We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brook Mollington banastre hotel & spa .... What you need to know!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Dronfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brook Mollington banastre hotel & spa .... What you need to know!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

In every hotel you need to know the good, the bad and the ugly without making too general opinion because probably of one incident, experience or raising your expectation beyond the realistic level. Although the expression you get what you pay for is valid , there are other factors in any hotel may or may not appeal to you than to others. This hotel is no exception and in fact the expression may apply to it more than other hotels we have visited so far, believe it ! My wife and I booked this hotel two days prior to our stay just for a standard double room, probably, but I sent a message to request if possible a nice view room etc due to a certain occasion, not too much just a quick short request as you do sometime. I got a very friendly personal call from the hotel a day before travel to say we would like to upgrade you to an executive room at no extra charge, they also followed it up with an email to confirm, we thought that was very nice of them and was not expected. The staff friendliness has been throughout the hotel especially the reception&management exceeded our expectations, simply lovely people. They also have complimentary hot drink , help yourself type, in the beautifully laid out huge and bright lounge with sofas and tables with one side long glass window overlooking the garden and open to a noise eating/restaurant area. Our executive room was nice, clean and spacious with traditional look to reflect the grade II old building style of the hotel. The traditional look runout throughout with antique furniture and a bit tired wallpaper on the walls, but for all fairness it did not bother us neither the old furniture who also require staining and update, it may bother others who look for a modern and better maintained building and contents. However, saying that if the hotel has maintained all old furniture and got rid off all this old wallpaper , it would expand their visiting numbers greatly. The gym was excellent and the spa area was good but another part ,like the sauna need to be fixed both the unisex and male ones, another maintenance problem I guess! Again it was not major problem for us because what they had was more than adequate for us to spend a couple of hours happily, including swimming. The restaurant area is very nice to sit in but unfortunately it does not coincide with the food served, nothing special about the food I am afraid to say and this is another area the hotel must pay attention to, however the breakfast was good and what you need facing the garden while eating, bright and pleasant atmosphere. The hotel also shows sport channel in the cafe near the spa facilities. If the hotel attends to the above points which they are not of great to deal with, their rating will shoot high. For us we liked it enough that we will definitely consider it for our next stay.

Room Tip: Old traditional heritage building, but bright and very pleasant , staff are brilliant. Maintenance r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadviceshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    436
    306
    239
    226
See reviews for
297
723
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here the weekend just gone. Although we were able to use the spa facilities (pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi) the treatments were expensive (no discount for those staying). The amount we paid was just for bed and not breakfast. The location is ok but as its outside of chester I thought they would have had more on offer.

We got a room and view nothing like what was described on the website! The hotel lacked character. When we did eat the plates and cups were dirty and I was not impressed at seeing people on track suits walking in and out the kitchen when we arrived!!
I would only recommend you to stay there only if you really need to!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hannah2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My mother and father stayed last week but asked me to add the review as they still use slate and chalk:

"We stayed here last week while visiting family in Ellesmere Port. They staff were very friendly and rooms comfortable. The food was of a nice standard and there was a great selection for breakfast. We will be staying here every time we visit relatives in cheshire."

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stev35555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Awful from start to finish.Was supposed to be a special 40th birthday weekend. £179 for family room only. Hotel was very dated and staff unhelpful and rude.
Family room booked - told 2 x twins offered. Made to feel like an inconvienience for insisting on a family room. Given family room above a wedding disco - the noise was horrendous, floor vibrating, couldn't even hear the TV. Children upset as unable to sleep.
Had to move at 10pm in pyjamas across packed reception area with all luggage into 2 x twin quieter rooms.
Breakfast service poor - had to have milk in a cup as no jugs available, had to repeatedly ask for coffee to be delivered.
Only to be told by the only competent member of staff that all along 2 twin adjoining rooms had been available in a quiet part of the hotel from the start!
Never stay here - worse than Fawlty towers because it wasn't even funny!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding/party on and ask for quieter part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mollington hotels

england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We rang on spec whilst travelling and spoke to Ahmet who was very helpful. On arrival Desi and Ahmet welcomed us and showed us to our rooms with a speedy porter service to help with bags. Elderly parents had disabled twin room which was great with appropriate shower facility and my wife and I had an Executive double with large bathroom and very white fluffy towels. Our room had a lovely view out of a large window looking over the rear gardens. The decor and general appearance does display a need for updating to bring it up to the four star expectations. We had a problem with the heating on our first night but a heater was provided until the radiator was fixed. The rooms are not that sound proof and easy to hear neighbouring guests so would think if you are unfortunate enough to get put by a noisy neighbour this would be an issue. The evening dinner was very good and the breakfast provided plenty of choice in hot and cold buffet style. however, Attention to detail at breakfast such as no sugar, salt & pepper or side plates and little butter on our table but once we asked, these were provided. The rolling toaster not the best for nice toast but thicker sliced bread would have improved this rather than medium sliced. Desi and Ahmet were outstanding as was the bar staff, in terms of their customer service and obvious desire to ensure our stay was as good an experience as possible. Wedding functions held at the hotel over weekends make it busy so would avoid weekend stays for this reason.

Room Tip: Go for executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennysEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well to say I'm pleased is an understatement!!
Quality accommodation, if in need of a little tlc, with just excellent staff who are very accommodating and pleasant from start to finish! Even when we had a minor issue with the food the service from the waitress and the manager was brilliant and really made me forget my issue!
I'm really really really pleased and WILL be returning to the hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENGizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed on 14th September to celebrate his birthday. On arriving the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Our room was really nice. We used the pool and sauna it was ok but needed a revamp. What was very disappointing was the food although it was edible the presentation left a lot to be desired, it looked as if it had just been thrown on the plate, for the money we expected it to be far nicer than it was.very disappointed would not go again and we would not recommended it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinstwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing