We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this hotel as a Christmas present for myself, husband, sister and brother in law. After booking I read the reviews on this site and was totally aghast at the negative reviews and wondered what on earth I had let ourselves in for - in fact at one stage I was even contem plating cancelling but I was glad that I did not. We arrived on the 2nd January and yes it is not the prettiest frontage but so what. Checking in was no problem, the receptionist very firendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean and we did have heating and hot showers, bed was comfortable - so really could not see why there were negative reviews. Yes there are certain areas that need a bit of attention and updating but everything takes time. The lounge area is a lovely comfortable area and the fire was lit. We had a snack there the one night and the following night were ate in the restaurant and both meals were excellent.

All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and polite, yes there are one or two niggles but at the end of the day they were only minor and certainly did not ruin our 3 night stay there.

I was really glad I went with my instinct and did not cancel this break, we all enjoyed outselves very much and would all go back there again without any hesitation and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisseyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    430
    299
    238
    225
See reviews for
287
716
33
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was a celebratory lunch for my mother in law's 90th birthday for 28 guests including 7 great grandchildren .!all the booking was carried out so efficiently and on the day everything was just as we wanted it. We had a private room, one big oval table , room for everyone ....high chairs provided....
The food was delicious, the service was superb, we were looked after so well, nothing seemed too much trouble for the chap who was looking after us.
As you can tell we had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone for a similar event.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Staff are very polite and hardworking couldn't thank them enough. I got married at the hotel two years ago my
Husband and myself decided to come back for a weekend away and the service was first class again. The room was spotless good size flatscreen t.v on wall with a excellent cooked breakfast in the morning.Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I have just spent a 3 day Xmas package here. The hotel is very 'tired' and our room was disappointing. The photos on their site were cleverly taken as we were expecting a room twice the size as the one we got.
After the first evening and a word with the manager the restaurant service improved although as a 60 yr old lady I do not want to be addressed as a 'guy' by the waiter (as in 'have you guys finished now'). The staff on reception could not have been more polite and welcoming and the food was excellent.
The public areas were very comfortable but I feel they needed a bit more festive decoration.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My daughter and I had a lovely afternoon tea in pleasant surroundings overlooking the grounds. Good selection of sandwiches and cakes, all very yummy. Excellent service and attention to detail. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I booked the New Years Eve package for Gala dinner and overnight stay. We nearly cancelled this due to the negative reviews on this site. However as we had already paid upfront we thought we would go and see for ourselves. We are very glad that we did. We had a very enjoyable evening. The food was lovely, the service was great and they had provided everything we could want for the new year celebrations. Crackers, good quality hats, party poppers, blowers, balloons etc.

Our room was warm and comfortable and we would definately stay there again or recommend others to do so. The staff are very friendly and hardworking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just had a family 'get together' here between Christmas and the New Year. There were 18 of us meeting together for dinner and the majority were staying in the hotel itself. The staff were very accommodating and arranged the seating so that we could all sit together. There was a good festive atmosphere with lots of Christmas trees and decorations.

The food was good and the service was also good. If I had to make a criticism it would be that the serving staff were a bit too keen to take empty glasses/plates away. You almost felt as though they were waiting for you to put your knife and fork down.

I was not one of those staying in the hotel so I am unable to comment further.

That aside, it was a very pleasant experience and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonycaegarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing