We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A communicative no man's land”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A communicative no man's land”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be the most amazing experience if it would only LISTEN TO IT'S CUSTOMERS.

As it is, talking to other customers here, it is a place that each customer (business or otherwise) will visit once and never return.

The rooms are amazing, the food is superb, the staff are friendly and helpful, the spa is sufficient.

So, why never return?

Quite simply, there is no way to communicate with the outside world - there is no phone signal whatsoever - regardless of carrier, and there is no internet.

Now here is the really stupid part. The hotel has spent upwards of £1m refurbishing the place but it appears they have completely neglected this vital business asset.

Chester itself, just down the road, now has high speed broadband and so any respectable business that has £1m to spend on refurbishments to secure more customers, might throw a bit of money at paying BT to lay a fibre line to their establishment.

Not it appears this place.

The worst part - customers have been complaining about lack of internet for months.

As for me - instead of being a hotel that I would use long term because of the amazing facilities; it instead goes on my personal and the company black list because you have no connection to your business whatsoever until you get in your car and drive 1 mile down the road.

Such a shame and what a terrible waste of such a great asset

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JGDunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    343
    145
    62
    52
See reviews for
179
541
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We found the hotel to be very clean and rooms very spacious. However I felt the check in service could be improved. We arrived early for check in, the lady at reception checked us in but we did not go to our room as were heading into Chester straight away. Once we got back from Chester we collected our keys, but the lady did not tell us anything about spa, bar or any other facilities, she simply gave us directions on how to get to our room (which is a bit like a rabbit warren).
The next morning we wanted to use the pool before checkout but unfortunately a session of session of aqua aerobics was on and the pool could not be used. Whilst the reception is friendly enough I think with a better introduction to the hotel, we would of better utilised more it had we of known.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmak_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On arrival at this hotel it looks quite grand. However once inside you will be disappointed. We were early for check in but our room was ready. Unfortunately the receptionist didn't know where our room was and took us to the wrong side of the hotel! And did not direct us to where any of the facilities were should we require them at a later stage!
We booked to stay here mainly for the use of the spa facilities. Yet when we arrived were told that the pool was 'out of order'. This was supposed to last a couple of hours so we drove into chester. Once we arrived back we were informed that the pool would not be opened until the next day, and that wasn't a 100% guarantee. Instead we decided to make the most of the other spa facilities so I called spa reception from the room to check they were available and if we were provided with robes. I was greeted by a rude female who stated unless we were on a spa package they were not provided and she hung up on me!
Once we got to the spa it was clean and not overcrowded.
We went to the bar on our second night (once we had found it). The atmosphere is strange and uninviting! I wouldn't recommend a visit!
Finally we were due to check out and the receptionist messed up again. Instead of charging £158 for two nights she charged me £1.58. Once she had realised her error she had to do another card payment and got herself into a fluster. (There were now several other guest stood behind us waiting to
check out).
Overall a fairly nice place. Staff need customer service skills training!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldghud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 1.50pm along with another couple who arrived just behind us we went to reception to check in. The lady receptionist did not bother to get up from her seat behind the the main desk but shouted to us that it was too early to book in and we would have to return at 3pm. She told us the main bar and restaurant were 'out of bounds' to us as there was a wedding on and she made us feel like we were an inconvenience. We then drove into Chester for lunch and returned after 4pm. This time we were met by a lovely gentleman who couldn't do enough and was very pleasant. After freshening up in our room which was lovely and spacious and decorated very nicely we decided to have a drink at the bar. We were showed to a tiny room with a bar that was unstaffed. We had to ask the reception to serve us. They had to go find a bottle of wine and the John smiths beer was off! We them say in the main foyer as the wedding party was using the rest of the hotel. There was no atmosphere and it was a through fare for the hotel. We felt like spare parts!! The hotel was lovely but the customer service skills need to be improved and more attention needs to be given to other guests staying at the hotel when a function is on .... A friendlier bar might help with music and a better atmosphere!! More staff maybe to cater for everyone's needs.... It's a shame as it was a nice hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

During our stay we experienced several disappointments bearing in mind for us this was a special weekend break. My partner was out family for 9 month to tour Afghanistan with the RAF. When we got to reception nobody was available to greet us. Therefore we were confused as to where reception was until somebody did arrive and gave us keys to our room which was quite helpful. However when we woke the next morning to our surprise there was no electricity. We assumed this was only our room until we made our way downstairs and realised all of the lighting had gone. We realised this was not the hotels fault however, we did think this could have been handled more professionally. There were no signs to state there had been a power cut, and again no staff available to tell us there had been a power cut. We arrived at the dinner hall to be told by a waitress that there is only a continental breakfast this morning obviously! She must have assumed we knew the power had gone. There was no option to have a refund for the English breakfast we had pre booked. And a continental breakfast is not bread, cereal, meat and cheese! When we returned from our day out we went back to our room to find our sheets had not been changed, our towels had been left on the toilet seat and the surfaces had not been wiped. After complaining we received our money back for breakfast and an upgrade to a junior suite. The room was beautiful, however, the phone line had been snapped so could not order room service, there was no iron and there was litter behind our bed. Also when we used the spa we were not allowed robes because they were 'not supposed to give them out'??? When we returned late from a Saturday night in town in Chester, we waited 15 minutes at reception to get our key back which you are requested to hand in each time you leave and nobody came. My partner had to get it himself. Not very secure considering anybody could have gone behind the counter! All in all a very shoddy and unprofessional hotel. Really disappointed especially after paying so much.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RP221988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear RP221988;

Fist of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am surprised by your comments and the content of this review.
None of the events you do mentioned have ever happened or were reported to us?
I am wondering if you left this review by mistake maybe (as for the wrong hotel)?
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will do my best to help you find the hotel linked to this review.
When next in Chester please do not hesitate to try Crabwall Manor; I am sure you will enjoy it more than where you stayed last.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool/Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to have a eau break following our travels round Anglesey Portmeirion and wales - we were not disappointed as the refurb has done the place proud. Great spa with pool jacuzzi steam and sauna and pristine

Our superior room was huge with lounge area massive bathroom abd super kingsize bed as good as my
One at home

Sea bass at dinner was gorgeous beautiful grounds and as
Midweek not overly busy

Would certainly stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darkangelrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us an overnight stay for my birthday. We arrived early and although our room wasn't ready to check in we were invited to use the spa facilities which included a lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The lady on reception was very helpful throughout our stay which was good as apart from in the spa the hotel staff were sparse. This was the only down point as it made it difficult to order lunch or drinks on an evening as there didn't seem to be anybody about.
Our room was amazing! We booked a suite and it was huge with a gorgeous bathroom including bath and walk in shower. It also had two balconies with amazing views.
We didn't dine in the restaurant on the evening however we did have afternoon tea which was very nice! And breakfast had good choices :)
Lovely, would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing