We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed opportunity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
Edenbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and had two rooms for us and two children. Firstly I thought both the rooms we had were great. They were both clean and very spacious. No complaints at all. Secondly the staff we met were all very friendly indeed. The woman who cleaned the rooms was very cheerful and chatty. The gym was very well laid out and well stocked. Liked the pool and the changing rooms were good. We did not eat in the restaurant but had a couple of things from the bar menu. Very tasty and decent value for money. Breakfast was fine, nice omelette, not huge choice but ample!! The staff at breakfast were very attentive indeed with fresh coffee offered regularly.
But....... My only gripe is with the bar area and communal seating rooms. They lacked any style and atmosphere. They looked as if all the pictures and so on had been cleared away for decoration. And then never returned!! Bit like a doctors waiting room!! Needs a lot more thought in how to be welcoming and atmospheric.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jempage1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    353
    146
    63
    53
See reviews for
183
562
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel should have everything going for it: a beautiful setting, updated rooms but it isn't quite working yet, especially for the price we were paying.

We had a large, spacious room with neutral if somewhat blah colours and a huge bathroom BUT: the bathtub plug was missing, no shower mat until requested, aircon wasn't working and as the room was west facing, very hot in the evening. We also had to ask for additional hangers for the wardrobe (we were staying 5 nights). On the plus side, we had a very comfy bed and 17 plug outlets ( who would ever need that many??).

Evidence was everywhere that the hotel has just been renovated but not quite completed: there were paper signs pointing to rooms and function areas, and there was no printed material in the rooms.

One night we were blocked from the main bar and outdoor area as there was a private function. We were left with a small, unattended and dirty courtyard area for drinks - we had to wipe bird 'doo' off the chairs and tables.

The menu looked appetising and we were anxious to try out a number of dishes. Unfortunately, the first night's dinner was almost inedible - my rabbit cassouslet was tough and poorly seasoned and my husband had to send his steak back. Subsequent nights were better but not the standard we were expecting. Breakfast service was slow and the coffee was awful. Someone needs to train the kitchen staff to use consistent measures in the caffetieres as we had see-through coffee.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly, responsive and had good intentions, the spa is first rate and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained.

I would give the hotel another chance if I am in the area but it needs to fine tune the details if it wants to be a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Our suite's aircon didn't work so we had to keep the windows open all the time (on one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I went with 6 other people on the 2nd and 3rd of August for our best friends hen party! As a group we are more low key so wanted a nice spa weekend and relax. We were instantly impressed with the outside view of the hotel and even more impressed at the inside. The staff were lovely and friendly and helpful. The spa was great and very relaxing and the treatments we had were lovely also and the treatment staff were lovely and good at what they do! The rooms were fantastic, huge and our bathroom was massive! All clean and decorated lovely.
The food was AMAZING!!! We enjoyed every piece of food from the buffet lunch to the 3 course evening meal and the breakfast the next morning.

Couldn't fault this place at all. We had an amazing weekend and would not hesitate to book this place again so don't hesitate yourselves! :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend booked a 1 night getaway at Crabwall Manor as we were going to see Chester. On arrival at Crabwall manor we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. We had booked a standard room, however as it was quiet and midweek we were upgraded for free to the Junior Suite. This room was amazing! We had a king size bed, separate shower and bath, a seating area and outside terrace. The linked spa has a decent sized pool and gym facilities. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, also full of information about the surrounding area. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Martinblake02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for four nights at Crabwall Manor, and had a ground floor room close to the spa swimming pool........Room was really spacious and clean, couldn't fault it.....swimming pool was a really good size and water warm ....excellent pool, so more than happy with our stay. Downside was the breakfast, not exactly an attractive table display of Continental breakfast items......but to be fair the cooked breakfast selection was nicely prepared, and the waitresses were efficient and very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank man21be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently visited the spa at this hotel and used the facilities, had lunch and spa treatments. The staff are fantastic especially the female receptionist on the spa desk. I think she may have been the manager. The two ladies (one blonde and one dark) who did the spa treatments were brilliant too. The treatments were lovely, however the pool are is run down and in need of refurbishment. There were only 4 loungers at the side of the pool all used by other people all the time. The air conditioning unit was leaking in the very small grubby changing rooms. The steam room had no steam and one shower had dead flies in it and others had hair in the drain holes and were not well maintained. The afternoon tea was nice but served in the spa reception, which was a disappointment. The scones were stale and odd but the other items were nice. It was a special day out with my daughter and we were very disappointed with the facilities. Without the spa staff I think we would have come home within 30 minutes! I cannot comment on the hotel as I did not use it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiemaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From checking in, to checking out this hotel failed to deliver. The rooms were nice, that's it...not air conditioned and very warm in the summer, uncomfortably warm. The food at every stage was poor. Afternoon tea was horrendous. Stale scones (even though I asked when they'd been baked' prior to ordering) pre cut and buttered; whipped cream instead of clotted cream; pencil thin sandwiches and a Victoria Sponge that had obviously been burnt and just has the burnt crusts cut off. Why we chose to have dinner at the hotel after that is beyond me but two starters had to be sent back and then a steak in the main courses too. It's another hotel that has very bland generic brand for condiments that are just poor. Breakfast was no better although the 'spread' was quite big. If you can stand the heat in the rooms then stay there...but whatever you do, avoid eating there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank showbizandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing