We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Hotels.com
US$136
View deal
Destinia.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
eDreamsUS$136
Trip.comUS$127
PricelineUS$122
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,391)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
631
605
417
350
390
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
605
417
350
390
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed cheshire oaks chester city centre short break full english visiting chester clive gym facial
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Having been a favourite of ours near Chester, we thought we'd visit after not visiting for a while.

The special offer looked very appealing however this turned out to be ambiguous and misleading - even the restaurant manager said so.

On arriving in the car park it was clear to see that the hotel was in need of sprucing up, distressed paint work, shabby borders and hedging (and the hotel boasts of the owners family link to Diarmud Gavin the gardener!) broken untidy vertical blinds - disappointing. Check in was not professional with the gentleman very flustered and then wandering off. Leaving the what I assume was the deputy manager to try and check us in.
We were given rooms facing out towards the garden as requested. Very disappointing again, it is very clear that no money is being spent on upkeep. Upholstery was dirty, window in entrance hall of room broken and window fan broken. Furniture very worn. Bathroom furniture was clean but floor had hairs on it. Where pipes had been removed the holes were just left and not filled.

The major attraction used to be the spa / health club - oh dear. One member of staff who was overseeing pool area after having done an 8 hour shift in beauty salon was expected to work until 10pm. Health and safety? She was very lovely but obviously tired. Entering the ladies changing room I was welcomed by a full used laundry trolley taller than me (I'm 5'4") the pool which was supposed to be empty of children by 6pm still had them in at 7.30. This was followed by a man walking his dog down to the gym alongside the pool, then walking the dog back to reception where it was left and continued to bark at it's owner who was now in the hottub. No the dog was not a guide dog or anything special - it just didn't like being in the car! He enlightened me, obviuosly a very caring establishment as he always does this. Sauna had chunks out of the wood benches which snag swimwear, steamroom has had seats replaced and the walls not repaired from removing old ones.
Then to the 'Fawlty Towers' dining experience. We booked our table for four adults on arrival. As we walked to table we passed large bowls of breakfast cereal very partially covered with cling film, needless to say they were still there at breakfast. Back to dinner, ordered drinks, after 20 mins no sign so I asked the young man waiting on, running round and generally trying to tell the very uninterested inexperienced older chap what to do. He came back with order 10 mins later followed by the deputy manager with same round straight after. Starters came out for 3 of us and mine 5 mins later grubby mussels not debeared with loads of closed ones. The older chap then cleared the plates of the men and left the ladies. Mains came out and got taken back so the remaining starters plates could be removed before being brought again cold. Desserts ordered very poor, two chocolate puds that should have been the same looked and tasted totally different.
Breakfast probably the poorest we've ever experienced dried up beans, undercooked bacon, overcooked scrambled eggs no pastries, one flavour of yoghurt one type of juice and the soggy uncovered cereals - £12.50 per person.
Check out farcical. Back to misleading ambiguous offer, room including 3 course dinner - nope room with dinner off a certain menu that was never offered even though when we arrived at restaurant I was asked if I was on the special tariff. £162 extra!!!!!
Needless to say the promised phone call from the other Mr Gavin never materialised.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank cardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

I am so sorry to read that you left the Hotel in January disheartened with your stay especially as you have visited before and had such a wonderful time. If you would like to contact me personally on info@brook-hotels.co.uk, I will be able to look into this matter further on your behalf.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

My friend and I had a fantastic time. we found the hospitality to be exceptional. The staff were first class and willing to help wherever possible. The food was excellent, the room was pleasant with a nice view, overlooking the gardens, had everything that we required. The hotel is situated close to Chester for easy access to all the amenities such as restaurants, sight seeing options etc. Will definitely come back and would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaker234552
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Margaret and Christine ,
I am delighted to read that you found your stay with us at The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa so comfortable and relaxing. It is wonderful to read that Mr Gavin and his team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed dining with us too. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and for reviewing your stay so kindly. Of course , it goes without saying but it will be our pleasure to welcome you both back to the hotel should you return to visit Chester again. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind and personal recommendation of the Hotel following your visit last weekend.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Location is good and close to the town. The photo on the web is not the front entrance.

Rooms- tired old and stale. Most of all, hygiene is very poor.
Carpets are old , stained, ripped and dirty. The phone wasn't damaged and out of order. The spare blanket was piles in the bottom of a cupboard. Dirty and dusty light fittings and the list goes on.

Bathroom: filthy. Filthy shower, toilet bowl, walls, lights out of order etc etc.
See the photos and decide for yourself.

Although, upon complaining the manager was quick to replace the shower heard.

While having dinner I noticed stains on the radiator besides me. Clearly, poor hygiene is symptomatic to the Mollington.

Food in the restaurant was good and service was pleasant enough.

The manager was shown the photos. He was apologetic but there are too many things wrong here to overlook. Not somewhere I would recommend to business people. Very poorly maintained.

If you are used to average standards of cleanliness (eg: Premier); Avoid !

Room tip: Rooms at the front over look the road. Wold suggest the back
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagofspanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and for also taking a moment to contact us directly to discuss this matter with our company Chairman, Umesh Ummat . I can only apologise for the short term housekeeping issues that you have described here and appreciate your patience as Mr Ummat looks into this on your behalf.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed at Mollington in order to break our journey from :Dublin to Windsor
We wished we were staying for longer
The leisure facilities in particular were wonderful for all of us , spa for me , gym for him and excellent pool with three different levels for the children
We had some yummy meals in the spacious lounge
And the bedroom accommodation for the family was perfect , spotless , spacious and extremely comfortable .
We will most certainly return .
Many thanks to the staff for making our stay so memorable

Room tip: Stay for longer the hotel and the area has so much to offer
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Dear Mairead
It is wonderful to read that you and your family had such a relaxing time with us at the Molly B before journeying on to Windsor. The measure of a good stay is when we read that along with finding our rooms comfortable and our staff welcoming that you would be delighted to return and stay with us again at The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa. So thank you for your kind review today and I will of course pass your kind words on to Mr Gavin to share with all his team.
Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again very soon.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Had a 3 day stop at the hotel, although the decor needs a bit of tlc,the rooms were very comfortable,breakfast was very good and the swimming pool and spa were very nice to use after a long days at the zoo and Cheshire oaks , it was well placed for the visit being only 1 mile from the centre of Chester

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank capeyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa and I pleased that you found the Hotel ideally located for your visit to Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks. I am delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy the Spa on your return to the Hotel and look forward to being able to welcome you back the next time you visit Chester .
Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews