We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon at this hotel, the afternoon tea was one of our best yet, with an excellent range of sandwiches, cakes and scones with jam and clotted cream. The staff and manager were most attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Excellent value fo money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    430
    300
    238
    225
See reviews for
287
716
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Me and my fiance enjoyed our stay, found the hotel had character and enjoyed sitting by the log fire in the evenings. Nice little gym and pool. We had treatments done that were lovely. Restaurant staff were a little slow at serving us and taking plates away considering the restaurant wasn't busy and didn't know things like what the soup of the day was. Had to wait awhile for wine as cellar keys had been mislaid however food made up for the service as it was delicious! Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had a lovely afternoon tea with a good selection of sandwiches and cakes and scones with clotted cream. Will be returning soon with friends. Very good value quite a bit cheaper than other local Hotels at £12.95,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had a three night leisure break at the Mollington 2nd to 5th Jan and we had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were courteous pleasant and friendly and very attentive to our needs. Our room was exactly what we would expect a standard hotel layout with TV , kettle tea coffee water,telephone etc etc. The bathroom again standard hotel fittings etc. Both clean tidy and very acceptable. We slept well in the room and there was little noise to disturb us (normal door slamming and corridor activity).
We did not take breakfast so can not comment but we did have evening snacks one night and used the restaurant another both were very good.The lounge is a very nice place to sit and the sofa's quite comfortable. Overall the stay was very good , attention to detail May help boost the hotels reviews ie we never got biscuits on the tea and coffee tray,there was only one reading lamp, toilet seat needed some serious oiling very creaky towel rail never got hot and the extractor fan did not work and leaked. These are all minor snags that did not spoil our visit at all and we would willingly return and recommend to others a stay at the Mollington.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillyp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have attended this hotel for afternoon tea before and really enjoyed it, especially as a family afternoon of a few hours out treating Grandma to a nice time, however today we were extremely disappointed.
Firstly we were shown into a dark dining room, by a very kind waiter who took our orders and left to fulfil the order. Looking up we saw that the light fixtures only had one bulb in them when there should be two which looked a bit shabby and that the draped curtains covering the roof of the conservatory were dirty and holding flies, wasps and even dead spiders.
The tea soon arrived piping hot and lovely, with plenty of milk and extra hot water. When the waiter returned with the food he placed them neatly on the table and they did look delicious! However he failed to mention that the scones were served warmed to offer a softer bite, but by the time we got around to the scones they were hard and almost cold. There was plenty of food, and we were full afterwards however we did have to ask for plates and napkins as these were not already at the table.
When the waiter returned to check if we were fine he stunk of cigarettes and his shoes were caked in fresh mud as if he had been hiding around the corner for a cigarette break.
During eating we went from a nice silence and ambience to a loud screeching as the music of 'Living on a prayer' by Bon Jovi was played loudly accompanied by the receptionists singing at the top of their lungs. This was met by funny looks from my family and Grandma looking disappointedly out of the window. Next to add to the odd and unsatisfactory afternoon we were experiencing a builder walked through with his overalls half undone and his stomach hanging out which put my boyfriends mother in a state of upset that a nice afternoon out was just becoming a big disappointment.
Although lovely there was a waiter who I wouldn't class as British from his struggling with English sentences and his pronunciation, he came to check on how we were doing which was nice, however he seemed to be bored and looking for something to do returning time and time again some 5 minutes apart, some 2 and some 20 minutes, but nevertheless he was returning constantly and loitering around our table making our conversations dwindle as we didn't want to talk or converse while being watched. It made us feel very uncomfortable.
After all the commotion and feeling full from what was a lovely afternoon tea we swiftly paid and exited. My family didn't want to be rude by mentioning anything as the food was nice but I shall warn all future guests, the food and drink was excellent however staff and the place itself could do with a stern talking too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank actingninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from two nights at the mollington , two other couples with us , we had a lovely weekend , perfect place to stay for a trip into Chester centre , only £5 each way ' receptionist will arrange pick up, extremely helpful and friendly , that goes for all the staff including the manager. We stayed in a executive room very pleasant and most comfortable .
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant on both nights and it was delicious , enjoyed breakfast , with plenty of choice , again the staff were very helpful and friendly, there is a great leisure centre with very nice swimming pool . Would definitely recommend this hotel, in fact I am back again in a couple of weeks with my mum and sisters

Room Tip: Ask for room where twin beds are put together , you get a massive bed and can't tell its two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattykins1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this hotel as a Christmas present for myself, husband, sister and brother in law. After booking I read the reviews on this site and was totally aghast at the negative reviews and wondered what on earth I had let ourselves in for - in fact at one stage I was even contem plating cancelling but I was glad that I did not. We arrived on the 2nd January and yes it is not the prettiest frontage but so what. Checking in was no problem, the receptionist very firendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean and we did have heating and hot showers, bed was comfortable - so really could not see why there were negative reviews. Yes there are certain areas that need a bit of attention and updating but everything takes time. The lounge area is a lovely comfortable area and the fire was lit. We had a snack there the one night and the following night were ate in the restaurant and both meals were excellent.

All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and polite, yes there are one or two niggles but at the end of the day they were only minor and certainly did not ruin our 3 night stay there.

I was really glad I went with my instinct and did not cancel this break, we all enjoyed outselves very much and would all go back there again without any hesitation and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisseyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, SpeedyBooker.com and Lastminute so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing