We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all impressed”

Whitminster House Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitminster House Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not at all impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Walk Farmhouse & cottage were shabby and very overpriced for the standard of the accommodation. It looked as if very little had been done to the furniture and decor for 30 years. The storage heater heating system was basically uncontrollable, there was effectively no internet access, electricity and logs for the fire were extra, no kindling or axe to cut it with was supplied. No towels were supplied and the bed linen was of poor quality. The living room door didn't close properly which in the cold weather caused a fearful draught. Large puddles formed on the window sills and on the hall floor when it rained. Lighting in the living room and in the kitchen was awful. We couldn't get the phones to work. Very poor value for money, won't go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

i was lucky enough to spend some time in church cottage, and although if you are looking for a modern hi tech place this would not be the place for you, its however full of country charm, the views from the garden are amazing and the cottage comfy and warm. i was sad to leave and didnt want to go home, the owners and manager were friendly and helpful,and on my arrival the place was spotlessly clean... i would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaggbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

36 members of our family aged between 5 months and 80 years spent a glorious weekend here celebrating an 80th birthday. The whole place has a lovely feel to it. We loved the mis-matched furniture it added to the charm and I think everyone had a favourite piece they would happily have taken home!The children loved playing in the house and gardens, Which meant the adults were all able to relax together. I would love to do it all again the sooner the better.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tew897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have a large family with lots of pets, this topsy turvy olde worlde cottage was PERFECT, it was huge (my child described it as the best place 'ever' to play hide and seek) and had such character, no the furniture doesn't match and has very outdated bathrooms, but if you want immaculate decor go to the ritz, the function room at the back of the cottage really was the icing on the cake, the whole family (18 adults 6 kids 5 dogs) where able to have a wonderful party to celebrate my grandparents golden anniversary, oh and a lovely big brambley apple tree so we could even do a spot of baking while we where there

Words cannot describe what a fabulous weekend it was

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_louise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitminster, Manager at Whitminster House Cottages, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
We are delighted you and your family were able to make the most of the Farmhouse cottages for your parents' 50th wedding anniversary, and that your child appreciated the magic of it all!
We shall look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

27 members of our extended family, with representatives aged from two to almost eighty years old, have enjoyed a thoroughly pleasant stay at the four conjoined Whitminster House Cottages. We found all the kitchen equipment we needed, including a range of barbecue tools, colanders, knives, pans and a vast supply of crockery.

We were warm and comfortable and tended to congregate in the big farmhouse. The younger element loved the big front lawn, where they played football or cricket while their elders watched affectionately from under the gazebos. The under-tens found their "Harry Potter" bedroom under the eaves very exciting, although inattentive dads do need to watch their heads on the low beams! Nobody at all fell down the stairs, as we all proceeded with caution and used the handrails... The little boys described the house as "an adventure."


Mrs. Teesdale, the owner, could not have been more welcoming nor helpful. A free telephone is
provided to contact her in case of problems, and we were touched by her provision of chocolate biscuits with the tea and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitminster, Manager at Whitminster House Cottages, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We are so glad you and the family had a great time in the Farmhouse Group.
We hope we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Before writing off Whitminster House because of all this negative feedback, ask yourself what you want from the event you are organising. If you are looking for priceless chandeliers, chaise longs and other opulent details then you may have the wrong place. However for our Garden Party style wedding we couldn't have found anywhere more ideal. Whitminster House is offered on a whole weekend or midweek package only so it's not ideal if you intend for the guests to stay only one night. For our visit we occupied the whole West Wing (Main House), stables and lodge cottage which totalled 22 or so people. Everyone was laid back and relaxed and arriving on Friday, staying until Monday each paid only 100 GBP which was reasonable. The owner Mrs Anita Teesdale is a very proud, jovial and helpful lady who tries wherever possible to divert cost to other providers. E.g by buying your wine through Majestic the corkage is significantly reduced as she makes a saving on her own account with them. If you are looking to get everyone drunk then this is ideal because you don't have to worry about galactic bar prices you'd get in a normal licenced premises. The lawns around the property are extensive and varied, although this isn't Kew Gardens it made a beautiful backdrop for our photographs and people could be spotted playing croquet, badminton, lawn darts and other games while our hired chef rolled out BBQ ribs and giant hot dogs to many happy guests which we purchased from the butcher in local Minchinhampton.

Yes the furtinture is a little dated and tired, but this is a house which is used all the time and maintained by a relatively small number of very long serving and committed staff. When we ran out of fridge space Mrs Teesdale made more available in the cellar. When we had guests arriving from abroad, she allowed them to arrive on the Thursday for no additional charge!

To give a totally balanced view I must say you can expect to find some areas of the garden in need of weeding and we personally found the party rooms to be useful only as prep and storage areas as they had little natural light and were rather awkwardly shaped. Basically viewing this property is essential to ensure it meets your needs.

Finally, to give a wider perspective, some of our family had expressed concern about the trip advisor reviews. On the day itself they couldn't stop saying how their opinion of the place had completely changed and we were constantly drilled all day with "how on Earth did you find this place?!"

Whatever you choose to believe, good luck with your event.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AntCouzens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitminster
3.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.7 mi away
Saul Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#3 of 4 in Frampton on Severn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
19.9 mi away
Sudeley Castle Cottages
Sudeley Castle Cottages
#1 of 3 in Winchcombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitminster House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitminster House Cottages

Property: Whitminster House Cottages
Address: Whitminster House | Wheatenhurst, Whitminster GL2 7PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Whitminster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitminster
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A group of delightfully quirky, comfortable self-catering cottages sleeping up to 48, set in beautiful countryside between the Cotswolds and the River Severn ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitminster House Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing