We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not enough staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First impressions - converted stately home with lots of character. Nice room. Helpful friendly staff who tried hard, but not quite enough of them. Breakfast a bit thin. Free uncomplicated wifi (always a big plus in my book) although very slow.

I would have liked a sign to reception from the car park as it wasn't immediately apparent where it was, but once I found it, the receptionist was helpful and pleasant - once I found her. There was no bell at reception to ring if no one was there which would have been helpful.

I was in the bridal suite for some reason, not that I am complaining. Very nice room with a large, grand and very comfortable bed. Surprisingly modern bathroom. Shower one of those large rainforest things but poor flow so I didn't really get the benefit. The receptionist made a note when I mentioned it at checkout and seemed to be genuinely taking notice. I would have liked a soap shelf - I am no longer blessed with a physique which makes it easy to cope with soap on the floor...

Apart from our small group, there were two large parties in which meant the dining room had about 50 people in and my impression was that the staff couldn't quite cope. The food was lovely and I think all of us were happy with our various dishes at dinner. Breakfast offered juices, cereals, toast and cooked options but no cold meats, cheeses or pastries, which I would have expected in a hotel at this level.

Overall I would be happy to give them another try if I was in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lemmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Lemmus;

Many thanks for this review.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I took a decision this June to go to Crabwell Manor for Joanne's 3 day detox plan. . I had been promising myself that I would and gosh was I glad I did. I have known Joanne for ten years , since havingy my first course of colonics with her .
On arrival at the hotel the night before , I settled into my lovely room , my daughter stayed with me that first night . Joanne arrived to see everything was ok , we chatted about what I felt I wanted out of the following day , "weight loss" I replied laughing .
Well yes that did happen , always good, but I got so much more than that. .
The juices were lovely , the massage superb , the wrap , smelly but left skin so soft, facials sublime , I cannot lie you gotta just go for the clay drink , down in one . The colonics well we know how they work and a all I can say is after all the juicing etc it certainly was interesting ! I slept when I wanted the whole programme geared around my personal needs .
All the time Joanne was around to chat to. , giggle with , going that extra mile to make it a fantastic experience.
The staff working with Joanne are some of nicest I have ever come across , nothing is too much trouble . They are an absolute credit to Crabwell Manor.
So arriving on that Sunday I looked tired , felt stressed , just needed to step off the roundabout called life and be still for a time .
I left feeling energised , calm , and very much cared for . My husband said I was glowing , eyes bright if he said I had a glossy coat and wet nose I would have been concerned .
Would I do it again ? In a heartbeat, already planning to.
I hope if you are reading this and thinking of doing it what I have said will inspire you to do so. What are you waiting for ?
Joanne and team cannot thank you enough x
PS Still think a vodka in the clay drink might be good !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ11Box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear JJ11Box;
Many thanks for this fantastic review.
I am delighted to see that your time with Joanne went well.
Very much looking forward your return visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked for our Wedding Reception which was held after our church wedding. From start to finish the staff at Crabwall Manor couldn't do enough for ourselves and for our guests. We had guests staying Friday and Saturday evening, we were all reluctant to go home on the Sunday morning after breakfast, we all enjoyed it so much. From the first planning meeting for the wedding reception to our departure on Sunday morning we were treated like royalty. Emma and Laura, Matty and the team worked tirelessly to make sure that every detail was taken care of. We didn't have to worry about anything at all. The rooms were all beautiful, the service exceptional, we are already planning a return trip there - so are some of our guests. I can't praise them enough for their wonderful friendly service. The Wedding Package was great value.

Room Tip: Speak to the reception staff, they're very helpful in choosing the right room. The bridal suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Givenchy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Givenchy286;

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I also would like to congratulate you on your wedding.
I cannot thank you enough for this fantastic review.
Looking forward your return.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dont get me wrong i loved this place as soon as i saw it and was overjoyed to have my wedding there. The night before everything was perfect the room was far from any guest and huge, i had my 2 girls and my sister plenty of room .
The day of the wedding to start with breakfast and the poach egg was hard. Then the meal was meant to start at 2pm due to having few kids but didn't get served till about 2:45 the starter was nothing like the taster that we had few month before (like a melon flower and sauce on the day thin thin peice melon around some fruit) ,the main course there was NO SPINACH in the chicken, again on the taster that was the nicest thing, veg took forever to be served and there was some people finishing and others just getting theirs. I know they had to wait a few time for people to sit back down , come from the bar but just serve it. The dessert was lovely though xxxx
Matty was really helpful and making sure i check the room before the evening party and that all was ok
For some reason if it raining the gap in-between the conservatory and the hall lets rain pour in a few guest commented on it (no one told me this before)
The evening buffet was asked to be out for 9:30 only after people telling me it was about 10 half 10 by time it can out. My mum wasnt happy at all we had some young children and the kids food was in with the adults so when it came to my 4yrs daughters turn there was no burgers left. OK they made some more but i had to ask about 3 people before it came out. No Napkins and then staff members arguing with my mum insisting there were. Just felt that id been promised a day that ill never forget ok i wont but they need to keep to there promises too . Not the quality i was expecting.

Room Tip: No rooms have any phone signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telerahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear telerahj;

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your wedding.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the day.
I am so sorry that small issues happened during your day. I also would like to thank you for your honesty.

As you stated we did struggle with guests leaving their tables during the serving of the food leading to delays. It is very difficult for us to take the decision to serve main courses when some starters are still untouched. In insight we should have come to you and asked if it was ok to serve the food although guests were not seated. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its staff for not reacting quickly enough to this matter.

We served your buffet at 9.30pm as agreed; I would like to apologize if it was reported to you that this did not happen. I believe your mother thought that the buffet was meant to be served before 9.00pm; once again my apologies if we did not explain this clearly enough to your mother.

My apologies if you felt the handling of your mother was not as expected but I must admit that communication with her was a "challenge".

I would like once more to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its staff for these issues. I am glad that none of these did interfere with your day and would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked to stay the evening before and the night of our wedding. We were married nearby, so Crabwall Manor was well located for our venue. From booking our 9 rooms in October 2013, to checking out last Thursday, the service was great! Our guests were delighted with the quality and size of their rooms and they made full use of the great spa facilities. The rooms were all well decorated and presented to a very high standard. The hotel staff were exceedingly helpful on the morning of our wedding, delivering breakfast to my room then moving things from our 2 rooms to the most amazing suite we have ever seen! We had such a lovely time, that our guests did not want to leave! Thank you to Kasia for all of her help and organisation.

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manielle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dar Manielle2014;

First of all I would like to congratulate you in your wedding.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel and that in a small part helped your day run smoothly.
Many thanks for your kind words and very positive review.
Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Firstly...I a 17 stone 6.2" Muscular Masculine Rugby Player. The thought of going for a new age alternative medical treatment !, sent a shiver down my spine, Colonic Hydrotherapy PAH ! Give me a break Dalai Lama.......
HOW WRONG I WAS !, Not easy for me to admit I was wrong, I have spent many years striving for success and taking no prisoners along the way, working my way up from small clubs to Premiership Performance.
I am at the top end of my game, but I was training hard and I thought eating correctly ! Training/exercising 6 days a week on a difficult regime.I was feeling pretty run down in March and had developed a minor skin condition along with an uncomfortable feeling in my gut that had lasted for weeks giving me constipation ! I put it down to diet and a few hard knocks on the pitch.
As a gift (Or Joke!) I never thought I would use ! My Agent sent me to Crabwall Manor Hotel and Spa at Chester. Still dubious I went with my girlfriend who thought the whole thing was hilarious. . The place is set in its own peaceful surroundings in Chester. Not long after arriving we met who we thought was the owner a fantastic lady called Joanne Wilcox who turned out not to be the owner but Crabwall Manor's specialist Colonic Hydrotherapist !!!! I was not really sure what I was expecting but it wasn't this lady at all. I am by no means new age or at one with my Chopra !. But she was amazing. She put me at ease straight away talked to me all about my Diet and Training Programs and gave me the benefit of her vast knowledge on body systems . I was amazed to find out some of my old team mates from another club had been to see her a few times along with some Prem Football Players I also know, as she has clinics all over the place. Before I new it she had talked to me about all sorts of things and by the time I had the procedure completed it felt like I had had what I can only describe as, an "Enlightening Experience" quite literally ! i hardly noticed it had been completed as she had me in fits of laughter literally tears running down my face. And it was all finished I did feel very calm and relaxed afterwards. All done in a very professional way.
But did it work ? I am Converted to this new age procedure ?
I would in all honesty have to say YES. My gut felt brilliant later that evening and has done ever since also she gave me for free ! some cream for my skin and yes dryness has all gone.
I would and did say I would recommend "Joanne Wilcox Clinics"
We all work hard to better ourselves in a sometimes difficult world, all we want is to feel good from day to day and to help others feel good
Thanks all at Crabwall Manor a really great experience.
"Where ignorance is our Master,there is no possibility of real peace"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajd j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear ajd j;

Many thanks for this review.
On behalf of Joanne I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your experience.
Joanne is an asset and we are delighted to have her using our hotel.
Looking forward your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in,lovely rooms massive bathroom,evrything clean and well maintained,lovey smiling helpful staff ,who coudnt do enough for you, really nice pool sauna steam room, only 1 problem, and its a worrying one really,there are no safes in the rooms for your valubles.so if you are here for a couple of days you have to take everything with you,this really is the only thing i can fault and i feel a bit harsh because we had a lovely time,will def return, thank you crabwall manor,

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room, really really nice,lovely gardens to sit in on nice days ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz n caz c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Barry C;
Many thanks for this fantastic review; i am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Although we do not offer safes inside our rooms you are welcome at your next stay to use our main safe at reception. We can hold any valuable that you would like us to keep on your behalf.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,597 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: £63 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing