We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea for Two - very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was given to us as a gift and I am Gluten free so rang ahead and asked could they cater for me and they Said of course. We arrived at 2pm and were sat down and offered tea or coffee. We chose tea of course. I told them I was Gluten free so they brought 2 separate slates out one gluten free and 1 normal. The sandwiches were smoked salmon with cream cheese and egg mayonnaise. Which were fine for me but my husband does not like either so he did struggle. The gluten free cakes were gorgeous and I thoroughly enjoyed them. The cakes my husband had were also lovely. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The only thing I would say could be better was to ask what type off sandwiches you would like and the staff need to be more readily available as we wanted more tea which we did get but it was difficult to find a member of staff for a while to ask for this. We had a lovely couple of hours there and it was most pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 214jam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Talk about service without a smile. No welcome whatsoever, and stony faced service from both reception and the spa reception. The man at the desk tried to charge me a lot more money for what the room price was because he didn't bother to ask simple questions such as how many are staying in the room, and after his mistake was pointed out by another member of staff he did not apologise and was rude about explaining card payments.

The hotel is extremely tired and dated and does not feel loved. For the high price you pay for a room you expect a bit of luxury. The door to my room did not shut properly and the walls are paper thin so every noise from other rooms could be heard. Dinner was pretty pathetic. Rubbery burnt halloumi, and a 'spicy' pasta so full of chilli it wasn't actually edible! Even the ice cream to follow it was tasteless - how can you go wrong with ice cream?!

Breakfast was buffet style, where I was NOT impressed to see that if you want a cup of tea there is just a hot water jug along with very tasteless tea bags. The bacon and sausages were actually pretty good though. Check out was just as lacking in service as check in, nobody asked how my stay was or wished me a safe onward journey.

In all, an incredibly disappointing stay for the amount of money spent, and I would not go back again. There will be better 4 star hotels in the area - I don't know how long this hotel will hold onto that rating for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Sent 2 emails over a week ago and not ever an acknowledgment, would never stay there again, executive suit looked nothing like pictures advertised it looked more like a bog standard room, all light bulbs out telephone to reception disconnected, never again could of stated in the hilton in a double room for the price I paid for executive suit here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this hotel for my parteners 40th getaway. Must admit I was bit nervous about it after reading some reviews, but hey-ho, let's go.
Whilst feeling the place was a little "tired", that's about as far as the negetives go.
We found it easy to find, with an entrance at either end of the corridor, to make moving luggage easier.
The room (No.40) was just the job, although we didn't use the shower due to the fascilities in the leisure complex. The staff at the Leisure Complex were friendly and helpful, but once again there were fascilities out of order. (Steam room, Shower & a Sauna)
The Breakfast was great, if just a little greasy on some items.
Would we stay again, YES!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from Reception can be accessed by alternative door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little1_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in a double room where we had a kind size bed and a great view of the Garden. We enjoyed our stay that much we would recommend a stay here to anyone. excellent service and very helpful staff!
We also had a great time whilst taking full advantage of the pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna.
I am afraid that I cannot comment on the food as we dined elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgdavies90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

from the first enquiry to the evening itself the whole experience was relaxed and enjoyable. My requirements were easily and helpfully accommodated with useful suggestions at every moment. The evening itself was a real success with wonderful attentive staff, super room and excellent food!! What more could you ask for!! Definitely worth recomending

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hi everyone, I am sad to do this but it was so awful, I really wouldn't recommend it and don't want it to spoil others celebrations!
The pictures on the site look great, this is not a true reflection. The hotel is 2 star at most, everything is tired, carpets are thread bear, sofas have worn patches, paintwork in corridors is all scraped off. I heard someone describe it like an old people's home and it really is, it smells really damp in our room too. I understand things do get tired but it wasn't even clean, my glass at the bar was dirty. The carpets needed vaccuming, especially in our room and the toilet wasn't even clean on arrival. Really sorry again but I feel people should know what they are getting as its not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsAshy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: £57 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing