We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chester Court(Chester)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveller rating
619
395
168
68
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
395
168
68
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoanne wilcoxcolonic hydrotherapymaster suitegirls nightmassive bathroomsteam roomchanging roomssuperior roomlight lunchmy partnerlovely hotelwalk in showercheshire oakslounge areawedding venueafternoon teaevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,153 - 1,158 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had our wedding at Crabwall Manor on the 29th December 2012 and the Day was perfect, everything was taken care of by the superb Banqueting staff who were expertly led by Emma Vanenberg. She was the absolute spirit of understanding and helpfulness, and will go the extra mile to ensure that any bride and groom have a wedding to remember fondly for many many years to come. We would unreservedly recommend the hotel for a wedding or a luxury stay. Currently the company who own the hotel are in the middle of a Full refit and if the plans that we were shown come out in the flesh then this hotel will be full restored to the glory that it deserves. Thank you again for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Pete H;

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your wedding with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we are very much looking forward welcoming you back for your first wedding anniversary.
Wishing you all the happiness you deserve.
Kindly yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After much searching, I found a deal for £75 a night (room only) for this hotel and decided to book. It is about a 10 min drive from Chester centre and there is very limited public transport but a taxi ride is only £6 each way. The hotel itself could do with a bit of TLC and there is building work going on so you aren't presented with the most attractive first impression when you arrive. Our room (40) was huge but slightly shabby in areas, mainly the bathroom, and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together. But it had a charm about it and the lounge area downstairs by the fire was really nice. We decided to have a meal in the restaurant and this was really good. I had the salmon and a sticky toffee pudding, both were delicious! The staff were lovely and very helpful. The spa with a pool and sauna was also really nice and probably the highlight of the hotel for me. Not the best hotel I have stayed in, but for £75 a night, it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Stephanie R;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Feedback is a vital part of our business and as such is taken very seriously.
Your kind words are very much appreciated and hopefully when our refurbishment is fully completed in July you should find that Crabwall Manor is now one of the best hotels in Chester.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Overall the stay was excellent...we had a suite with a four poster bed and a big bath!! so ok its an old manor house not a modern hotel...just what we wanted...

The staff were really friendly...couldnt do enough...

Michael ran his socks off at breakfast time taking orders and serving...some of the girls should help serve....

The down sides...

No bath robes in our room...
When trying to book the spa it was full because non residents were using it...
The TV did not work in the bedroom...it kept freezing on non BBC chanels...
The restuarant menu left quite a bit to be desired especially as three or four things were left unavailable from a short menu...the lounge menu was far better...
The breakfast said cumberland sausage...???
I would stress the above points are tiny as the stay overall was really good....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bubba21111963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Bubba21111963;

Thank you so much for your review.
I also would like to apologise for any issue you encountered during your stay.
Crabwall manor is now under refurbishment and by July 2013 we should be fully completed.
I have passed your comments to our head chef and please be reassured that we did improve where needed.
Our spring menu will be available next month and hopefully by your next visit you will enjoy it.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed in new room was amazing check in was very. Personal and attentive staff friendly welcoming and extremely helpful my only disappointment was not to see such an amazing building as shown in brochure renovations going on to roof so building covered in scaffolding dud not affect our stay the food and menu was excellent will def stay again just lacked in area to chill after dinner hen party took over entire seated area so had go back to room without night cap

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mizzymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Mizzymoi;

Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our new rooms.
Crabwall manor is now under refurbishment and hopefully by spring all our bedrooms and corridors will be of the same standard as your room.
I would like to apologise for the visual inconvenience the scaffolding creates.
On a positive note I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and staff customer care philosophy.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The approach was not great with the Hotel covered in scaffolding, the car park is dirty & unkempt. The reception is in a small room ? I found the reception & bar staff pleasant enough but subsequently unhelpful since I complained. Having booked through laterooms on a £49 from £200 special deal? I thought my luck was in for a couple of nights with a spa etc...wrong! the room was awful, granted it would appear the whole place was having a quick make over, but it needs it badly. No shower curtain, the bathroom is swilling in water, judging the water marks on the ceiling it must be the same in the room above. Tea mug - was nice! if you were at the local greasy spoon. The food was cold, poor quality & expensive in the restaurant where wallpaper is peeling off the wall’s, the ghetto blaster in the corner of the room was entertainment. Breakfast displayed on a bit of old shiny cloth covering boxes for height, the toaster took forever & I gave up waiting (one has only so long for breakfast), the staff was trying their best but it was embarrassing for them. My room was en-suit, the bath sunken halfway above & below floor level – very odd, no soap, but the shower gel came in handy, the bed was firm, which was OK, but the duvet was dirty. The TV picture was poor perched on an odd table, a fold up bed in the alcove was unexpected, the view of scaffold poles from the window was restrictive and unpleasant & 2 x fire alarms unnerving to say the least, I had zero enthusiasm to view the spa pool, needless to say the stay was cut short.

Room Tip: unfortunately i didnt have one to provide
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJLCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear DJLCW;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I would like to apologise if on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations.
I feel that some of your comments are a "bit" unfair; our car park and gardens are kept clean and tidy all year long by our maintenance team; although on your arrival day it was windy and rainy making it difficult to enjoy and maybe this is why you might have by mistake misrepresented it.
Our "quick make over" as you call it is worth over £1.000.000 and should put back Crabwall Manor as perfect destination for anyone visiting Chester (although maybe not for £49...).
I am sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy our spa treatments; full size swimming pool or gym.
On behalf of the hotel and its staff I would like to apologise once again for any inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back once our refurbishment is fully completed.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews