We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Hotels.com
US$136
View deal
FindHotel
US$117
View deal
eDreamsUS$136
Trip.comUS$127
PricelineUS$122
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,391)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
631
605
417
350
390
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
605
417
350
390
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed cheshire oaks chester city centre short break full english visiting chester clive gym facial
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel having stayed here before, the hotel is in need of an update as it's looking tired, the rooms although clean do need updating especially showers and fittings, shower heads loose, lamp shades missing etc, however on a more positive note the staff are excellent especially Head Waiter Nick and his colleagues who are suburb and make the hotel, they can't do enough for you and are very attentive towards the customer, (Nick remembered what my drink was from my previous stay in December) these are the people who make this hotel, if they get the rooms refurbished and upgraded they you would have a fantastic hotel Thank You G Cooper

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 590gedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Dear Ged

As a regular visitor to the Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa , it is very valuable to read your feedback today. I would like to thank you for recognising the efforts made by all the staff at the Molly B to make you feel so welcome each time you come and I can only apologise for your disappointment in the fixtures and fittings in your room. I have asked the General Manager, Mr Gavin to look into this and of course please feel free to contact him directly at the Hotel the next time you plan to stay so that he can manage your booking personally. Brook Hotels are continuing a rolling programme of improvements at The Molly B and hope to extend this to additional bedrooms and public areas over the coming months.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff, Mark kept families with children amused with card tricks while insuring that all guests were being attended to regarding meals and drinks.Good Spa facilities with shower refurbish in progress. Hotel clean and comfortable but requires some updating.Breakfast has good choice with relaxed atmosphere . Good place to stay for City & Zoo visits.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear JohnLes
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa and I am delighted to read that the Easter activities were such a success with the children. It is wonderful to read that you found the Hotel ideal for visiting both Chester and the Zoo and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Molly B again very soon .
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We visited the hotel over the Easter weekend for my Grandparents wedding anniversary. Firstly, the hotel itself could do with a little TLC, only the rooms really. Plus it really needs a lift of some sort, we had a baby and were on the 1st floor, so had to carry our push pair up and down the stairs! The pool was a very nice surprise - there was a gym, sauna etc there too. Lastly, the hotel grounds were nice and made a good location for the Easter egg hunt!

Have to say Mark the Manager was a real credit to your company, he made us feel very welcome from when we arrived until we left. Nothing was too much trouble, He was of course supported by his hard working and lovely staff. Mark organised everything superbly and was great with all the kids, it was a pleasure to meet him and I was said to say goodbye to be honest. When we go back up there, we'll be staying there again.

Thanks Mark, you're a top man and I'll be in touch!

Room tip: if you have a bay, ground floor room as no lift!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carlwM9374JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear CarlW
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us at The Molly B over the Easter break. It is wonderful to read that the Hotel provided the perfect backdrop for your Grandparents wedding anniversary and that Mark and his team took great care of you throughout your stay. A true measure of a great stay is when we read that you would return and it is wonderful that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel the next time you come up to Chester .

Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

From the outside, the building looks a little underwhelming and inside in parts looks a bit jaded. However, the staff couldn't do more to help. Gareth on reception was friendly, welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Other staff were SO enthusiastic it was almost too much at times - you certainly can't fault them for effort!

We ate in the bar on one night and the food was good standard pub fare. There seemed to be shortage of staff though - only one man serving behind the bar as well as doing food orders and clearing tables.

The second night of our stay we ate in the restaurant. We took up the offer of 3 courses for £21.95 and the food was excellent. There were several options on the a la carte menu that took our fancy and all were very good.

We enquired about having a cocktail and the very enthusiastic waitress claimed to be able to make them, but in actual fact it was just a weak, fruity drink not unlike squash. As I've said before - can't fault the staff for effort and trying to fulfil guests wishes, but might have been best to say cocktails were not available!

We went to Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village which is very close by. It is worth noting that if you take your room charge card with you and go to the visitors' centre you get a further 10% in many of the shops there.

It's worth venturing in to the spa if you feel that way inclined. We used the pool, steam room and sauna, but there is also a gym, squash court and treatments available. It's worth noting that when you enter the pool area - you have to collect towels from the reception desk at the top of the ramp - there aren't any once you get down to the pool.

All in all - good value and would stay again.

Room tip: No lifts that I'm aware of, so if you need a ground floor room it would be worth requesting that.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank welshgirlupnorth138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for reviewing your recent break with us at The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient for your shopping excursion to Cheshire Oaks. It is wonderful to read that all the staff at the Hotel made you feel very welcome and I can only apologise for your disappointment in the cocktails you were served on this occasion. I have passed your feedback on to the General Manager , Mr Gavin to review with his restaurant and bar staff. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again very soon.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We had a small family party in one of the function rooms here and also stayed overnight.
The party was well organised, the food was excellent, good portions of food, the staff knew exactly who was having what- very handy as people always forget what they've preordered! The room was the perfect size and we had access from the morning to get it decorated. The staff were so friendly and helpful and despite the fact that the hotel was very busy with several functions going on at the same time, at no point did it feel like we were kept waiting or delayed in any of our requirements. We were delighted with it as a venue for our function and would highly recommend it.

We stayed in a family room and this turned out to be 2 interconnecting rooms- far more space than we were expecting. The rooms were fine for what we needed. I would say that they are very tired though and could definitely do with some updating. Also, I think that as we were in an old part of the building, the noise transmitted from other rooms and the corridors was excessive when compared to other places we have stayed at. We had a meal in the bar, where again the service was excellent and there was a good choice of bar food.
Breakfast was a slight problem, in that it seemed that they struggled to keep up with demand. Part of this was probably the fact that the clocks had gone forward and it was a bank holiday weekend, so it felt like everyone turned up for breakfast at exactly the same time, meaning that the hot food was disappearing as fast as it was brought out of the kitchen. Again, despite short delays, the food itself was tasty and there was a reasonable selection.
As it was Easter Sunday, the hotel put on a Easter egg hunt for the children which was a really nice touch.
We used the swimming pool with our children, and it was lovely and warm and had 2 small shallow areas with the main pool being a max depth of 1.2m. Again, my only negative comment would be that things need a general update from the point of view of decor etc. Also, a small thing, but it would be handy to have one of those small spin dryer things for wet costumes in the changing rooms (if there was one, then I must have missed it!).
Overall, we would definitely recommend the hotel as a place to stay when visiting the area and also as a place for functions.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Mrs Scanlan

It is wonderful to read that Mr Gavin and all his team ensured that your family party with us over the Easter weekend was such a success and I would like to thank you for posting such a kind review of your experience. I am delighted that you also enjoyed your extended stay as well as the planned Easter activities and the Easter Egg hunt on Sunday. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the dryer in the changing rooms, I will pass this on to our Head Office for their consideration.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews