We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at crabwall as friend was getting married at a near by golfclub and thought it would be a nice treat. We found the hotel quite lacking. We were giving poor directions to our room which was quite a labyrinth and took us ages therefore to find which was not ideal with stairs and carrying our bag.

When we got back from the wedding we had an awful nights sleep. Every door opened near by must have been a fire door as they made a huge bang when they closed. This sound kept us awake almost all night.

For the price we paid and the 4 star rating I expect much better. I would not return or recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsclose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    362
    150
    65
    55
See reviews for
185
575
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed on a spa stay and dine package at Crabwall.

We started our day with an included 25 minute massage after which we ordered a light lunch before using the rest of the spa facilities. The massage was nice and relaxing, and both myself and partner enjoyed this part.

We ordered lunch which was a ham salad sandwich, almost an hour and a half after ordering we were still waiting and politely decided to ask how much longer it would take for a sandwich to arrive. The reception I got for this request was a little frosty and gave me the impression we had been forgotten. The light lunch was fresh and enjoyable. On to the spa facilities, it had the usual you would expect, jacuzzi, steam, sauna & pool, I would not say this was a four star facility though, many missing lights from the room in the pool area and cracked tiles in the steam room that could easily cause an accident. I think also the venue would benefit from a relaxation room for after treatments.

After the spa we checked in, this was quick and easy and my request for an ice bucket was handled promptly and arrived minutes after we got into our room. The rooms were big, spacious and comfortable. We did have a problem with one of the windows we could not open because of a broken latch left on the window ledge and not repaired.

One gripe however, the wifi was dreadful and no mobile reception if you needed to make a phone call.

We ventured down for dinner, drinks prices where what you would expect and the service in the restaurant was nice and pleasant. We had a 3 course meal in the same time it took to get a ham sandwich too us earlier that day, so no timing issues this time.

We both found our meals very enjoyable, the food was hot, tasty & served promptly with generous portions.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely too, a centre piece table with all the mod/cons in the room for continental breakfast lovers, and a good selection menu of English breakfast options made to order, this arrived tasty and hot again, no complaints at all with the food.

Overall I believe we got good value for money £99 for a spa, lunch, dinner, breakfast & a treatment and felt relaxed after our break.

I would say overall the hotel/spa felt a bit more like a 2/3 star rather than a 4, but I think we a bit more love this hotel could boast a hotel worthy of the rating it's given.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smiffyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in room 44 for a couple of night away from the kids. We arrived early but were able to go straight to our room as it was ready anyway. We had afternoon tea in our room and dinner at the restaurant. Room service was quick, we didn't have to wait long for anything! I had a few treatments in the spa and we made use of the pool, steam room and jacuzzi - lovely! The food and service during dinner was fantastic. All members of staff we came across were so welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Our room was big and really nice to chill in and there were a lot of channels on the tv, ideal at night. There is also a nice area to have a drink at night or a coffee during the day just past the restaurant.
Location of the hotel is fantastic, easy to find and easy to pop to the shops. The ONLY fault we can think of during our stay was the shower in the room, it wasn't the best. We mentioned it as we were checking out and Mr Maintenance was on the case as we were leaving! Highly recommended hotel, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamiddau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room was excellent, really spacious and the bathroom was incredible with a huge walk in shower and separate bath; the pool and sauna were very relaxing too, nice little relaxing break! We didn't have breakfast but had dinner in the resturant and that was lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we stayed here at short notice we found that the staff were very helpful and went out of there way to help us. the food was lovely. it cost only £7.50 into chester town centre by taxi . the spa was lovely too.we would stay here again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be the most amazing experience if it would only LISTEN TO IT'S CUSTOMERS.

As it is, talking to other customers here, it is a place that each customer (business or otherwise) will visit once and never return.

The rooms are amazing, the food is superb, the staff are friendly and helpful, the spa is sufficient.

So, why never return?

Quite simply, there is no way to communicate with the outside world - there is no phone signal whatsoever - regardless of carrier, and there is no internet.

Now here is the really stupid part. The hotel has spent upwards of £1m refurbishing the place but it appears they have completely neglected this vital business asset.

Chester itself, just down the road, now has high speed broadband and so any respectable business that has £1m to spend on refurbishments to secure more customers, might throw a bit of money at paying BT to lay a fibre line to their establishment.

Not it appears this place.

The worst part - customers have been complaining about lack of internet for months.

As for me - instead of being a hotel that I would use long term because of the amazing facilities; it instead goes on my personal and the company black list because you have no connection to your business whatsoever until you get in your car and drive 1 mile down the road.

Such a shame and what a terrible waste of such a great asset

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JGDunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We found the hotel to be very clean and rooms very spacious. However I felt the check in service could be improved. We arrived early for check in, the lady at reception checked us in but we did not go to our room as were heading into Chester straight away. Once we got back from Chester we collected our keys, but the lady did not tell us anything about spa, bar or any other facilities, she simply gave us directions on how to get to our room (which is a bit like a rabbit warren).
The next morning we wanted to use the pool before checkout but unfortunately a session of session of aqua aerobics was on and the pool could not be used. Whilst the reception is friendly enough I think with a better introduction to the hotel, we would of better utilised more it had we of known.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmak_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
11.1 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing