We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My boyfriend took me away for my birthday,spent the day at the zoo and then came to the hotel. First impressions we were a big worried, but as we walked into the reception it was lovely,every1 was so friendly and willing to help.
Our room was lovely nice and clean and modern. Breakfast in the morning was nice for a fee of £2 each was brout to our room.
Would really recommend a stay at this hotel for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bezzless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear George C

Thank you for comments regarding your experience at the hotel.
Your comments have been passed onto the team and are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

my family and i stayed for a long weekend, and reading some of the reviews i feel it does the hotel a great injustice, yes the room wasnt that modern but it was very clean and comfortable,The children used the pool every day we were there having snacks in the pool brasrie, the staff were very friendly an made the children very welcome which was one of the concerns we had as not many hotels welcome young children, the food was great the only thing that spolit are stay was the weather, again the Genral manager went out of his way bringing the children colouring books and board games that they had behind reception and asking if we were happy with everything even sat and chatted awhile with the the children. Breakfast was great plenty of choices the staff put two tables together so that are family could eat together which i thought was a lovely touch as are stay was so perfect we have decide to go back again at easter only to offten people see the bad and not so much of the good. a great family break,

Room Tip: explain when you book what sort of stay you are having,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear george c

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay at the hotel I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back to us during the Easter break, I will look forward to welcoming you back again. I am glad the children enjoyed their stay as well.
Your positive comments have been passed onto to the team and they are greatly appreciated.
Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
Genaeral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

on arriving to the hotel we were a bit un sure as the front entrance didnt look much . on entering the hotel to the reception my fears were quickly wiped away . Nice friendly warm atmosphere friendly staff warm welcome by a lady named cheryl who couldnt do enough for us showed us to are room . porter took up luggage room was clean tidy and felt homely even thou the fittings arnt of modern standerds didnt expect this as i was not staying the the hilton it was a country hotel gardens were lovely even thou in this weather we were still able to take a romantic walk around . first night we had room service wich was a treat we ran out oif milk so my husband went to reception the general manager asked was there not any milk in the room and i reasured them that we had used them and requested more to be told that all we had to do was phone down and someone would of brought it up by time my husband had got back to the room a lady knocked with the milk . breakfast could not fault also asked for something that was not on menu with in minutes it was placed before me . spent afternoon in lounge wich was pleasant and staff asking if we were ok and if we needed anythink . ate in reasturant through out are stay the food and waitress service i could not fault thankyou for making mine and my husbands weekend a pleasant one

Room Tip: overlooking the grounds at the rear, as the front entrance does not do the hotel any justice due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetdreamsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear sweetdreams wirral

Thank you for comments regarding your experience at the hotel.
Your comments have been passed onto the team and are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The website was very decieving looked nothing like the pictures, the rooms looked like a travelodge not a country hotel!! the front looked like a council block and very rundown. Decor terrible ripped wallpaper in hallways and dirty carpets. The pool area is cold, tiles falling off jaccuzzi, steam room and suana dont work, gym is new thats about it. spa is way way over priced for what they offer which isnt much, lunch menu looked ok ish but wasnt very nice!! the pool was like a frozen lake everyone was shocked when they got in!! changing rooms are beyond repair doors hanging off, plug in heaters, slimey floor, one mirror for quite a few ladies!!! showers looked more like toilet cubicles!!!
Evening meal very poor service waiters not trained in customer service at all!!, appetisers not good, soup was bland , the lamb was over done tasted more like liver, the desert was sickly , best thing about the meal was the champagne we bought seperatly!!!!
Breakfast was not alot of choice at all, very messy buffett area, no glasses and plates were scalding hot!! cereal or tinned fruit, or fry up which had no beans only choice of eggs and no fresh fruit. My husband had to request poached eggs and vegi sausage , and the chef went over board and made a whole plate of food which then got wasted as my husband didnt want that much!! we were glad to go home and will not be returning !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear stephjohnson,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the hotel. It is unfortunate that the steam room was not working as we were awaiting a part for it. The sauna in the gents was undergoing routine maintenance so had to be shut off, but the one in the ladies and the communal sauna were in perfect working condition. As it was the half term week a considerable amount of guests both young and old used the pool and commented how warm it was. The changing rooms are currently undergoing a maintenance programme and the issues raised are being addressed. I must apologise to you that on this occasion the pool was not warm enough for you personally.

The Restaurant have been passed on your comments on the we did in excess of 70 covers in the restaurant and upon investigation received no negative feedback only positive comments on the standard of food served and the quality of service. The hotel takes great pride in its breakfast buffet and has a cereal selection, choice of tinned and fresh fruit available at all the time as standard. Whilst we do not put beans out on the buffet it is always available when requested by a customer.

May I take this oppurtunity to apologise that on this occassion the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

Kind Regards
G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This review is a little late but we stayed here in early December 2011 for my birthday weekend.
First of all the good points -
Excellent spa area, really lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi with nice changing facilities etc. Room had been recently refurbed so the decor was good and modern and fresh but did lack character as there were no little extras like pictures on the walls. Oh and it was very clean.

Not so good points:
Location - not great if you haven't got a car. We were staying to explore Chester City Centre which is about a 10-15 min drive away but there were just a few pubs and cheap restaurants nearby. Luckily we were just using the hotel as a base.
Service - The receptionist wasn't particularly welcoming. The heating wasn't working in our room which was even more apparent when I'd had a shower. We tried to call down to reception and the phone wouldn't work. In the end I had to walk down stairs with my hair in a towel to speak to someone (through the wedding party assembled there too!). She wasn't apologetic at all and just said the boiler wasn't working and someone was looking into it. We didn't get heating at all during our stay and she didn't seem to care that the phone didn't work.
There also wasn't an information folder and I was told it was because we were in a renovated room and they hadn't been finished yet.

Overall we had a decent stay but for the same money we have previously stayed at The Mill Hotel and had a much better room and location so to me The Brook Mollington is over priced.
Sadly The Mill was fully booked for the weekend we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklelexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear sparklelexy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the team.
The front of house manager has instigated a retraing programme in the department to ensure that this is only an isolated incident, and I must apologise for the inconvenience. Having checked the telephone it was found to be a line fault and has since been rectified, once again this has been brought to the attention of the housekeeper who has implemented procedures to ensure there is no re occurence when rooms are released to arrivals.
May I apologise once again that in this instance the hotel did not meet with your expectations. I would like to take this oppurtunity to invite you back so that we could change your perception of the hotel.

Kind Regards
G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We wanted to have a lovely family holiday but we ended up leaving before we even unpacked. When we arrived we were very disappointed because it looked nothing like the pictures. Our first impressions of the room were something from an old movie. The floor boards had holes in them and we felt like we could of fell through them at any moment. The bathroom although was very clean but had a very bad smell of blocked drains after running the cold tap. The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful however this place needs to have a total referb. or downgrade to a 2*. We would not recommend this place so please try to avoid .friendly comment.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Susan E

Thank you for your comments. What you have not written about is that you were offered a room change which was turned down. This room was re allocated to another family who enjoyed their stay with us.
On this occassion may I take this oppurtunity to apologise that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

my partner wanted to suprise me with a weekend away for valentines, as he works away thought the week. what a lovely romantic weekend it was, the staff very helpful as they had put wine and flowers in the room as my partner had asked service throughout our stay was fantastic, big thank you to cheryl for helping paul sort out all the little special touches (he did confess to the help) and i would recommend the facial treatment to anyone. we had a brilliant time and was great to have a relaxing break will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we had a lovely corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxkittyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear xxxkittyxx,

It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write a review on your experience at the hotel.
Your comments have been passed down to the staff and in particular Cheryl.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: £55 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing