We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Special took us for granted!”
Review of Simply Special Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morjim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply Special Inn
Ranked #33 of 50 Morjim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We were a big group of around 20 people. We had booked our rooms months in advance of our stay. Asif had promised everything we required would be arranged for. We had also discussed rates earlier. The service was bad. When we requested for the rooms to be cleaned, they did a very hasty, bad job. I had read up reviews of simply special earlier and I expected good service from them. I assume they took us for granted as we occupied almost all the rooms and had booked, much in advance. They also overcharged us claiming it was for additional services. We had a very bad experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplySpecialInn, Owner at Simply Special Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

We sincerely regret that you were unhappy with your experience at our guesthouse.
We have just written a detailed response to your friend who has writtent the review before yours.
We do apologise for the fact that we did not live up to your expectations and to the promise that 'everything' that you needed would be provided.
We have tried to answer your greivances in the response to your friends' review.

Maybe we can make up for it the next time. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

I had high hopes when I planned to have a party with family and friends at Simply Special Inn. We booked almost the entire hotel, and had a private party on their terrace. We were sorely disappointed with their lack of attention and care; it seemed that they were doing a personal favor to us and were put out, rather than running a hospitality business, where we were paying for their service and attention.

There were constant power cuts and no back up, and the owners did not inform several of our friends when check out was, instead billing them for half days extra. The service in the restaurant took more than an hour sometimes, and again was a miserable disappointment. The bathrooms smelled funny, and it was next to impossible to have the rooms cleaned. The internet was never working in the restaurant, and when we complained, the owners told us it was too much expense to have it working. Their dogs barked constantly. We felt embarrassed that the staff treated our family and friends so shabbily.

For our private party, the catering came very late, and the servers were rude to our guests even though we were paying for the service (and not a small cost). We were billed for guests that didn't come, even though we informed them well in advance of our final count.

Luckily we had also booked many rooms at Hotel Nifa just across the street and found them to be warm and helpful, so we spent much of our time there. If you want to stay in Morgim, a much better bet is to stay at Hotel Nifa.

Room Tip: Don't go here. Check out Hotel Nifa, White Feather, or Micasa (just up the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariEva1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplySpecialInn, Owner at Simply Special Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Apologies for the fact that you felt lack of attention given to you. All I can say is that could be very subjective and am sorry we were not able to satisfy you.
But more specifically, on the points you have raised, yes there were a power cuts about twice which did not last more than an hour. And i can assure you this was not normal, and the Goa Governement Electricity board had not informed us to be prepared for it. And it was the same with all the hotels around. As you have been living in India for sometime, am sure you would know how the situation is in villages like Morjim in Goa.

As far as the restaurant service is concerned, our service does take about 30-45 minutes but we have always maintained that we take time as we try and keep our food as fresh as possible. And that is also the reason our food is known to be clean and hygienic.

About the rooms, you & your partner had yourself come and checked each and every one of them in April last year. And you had come and stayed with us for 3 -4 nights in October too. So as you did not mention any problem then, we just maintained the status quo. The same is the case as far as room cleaning concerned. In fact, we have very clear guidelines mentioned inside every room regarding the same about the timings as well as the schedule.

As far as the party was concerned, we catered for the final number of people you had given us 2 days before the party. After that,it was too late to change and if the number of people who did attend was lesser, we had already prepared food for the number you had given us. So, as I had already told you when we took the order, we had to take the payment for the number of plates ordered, irrespective of the numbers who turned up.

About the check-out time, we did inform all your friends who asked us. The check-out time is also clearly mentioned on our website too. But finally all the guests did check out late and we had to follow our policy and charge half-day tariff. We will maintain that in future too.

Again, we do regret that we could not satisfy you. But we did do the best we could. Especially since, we literally rented out our entire hotel space to you and your group for the 3-4 days. And at the lowest tariff we have given for the entire season.

God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I spent for delightful months in this so special hotel, where we appreciated the perfectly professional service, while enjoying a totally "at home feeling".
In their restaurant, we enjoyed beautiful indian home cuisine , served at almost anytime of the day and evening,We particularly enjoyed the roof restaurant.
All the rooms are nice and clean and they are all different.
The owners are a charming couple, and they make everyone feel very welcome.
The whole atmosphere of the house is a very happy one, absolutely ideal for single travellers or families, SIMPLY SPECIAL IS REALLY SIMPLY THE BEST
with our fondest love S and E from Switzerland.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shanticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Simply Special is incredible. I am not a very experienced traveller, and Aasif and Mitushi (the owners) made me feel so comfortable, safe and welcome. I instantly felt like part of the 'Simply Special family'.

The rooftop restaurant is so laid back...I spent hours and hours there during my ~2 month stay. The food is delicious and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. There really is something special about this place! Relaxing music...the breeze coming in through the palm trees, great conversations with everyone that hangs out there...amazing!

Aasif and Mitushi are always around and love to sit and talk and get to know each person that comes in. They will do anything to help, from calling you a cab, recommending the best shops/massage/yoga class...they are the BEST!!!

The rooms are also very nice. Very clean, charming, comfortable. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We first stayed at Simply Special Inn during Diwali of 2010 and found our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The owners of the place, Asif and his wife Mitushi take special interest in making sure that every thing is taken care of. The food is very good and the staff very courteous. It is also very close to the pristine Morjim beach which is removed from the other overcrowded beaches in Goa. We have returned to SSI several times in the past and surely intend to visit again.

The owners are great pet lovers, your pets will be welcome too!!!

We highly recommend the place. Do visit and experience it for yourself!! i'm sure you will enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UshaKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It was a great holiday which was made even more memorable by the wonderful stay and hospitality offered at Simply Special Inn. Extremely comfortable and clean rooms, outrageously awesome food and the pancakes with maple syrup is to die for. A well stocked rooftop bar where one can hang out in the evenings and meet some great people and have great conversations. The whole experience was more like visiting a friends place rather than being at a resort. Morjim Beach is just down the road which is probably one of the cleanest beaches of Goa. Party places are plenty all around and trust the owners Aasif and Mitushi to figure out where the best parties are happening. I think the name Sinfully special Inn would kind of resonate my entire experience of this place.

cheers

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abhishek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Everything about this place was amazing! Excellent service, very polite people and extremely helpful. Very relaxing atmosphere and very peaceful.
Great rooms, very big and had very good facilities e.g. constant hot water.
Location was fantastic, very close to the beach!
It was a very exciting trip and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay during my week!
The best part was the polite, helpful and cheerful staff and I will definitely be returning to Simply Special Inn very soon!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank superbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morjim hotels
0.9 mi away
Montego Bay Beach Village
1 mi away
Wanderers Hostel
Wanderers Hostel
#8 of 66 in Morjim
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sur La Mer
Sur La Mer
#1 of 17 in Morjim
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Vaiencia Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Morjim
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baywalk Goa
Baywalk Goa
#4 of 17 in Morjim
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Special Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Special Inn

Address: House no. 750,759 New Wada, Morjim 403512, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Morjim
Price Range: £11 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Simply Special Inn Goa/Morjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing