We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 26 June 2008

The hotel was good – very nicely decorated in the main lobby areas and not too bad in the bedroom (except for the curtains with pictures of knights on them!) The bathroom was more modern with a white suite and tiles and a wood floor and plenty of space. All were clean. We booked a standard room which was spacious enough and had a king size bed (very comfortable) and a sofa-bed.
The breakfast was very good with a selection of fruits, cereals, breads, cooked food, juices, tea and coffee. Other than the breakfast we didn’t eat at the hotel. I would recommend the Wheatsheaf 2 minutes down the road though where the food was good and not a bad price. The owners there were very friendly.
We went for an evening swim in the pool which was nice – the pool is very warm so more for relaxing than serious swimming. The Jacuzzi was great too. We didn’t use the gym but it looked ok and had squash courts looking out to the pool.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the grounds were nice. There is a main road on one side (not very busy when we were there) but a nice large garden on the other (complete with bunnies!!) so if you can, request a garden view. The location was good - only 5 minutes taxi ride out of Chester which cost us around £5 – cheaper than parking for the day.
All in all a good hotel for the price we paid (£85) but I wouldn’t have been as happy if we had paid the full cost they were advertising in the hotel of £140 for a standard room. It says it’s a 4 star and although a nice hotel I would probably say 3+.
Overall, myself and fiance really enjoyed our stay and would definately reccommend to others.

  • Liked — Location, Great staff, great breakfast, pool
  • Disliked — For the price we paid (£85 night) there was nothing I could find fault with
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_m0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    447
    310
    242
    227
See reviews for
304
734
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

on arriving at the hotel the receptionist was friendly and helpful, we were a bit early but were allocated a room quickly which was up a flight of stairs and around a few corridors. We were pleasently suprised at the size of the room and it had a huge window overlooking the garden. there was a seperate little bunkbed room for kids too, but as our son is only young we didn't use it. The room looked clean but when I looked closer it wasnt. The bedside cupboards were thick with dust on the shelves underneath and behind the bathroom door there was other peoples hair and dust. There were some stains on the carpet in the bedroom. There was no bin in the room apart from a tiny bathroom one that was full up after a few minutes. The tv was suposed to have sky channels but it only had sky news and sport which kept getting frozen after a certain time and the reception on other channels was poor. No back on remote control either. On the plus side the room was really light modern and quiet. Food here was very poor. We ate here on the first night. We orderd chicken curry and a double angus burger. We must have waited at least half an hour and then when it came the chicken curry had no chicken in it! and the double burger was a single burger on a rock hard bun with overcooked chips and a bit of coleslaw and lettuce. Not 4 star quality like we expected. and well overpriced. We sent it back and was waiting about another 40 minutes, it still hadnt come and our son was over tired so we had to get the food sent up to the room and eat it on the little coffee table . Next day we went for breakfast and the waitress put us on a table where everyone was passing by with their food and hot drinks, she had placed the highchair here where our son could have easily been scalded by hot food and drinks. And she placed the hot coffe pot right in front of him on the table! We asked for a different table the next day. The breakfast was just the ordinary run of the mill stuff. I recommend eating at the Wheatsheaf pub down the road for evening meals. Food was good and reasonably priced. There is also a play room for kids.
The leisure club in the hotel was good, we enjoyed the pool and jaccuzi very much. The womens changing room however was very cold and was no toilet roll in 2 out of 3 toilets. The website needs updating because the price of the food is way higher than we expected and it also said there was free wi-fi connection but there wasnt. They also made out that the grounds were huge but it was just a big garden.

  • Liked — large peaceful room
  • Disliked — not as clean as it should have been
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

A quality hotel and pleasant staff with a professional manner. Room was large, clean spacious and quite. The hotel, whilst on a main road, is surrounded by nice countryside.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Sorry for the delay but I have been meaning to write the review for some time. We had our wedding reception for 125 people here last August with a drinks reception and full wedding breakfast with evening entertainment and the vast majority of the guests staying over for the night with around 30 staying the night before as well. Although we had a few changes of wedding organiser during the months leading up to the big day the organisation and help we recevied in the few weeks leading up to the big day itself were fantastic. We could not fault the hotel, the staff (especially Andrew the manager) and the facilties in any way. Everything was perfect and we would thoroughtly recommend the hotel for a function such as this.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I arrived here on a Sunday evening and was disappointed to find that the restaurant closed at 8.30pm. As I was going to be out between 6.00pm and 8.30pm that was a bit of a disappointment, to say the least.

However, on returning just after 8.30pm, I was able to order a hot meal in the bar. It was rather good and the bar area was very nice and pleasant.

The room was OK, but no more. The bathroom was very small but very clean. The TV only offered 7 channels and one of them wasn't working.

The Brooks Hotels booklet on the hotel that I found in the room explained that there were free wifi hotspots around the hotel. Oh, no, there wasn't! You had to pay, so, no surprises there. But that booklet needs updating.

The locally typed booklet giving details of what the hotel has to offer explained that you could eat in the comfortable 'brassiere'. I'm not so sure about that one!

Next morning, I went for breakfast and what a surprise! The best cooked English breakfast I have eaten in years - and I get through a fair number of them. Everything was cooked fresh and was of the highest quality ingredients. Although the hotel literature said it was a hot buffet breakfast (oh dear!) it wasn't. Even things like butter were provided as proper slices of butter and not little plastic pots. The dining area where breakfast was served was very pleasant.

All in all, it wasn't bad. I got a reasonable rate which, incidentally, was twice the rates on offer in the Best Western hotel booklets that were in the room. Why were they there? The hotel isn't a Best Western. So, why advertise your rivals when they are offering much the same for half the price? Curious.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Restaurant closing at 8.30pm
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing