We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Lisburn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked this hotel as we had to attend a family funeral outside Chester. The arrangements were made in conjunction with our ferry booking from Ireland. After a very early start and a long ferry crossing we were delighted to arrive at this excellently run and equipped hotel. Our room was especially spacious and comfortable with a pleasant outlook over the garden so we were able to relax after our journey. The bar menu was very suitable and we chose from it on our first night. The second night we were tempted by the restaurant and were not at all disappointed! Service was friendly and efficient.
Our compliments to the management - this is a hotel we would willingly return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the garden at the rear
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MourneladyLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    444
    308
    241
    227
See reviews for
301
730
34
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy County, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ive stayed at the Mollington on several occasions now and with location, cleanliness and especially fitness facility i will gladly stay again.
staff very approachable and helpful, ive read many reviews here and cannot believe some silly comments!
very impressed with gym management plus variety on fitness classes available without doubt an individual reason i will stay again.
chefs also very approachable and willing to help suit ur personal needs. ive stayed in three different rooms here and find them all more than satisfactory.
location perfect on doorstep to chester.

THANKS...
Rob Welsby

Room Tip: room 42 very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Myself and my wife had afternoon tea here on friday 18/07. The restaurant was very clean and presentable, Gluten free food was of a high quality and not lacking Taste.

The staff were impeccable, not been to a hotel in a long time with such good customer service. Have not stayed here - but would highly recommend the restaurant.

Particular thanks goes to Kyle Taylor who looked after us.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

BEWARE & BE ADVISED, they don't tell you on checkin they debt ur card with £50 and if u don't use any services it then takes 3-5 workings days to go bk into your bank.
Manager useless no faith in his management skills what so ever!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yunmymummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Recently stayed as a member of a coach party. The cold starters for dinner were served first leaving the soup to go cool. The main course was also served luke warm and the cold sweets were served first leaving the custard dish to go cold. The curtains hooks in the bedroom needed attention, also part of the tap was missing. There was no hot water at 7 in the morning and no orders for breakfast were taken, just a cooked breakfast placed in front of you whilst eating your cold starter. Overall a pretty poor effort for a 4 * graded hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was given to us as a gift and I am Gluten free so rang ahead and asked could they cater for me and they Said of course. We arrived at 2pm and were sat down and offered tea or coffee. We chose tea of course. I told them I was Gluten free so they brought 2 separate slates out one gluten free and 1 normal. The sandwiches were smoked salmon with cream cheese and egg mayonnaise. Which were fine for me but my husband does not like either so he did struggle. The gluten free cakes were gorgeous and I thoroughly enjoyed them. The cakes my husband had were also lovely. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The only thing I would say could be better was to ask what type off sandwiches you would like and the staff need to be more readily available as we wanted more tea which we did get but it was difficult to find a member of staff for a while to ask for this. We had a lovely couple of hours there and it was most pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 214jam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Talk about service without a smile. No welcome whatsoever, and stony faced service from both reception and the spa reception. The man at the desk tried to charge me a lot more money for what the room price was because he didn't bother to ask simple questions such as how many are staying in the room, and after his mistake was pointed out by another member of staff he did not apologise and was rude about explaining card payments.

The hotel is extremely tired and dated and does not feel loved. For the high price you pay for a room you expect a bit of luxury. The door to my room did not shut properly and the walls are paper thin so every noise from other rooms could be heard. Dinner was pretty pathetic. Rubbery burnt halloumi, and a 'spicy' pasta so full of chilli it wasn't actually edible! Even the ice cream to follow it was tasteless - how can you go wrong with ice cream?!

Breakfast was buffet style, where I was NOT impressed to see that if you want a cup of tea there is just a hot water jug along with very tasteless tea bags. The bacon and sausages were actually pretty good though. Check out was just as lacking in service as check in, nobody asked how my stay was or wished me a safe onward journey.

In all, an incredibly disappointing stay for the amount of money spent, and I would not go back again. There will be better 4 star hotels in the area - I don't know how long this hotel will hold onto that rating for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing