We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bawn Lodge(Chester)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shenley Lodge(Chester)
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chester Court(Chester)
US$127
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
618
395
168
68
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
395
168
68
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoanne wilcoxcolonic hydrotherapymaster suitegirls nightmassive bathroomsteam roomchanging roomssuperior roomlight lunchmy partnerlovely hotelwalk in showercheshire oakslounge areawedding venueafternoon teaevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful night at Crabwall celebrating with our neighbours as they got married. We stayed in a beautiful room in the oldest part of the building with its own balcony. Beautifully decorated and a gorgeous bathroom. Service and staff were excellent along with a trip to the spa. The only disappointment was the jacuzzi was out of order. Overall a lovely night, good food, and the hotel organised the evening very professionally. Can't fault them at all. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Writing this review to say how disappointed I was at staying here booked one night stay in a spa package for a quite expensive 280 pound but it qas my partners birthday so went ahead with it last minute first impressions were good room nice put our bags in then went down to the spa had lunch which was OK panini and frozen oven chips then we started to use the spa facilities gym was small but OK partner was in the pool when I got round to her she said she was getting out the water was cold I asked if she wanted to get in the jacuzzi which to our amazement it was broke and not in use unbelievable steam room had no steam sauna was OK but tiny when we got changed decided to go for a drink we were told by who we think was the bar and restaurant manager that we couldn't use the bar as a private function was on for wedding all day and night we should of been informed about this and the broken jacuzzi before we booked we ended going out of the complex and looking for a pub our dinner was booked for 830 so came back to get changed shower was cold phoned reception no came to the room to look at the problem the plug in the base of the shower was blocked so water was everywhere went for dinner the menu wasn't the same as online but what we ordered was nice got a drink after the meal to sit in lounge cos there was a log fire but guess what it wasn't on very romantic a had the one drink because the prices were extortionate then went to bed at 11pm partner was so disappointed we left in the morning before they opened for breakfast which didn't open till 8 cancelled an eyebrow tint my partner had booked cos she said we not spending any more money there and we left without gettingbour 25 minute massage what we couldn't av on the Saturday because they were all booked up they said so very disappointed in our stay at crabwall gave it a two only because the food was nice it would of got one apart from that do not stay at this place there must be so money better spa hotels in the region than this one and at more reasonable prices

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I am writing this with regret and disappointment after a recent stay at Crabwall Manor Hotel and Spa was extremely disappointing and underwhelmed by our stay. My Partner and I stayed for 1 night on Saturday 16th August 2014, as it was a birthday present for myself from my partner, as it was my birthday on the 17th August.

During our stay we stayed in room 46, upon arrival and first impressions the room looked beautiful, spacious and clean everything we had hoped for, how perceptions can be so wrong.

We booked a double room to find that a double room was in fact two single beds pushed together, of which both beds were extremely uncomfortable due to various reasons. The pillows were uncomfortable, worn and well used as the stuffing was coming out of them. The bed being two singles had an uncomfortable centre lining as the two beds were pushed together left the edge of both bed mattresses raised up and too uncomfortable to sleep on. The mattresses were also extremely hard and uncomfortable. This resulted in us sharing a single bed as the pillows and bed were particular or comfortable enough to sleep on.

Also in the bathroom there was 3 lights on the bath and they were not working correctly as only two of the three lights were working. The bath itself was unusable as the plug was stiff to turn and the actual plug wouldn't move up or down so we could not use the bath tub. Again in the sink the plug was stuck down and wouldn't rise up, so after putting the tap on that evening to brush our teeth I had to physical empty the water out of the sink with a cup into the shower.

The following morning we wanted a Hot chocolate, there was two packets of orange milk chocolate biscuits of which to our amazement one of the packets was opened with a biscuit missing.

I have stayed all over the world from the 5 star resorts to the lower end budget hotels but I have never once been so disappointed and appalled by what we received during our stay to actually have to contact the hotel.
We paid £159 for 1 night for a romantic birthday treat and we were extremely let down by your hotel and I would be greatful if you could offer a solution to this matter.
Again I send this with disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matt1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Matt708;
The good thing about TripAdvisor is we have the opportunity and right to reply honestly to derogatory and good comments alike.

Getting to the facts of the matter, you know that it is untrue to say that your room was two single beds put together with a gap, categorically it is not. It is also untrue to say that your bathroom facilities were not . There are many comments before and after your statement where guests express how please they were with the facilities offered.
The concept that one can threaten an hotel with a bad review so as to get money as you clearly suggested in your email sent to the hotel is flawed.
I strongly believe that all the other reviews left clearly show that your allegations are unfounded and dishonest.
It is a shame that you use a media like this one where reviews should be a true reflection of your stay for your own personal agenda.
Regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here as a last minute romantic break, by searching on the internet.

Upon arrival first impressions were very good the place looked nice and clean and was set in nice grounds with plenty of parking. Staff were very welcoming and nothig was too much trouble.

We were upgraded to a master suite which was the fromer bridal suite and it was nothing short of amazing. Upon entering the suite the reception area was large with quality decorations and a huge sofa to relax on. There was a large TV on the wall and the usual Coffee / Tea making facilities. Walking through the suite we arrived at the main bedroom area which had a large four poster bed in it and dressing table. There was also room for two relaxing chairs and the whole suite was very tastefully co ordinated. Off the mainn bedroom up some steps was a large bath with recessed spot lighting creating a great relaxing bathing area. The main bathroon opposite was again huge with a double walk in shower, his and hers sinks and the best bit, heated flooring !

We used the hotel restaurant for the first night and it was quite in the dining room. The two or three course menu was varied and very keenly priced. ( I had expected to pay double for the evening ) Had the lamb with mustard mash which was cooked to perfection. Asked for some more buscuits to go with the cheese and they arrived swiftly. Great selection of cheeses and plenty of them. Service in the restaurant was excellent.

Breakfast was also good but in my opinion over priced at £16.50 per person. The portions for the cooked breakfast were just about right. The cheaper continental option had plenty of choice, again service excellent.

Spa staff were also very friendly and helpfull making our two visits very easy. Pool area was clean and steam and sauna were quiet when we visited. Locals using the gym area were friendly and helped with advice for the area for a night out. The Spa wasnt large but there were a good range of reasonably priced treatments if you so desired and the reception staff were keen to provide alternatives to fit in treatments.

If you want a place that ouzes some class, has a nice and easy to use gym/pool/spa and has good priced restaurant/ bar and seperate bar combined with easy access to a great nightlife then this is your spot. The people are friendly ( even got a guided tour for no extra money from our taxi driver ) Well worth the money and we we be back for certain. Thanks Rich and Clare Beverley East Yorkshire

Room Tip: get a master suite, live like a king !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Clare H;

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.
On behalf f the hotel and its staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments.
Looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was lovely. Had Ana amazing time here and would definetly reccomend it. However the breakfast was expensive so we ate out a lot. There are parts of the hotel that do need a little makeover but the rooms are lovely and staff very friendly x

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Smithr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Smithr28

Many thank for your review.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our honeymoon suite.
Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the staff.
Very much looking forward welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews