We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than we thought it was going to be!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitminster Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Whitminster Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitminster B&B and Inns
northants
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than we thought it was going to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We'd booked to stay here due to it's close location to a friends surprise party, I must say if we'd just walked in on the spur of the moment, we wouldn't have stayed, the lady who greeted us, didn't! She barely spoke, we did not feel welcome in any way, shape or form! We were asked what time we wanted breakfast, and understood her to say the waitress would bring it to us, we thought that was odd. Our room, however was lovely,with a comfy sofa, tv and dvd, nice bathroom, and decent shower, and good quality toilet paper. The inn has a very varied menu, which looked brilliant, we only had time for a main course, but it was reasonably priced, and we both enjoyed it. I must say, considering it's right on the A38, there was very little noise, and we had a good nights sleep. When no breakfast appeared next morning, my husband checked, and of course we were meant to go down, (no idea what woman was talking about). We were disappointed in the breakfast, a cooked breakfast is £8.50, which I thought expensive, and as we were having a big lunch, didn't need, however the ones we saw brought out were huge, and probably good value. We opted for the Continental, which consisted of a poor choice of cereal,with milk just sat on the table, so not kept cool, tinned prunes or grapefruit, apple or orange juice, and toast, one and a half slices of cheap bread each( we were offered more), two choices of jam, and my husband found one marmalade! No yoghurt, or croissant, or fresh fruit. The staff we encountered during the rest of our stay were friendly and chatty, much better than our initial meeting. As I said, we'd have found elsewhere if we hadn't have needed to be close by, that lady could well be losing this establishment customers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed one night at the hotel great place fab bedroom very clean comfortable, lovely bathroom.
Grounds smashing neat and tidy , friendly staff. Orchard marquee smashing place for a wedding great garden for photos buffet was fabulous

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mississippi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

The inn is located on the A38, close to Stonehouse and Stroud.
The site consists of the inn (which is very historic, full of aged oak beams) plus a Fish & Chip Servery, Chinese Restaurant and Indian Restaurant all on one site!
All the food is of excellent quality, even if the service is not of the highest standards one might expect in a city centre.
The rooms are keenly priced and quite spacious. Those at the front overlooking the A38 (which most do) are quite noisy in the early morning once the traffic starts to build up.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The wedding venue was great; the grounds lovely; the food delicious; the staff very helpful and friendly - just couldn't fault this side of our time at the Whitminster. The problem arose when we returned to our room, which was actually a very comfortable, clean and spacious ensuite one.
HOWEVER, WE DIDN't get a wink of sleep because of the noise that sounded as if it was coming from either an extractor fan or air conditioning unit - it was awful! At 3.45am my husband went to find the night porter to see if something had been left on in the kitchen - he was told no and that there was no problem. We then asked a member of staff to come to the room about 8.30am because the noise continued - it happened to be the chef, who was very pleasant, said there had never been complaints before, that he had used the room when working and heard nothing. He was now standing by the door and about to leave when he acknowledged that he could hear it, apologised and said he'd get the owner to contact us. We left without having breakfast or paying because we were so infuriated that our complaints in the main had been ignored and we were made to feel that we were making a fuss over nothing. This was the night of the 30th June 2012 and to date we have not heard from the owner, so hence we are writing this review. By the way my husband video recorded the noise to prove that we were being truthful. Disgusting treatment!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west country
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

On a Monday the deal is two fish & Hand cut chips and two glasses of wine for an unbeatable £10
you can pay for extras ie mushy peas Bread & butter etc the the service was good the staff very friendly and the fish & chips were very filling and very nice, we then spotted the deal for a wednesday night 2 steaks hand cut chips peas & salad two glasses of wine for £20 so we had to give it a go, again very nice filling presented well good value for the money and one very happy partner as i dont like wine !!!! it's worth a visit the whitminster also has seperate Indian & chinese resturants and takeaways someone has a very good business head congratulations Mr Mc Goldrick we were impressed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaDabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a meeting/evening debrief with some colleagues from work at the chinese reastaurant. This turned into a really good evening that was enjoyed by all of us. The food was excellent, both in quality and value. You can order exactly what you want from a comprehensive menu and it is cooked to order...it just keeps coming and coming all for a very reasonable £14.00 or so.

Great value and great quality and the staff were very efficient and friendly. Well worth a second visit which is now planned.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Having previously eaten here several times and enjoyed their 2 course special lunch for £7.95, I went with work colleagues to find that it had apparently turned into one of these "all you can eat" places! I'm not sure if this is a permanent thing (their website still shows the £7.95 2 course option) but we had unbelievable value for money! We all enjoyed mixed starters, a crispy duck interlude and a main course for just £8.95. We could have had more if we'd wanted though. It is all cooked fresh - not already out like some busier places - and everything was of the highest quality. I'm assuming, if they do offer this in the evening, the price rockets like most restaurants of this type. If, however, you are very hungry and want a superb value Chinese lunch you should give this place a try. Assuming, of course, they still offer this!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Whitminster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitminster Inn

Property: The Whitminster Inn
Address: Bristol Road, Whitminster GL2 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Whitminster
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitminster
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Whitminster Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing