We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sales shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sales shopping”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Crabwall for a post christmas/jan sales break. Carol and Damon were pleasant and informative at reception. Our room was spacious and refurbished to a high standard with lovely decor. The spa was great for exercise and relaxation and nice and clean. The food in the evening in the restaurant was delicious with excellent service from Kasia, Jenny and Ollie. The dining room decor was a little tired but we were told is next to be refurbished. If it is done to the same standard as the rooms it will be fantastic. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with pleasant service. All in all a lovely hotel and spa which we would recommend and would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Scooby G;
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its staff.
On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your kind words.
Very much looking forward welcoming you in a near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    362
    150
    65
    55
See reviews for
185
575
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Crabwall Manor on Christmas eve in 2 rooms. Both check in and check out with Dee was effortless and very friendly, as are all of the staff we met! Both the rooms were beyond our expectations. They were clean, beautifully decorated and very spacious. We loved the bathrooms - fitted to a very high standard.

That evening we had a drink at the bar. Great value for money at a hotel. The barman was knowledgeable and helpful. Although the bar was obviously well stocked, one of the drinks had not been in stock on the bar, but this was very quickly rectified.

The breakfast staff; Maggie and Jose made us feel really welcome on Christmas day morning. We were offered a a great continental selection on the buffet and then the hot food was chosen from the menu. Everything was plentiful and well cooked - great value for money.

We couldn't pick any faults with our stay and were wowed with the impeccable service and decor. We look forward to coming back again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bromsgrove203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Bromsgrove203;
Thank you for this fantastic feedback.
I am delighted to see that your stay was faultless and that our team made your stay a time to remember.
On behalf of our team and myself I would like to thank you and wish you a merry 2014.
Looking forward welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Crabwall Manor.

As reviewed before, the rooms are superb, clean and beautifully presented. The windows in our room (49) had a slight leak in the heavy rains, and this needs keeping an eye on or they'll be problems with damp in the room.

Impressed with the reception staff, polite and helpful, as were the cleaning staff who were lovely.
Bottles of toiletries lovely and tea and coffee facilities good. Would like to see bottled water available with the tea tray.

We went DBB, and although the food was mostly good, there was definite room for improvement, think better value for money would be offered, although we weren't charged any excess on our rate even though our meals amounted to more than $25 per head. Positive thumbs up for this, as the worst feeling is when you check out and if the hotel has added a few pounds / pence here or there for excess on pudding or starters. I think the DBB rate should be exactly that - inclusive of a 3 course dinner. Well done Crabwall Manor.

The steak was good, as were the homemade chips that came with it. Lovely eton mess, homemade tomato soup and sea bass starter. The orange / apple compote I had on the 1st night was def made with tinned mandarins... although I ate it, I didn't and wouldn't order it again. As was the bread and butter pudding, we've had better from chain pubs - really think better should be served from an up and coming establishment.

Breakfast: the cooked breakfast was spot on, no complaints, hot, good quality ingredients and perfectly done eggs. The buffet bits weren't great, particularly the croissants. I have no idea where they are supplied from or whether the problem comes with them being left out for a long time, but they were dry on both mornings, and we had a stale cinnamon swirl the 1st day. The 2nd morning we had milk that had to be sent back, I suspect too close to its date, and warm as it had been put out on the tables 1st thing. Really put us off, and please go back to serving toast to the table. Spending half our breakfast time waiting on slow slow slow toasters does not make for a relaxing breakfast!

Pool: Yes actual pool pleasant enough, not sure if its waiting for an upgrade... changing rooms shabby, and steam room very tired (missing tiles and moldy speaker box on the roof) I really thing some new tiles, a lick of paint and some lightbulbs would bring it up to standard. The entrance area has been beautifully done and again staff pleasant and helpful.

In general - as the rooms were so lovely we would definitely return. Clearly the restaurant is currently run down - lots and lots of broken / missing lights, some wall paper had been repaired with blue tack!! Etc...

We go every year at this time for a 2 night break for our wedding anniversary, and have been to a selection of 4 star UK hotels, usually with spa facilities, and all at similar rates. So our review is based purely on comparisons with other winter breaks. My other note to the manor, is making occasions special. I felt slightly disappointed that despite us letting the hotel know in advance that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary we weren't so much as offered a congratulations by staff at dinner, let alone any other complimentary gesture. Noticing these things just makes a difference... or maybe we have been spoilt by other hotels in previous years...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Rachel A;

Thank your for taking the time to write this review.
Feedback is a vital part of our business and as such is taken very seriously.
I am pleased to see that you had a great time at Crabwall Manor
I also would like to thank you for your positive comments.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a 3 night stay over New Years Eve for £310 (room only). It was not advertised as a NYE package and as such we had no expectation of a grand gala dinner etc. Our intention was to just wind down, pamper in the Spa and enjoy some fine food. Whilst the hotel is clearly working hard in terms of the refurbishment we were disappointed with the service and facilities available during this time. A few of our observations...

Bar - We arranged to meet friends on our arrival for post Christmas drinks. We ordered 4 drinks and waited 35mins for 3 of them. When we chased we were told that they were experiencing staffing issues and that the barman attending to us had gone out to fetch logs ?? - not a great first impression and our friends left shortly afterwards even though I'm sure they would have stayed and brought many more drinks under different circumstances! The bar is extremely small and not manned often so we were not overwhelmed by the service received on the 2 occasions we tried it and saw other guests walk in and back out too.
Room - Very comfortable, beautifully decorated. A great size, good bathroom, temperature etc. This could not be faulted.
The Spa - Nice, limited seats to relax but a good size pool, sauna etc. What a pity that we had no idea of it's opening times until arrival.
Restaurant - We had NYE dinner here and the food was fabulous. Our compliments to the chef and the service that we received. Slightly disappointed that there was no ambiance due to the very bright lighting and lack of music.
Staff - Some inexperience but all were trying hard under the circumstances. Limited guidance and information were given on checking in.The receptionist had to check when we asked if there were any arrangements for New Years Eve dinner so we knew then that it was pretty much going to be a non event. (I had previously emailed to ask this but received no reply). It really did feel like a case of 'find out for yourself' throughout our stay.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and used the time to visit Chester but our expectations were not met in terms of what was available at the hotel. We had paid a higher than standard rate for our room on a 'room only' basis but I'm not sure what for. I do feel very strongly that given it is advertised as a Hotel & Spa we should have been informed when booking that the Spa would not be available during most of our stay, also that there would be a wedding on at the same time and therefore limited New Years Eve celebrations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDYC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
dear WENDYC42;
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Feedback is a vital part of our business and as such is taken very seriously.
I cannot hide my disappointment at reading your review; you booking was made on a room only basis. We did contact you so as to inform you that no new year event would take place as the whole hotel was booked for a wedding. You were the only room that was not part of it.
We did open the restaurant specially for you and your guests at the last minute seeing that you could not book a table anywhere on New years eve. I am sorry if this was not what you were expecting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just recently returned from spending Christmas at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa at Chester. The hotel was superb, considering that this hotel had been allowed to be run down, the new company have so far worked wonders with the place. There is still work to do but once complete this will be an excellent place to stay. The room we had was a junior suite, which was fantastic, plenty of room to move around, large kingsize bed, separate sitting room, a lovely big bathroom with a walk in shower and a massive bath. The room was extremely comfortable, and had two televisions.

The staff are fantastic, all are very welcoming, polite and cannot do enough for you, this goes a long way. We were always made to feel special when in the hotel.

The food was excellent, very well presented and there was plenty of it, Christmas Day lunch was superb, and it was nice to have young waiting staff asking if everything was fine, or if you wanted anything else. They were very good and are a credit to the hotel.

We did not have enough time to use the Spa facility, but having viewed the area, this is a well appointed facility, with a lovely pool and a well stocked gym.

We are now planning our return to this hidden gem, and look forward to returning for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive suites, they are well appointed and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Carlf2017;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

stayed at the Crabwell on Boxing day night, the room, as per previous stays (not reviewed) was awesome, huge settees, room to move and lovely and clean. the bathroom, again was huge, the bath to die for. Breakfast was superb, the staff, wherever you are in the hotel are more than happy to help with any requests.
would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone in the Cheaster area for a few days break.

Room Tip: room 9 is particularly great, but others I've stayed were equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear StuHunt;

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel (repeatedly) and its facilities.
One behalf of the hotel I would like to thank you for your kind comments.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Fab couple of days away. Arrived to an old fashioned manor houeevwhere a lit of tge origional features have been kept. Evety member of staff we came into contact with were courteous and helpful.
The room was HUGE, beds comfortable and everywhere was spotless.
The price included use ofvthe pool, sauna etc so a relaxing morning was much aporeciated.

Room Tip: Pay a bitvextra to upgrade to executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sarah T;

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
It was a pleasure to have a you as a guest.
Many thanks for your kind comments.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
11.1 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing