrived several times during our stay. The four poster double bed was extremely comfortable. We had constant hot water to the shower and washbasin. Unfortunately the lighting was not good enough for reading in bed so we did our reading whilst sunbathing on the sun loungers. The location of Susegat is superb, being just seconds from Morjim beach. We hired Francis' fishing boat, the Manuel which is moored up by the fishermen's cross, to go and see the dolphins - cost for 4 persons was £14. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Susegat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We travelled to Goa and wanted to stay at a place which was away from crowded beaches. Village Susegat was a perfect solution. Clean, well maintained, right on the beach and absolutely the kind of place we wanted to stay at. Owners are extremely polite and allowed us to check in before the mentioned check in time. The staff & services were good too. Beach huts are very well designed. Clean bed sheets, clean bathroom and towels and hot water for shower, only issue some people may face is lighting (though we found the light sufficient as we were really not interested in reading). Food is good but I found it expensive as compared to the room rates. We were charged extra for ketchup. So our suggestion is to dine out most of the times.

Overall, lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitaaDang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at this property twice - once in the month of November and the second time in the month of December. The first time we enjoyed it and therefore we were eager to stay the next time however we were disappointed.

What we liked about the property:-
1. Cleanliness - 98% of the time it was spic and span. Since my husband is allergic to dust mites, this was very important to us.
2. Price - fabulous pricing.
3. Layout of property - the layout with the individual enclosures and the coconut trees is superb!

What we did not like:-
1. The water pressure - during our second stint in the month of December, we had quite a problem with the water pressure. Probably due to the full occupancy status, the water was literally dripping in the shower ( like those Chinese torture situations!). I got a response to my complaint after 3 days on the day we were checking out. It was that since there were not a 5 star and only a shack this is how things were. I found this comment and its timing to be in slightly poor taste,
2.The lighting - The white lights are dim and not conducive to reading, especially at night.
3. Food - Quite expensive. At breakfast you are charged for the ketchup separately. Also once I ordered a watermelon and feta salad and got paneer (cottage cheese)instead of feta! The flavour of the food is more British than Goan.
4. Luggage storage option - there is no place to keep your bags. Though the limitation is understood nevertheless, I am mentioning it.

Room Tip: The first cottage faces the beach and therefore has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gauri407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Village Susegat for only 2 nights, but oh how we wished it had been longer! We did intend to return for a few nights of our final week in Goa, but events overtook us and it wasn't possible.
Village Susegat is beautiful, the huts are fab and it's location on Morjim beach is lovely. The site is really private so there are no hawkers bothering you when sunbathing etc. The huts have great beds, showers and sitting out areas. The only reason I've not scored full marks is because they didn't have their licence and so we couldn't eat on site. This meant a taxi to a local restaurant (Gilbert's, it was lovely!) and so we couldn't have the full experience! I believe though that the food is lovely here and I'm just sorry we didn't get the chance to try it! The owners are so lovely and make you feel so welcome, all in all I'd recommend Village Susegat wholeheartedly! Enjoy! I'm sure you will!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morjim
0.1 mi away
Montego Bay Beach Village
0.4 mi away
Paros by Amarya
Paros by Amarya
#3 of 14 in Morjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiara Fiesta Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rock Water Resort
Rock Water Resort
#8 of 52 in Morjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'Amore Beach Cottages
L'Amore Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Ashvem Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#7 of 14 in Morjim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Susegat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Susegat

Property: Village Susegat
Address: Vithaldas Vaddo, Morjim 403512, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Morjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word Susegat (pronounced Susegad) in the native tongue of Goa (konkani) means totally relax, chill out, no stress, do as you feel, etc.etc..The understanding of the word Susegat and the love of Goa and its people was and is the inspiration behind its creation. Village Susegat is nestled in the palm groves of the picturesque North Goa beach of Morjim. The village is a small collection of hand crafted bungalows where everything is geared to giving you that ‘Susegat’ experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Village Susegat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Susegat Goa/Morjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing