We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My partner had booked this hotel as a surprise as I wanted to visit Chester. It is a short cab ride away from the railway station (£5).We arrived at Chester railway station at 10a.m. it does not have a left luggage area so we caught a taxi to the hotel and the staff were happy to look after our bags for us until we came back later in the evening. We then walked along the canal back to Chester city centre. It only took about 40 minutes and was a lovely walk. We spent the day in Chester and ate lunch there before walking back along the canal to the hotel. We checked in without any problems and booked a table for dinner that evening. Our room was on the first floor. There is a small lift right near the stairs but we didn't spot this til later. Our room was comfortable. Not overly large but had everything there that we needed - tea, coffee, iron, ironing board, trouser press and hair dryer. Dinner was a delight. Again we were very impressed by the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. After dinner we retired to the lounge where an excellent pianist was playing. We had coffee and Bailey's here and chatted to another couple. This was their second trip to the hotel. Whilst in the lounge area we were well looked after by the friendly staff. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet affair but plenty of choice and the food was very good and plentiful. We sat in the conservatory area of the dining room and had a view of the beautiful grounds which were covered in snow. We then went to the spa and fitness area. We enjoyed a swim in the pool and took advantage of the sauna. The pool was split into 3 areas one level for babies and toddlers, one level for slightly older children and then the main pool area. There were a couple of squash courts and a very well equipped gym. The gym, pool, showers and changing rooms were the best I have experienced at any hotel. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful. Afterwards we had a coffee in the cafe area overlooking the pool. We didn't book any spa treatments so cannot comment on this area. We booked out of our room at 11a.m. Again no problems and a very pleasant receptionist. As our train was not until later in the afternoon the staff again obliged us by looking after our luggage whilst we went for a walk around the local area. We came back and the receptionist order as a cab which arrived promptly to take us to the railway station. The whole weekend was lovely and we found Chester to be a very friendly place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Bfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spotWirral, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

Thankyou for your very kind review
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,567 - 1,573 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2010

This was a repeat visit to the Mollington as we enjoyed our trip so much last year and yet again it didn't dissapoint.
The food, service, staff and hotel in general were all great. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_ZDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerChester, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2010

Many thanks for your kind review
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Mollington very soon.

Best Regards
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast package as a treat for ourselves. The hotel is definately not a 4 star and is need of an urgent wholesale refurbishment. In our first room, the shower was warm at best and the television was not watchable due to a fuzzy screen and poor sound. When we tried to phone reception, we found did not work. We were moved to a second room which had a better shower but same problem with the television. The second room also had a large patch of mould on the wall and the bathroom door was hanging off.

The gym and pool are was also poor. The showers in the changing rooms were useless. The steam room fits 2 people in at once and had a lack of steam.

On a positive note, the staff were pleasant and the food was okay.

All in all; not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spotWirral, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

Thank you for your review , sorry about the shower in your first room , in relation to the "mould" in the second this was caused by a burst pipe which has now been mended .

I am suprised you did not enjoy the pool and leisure area as this is usually much enjoyed by our guests .

Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We booked this 4 star Best Western hotel for a New Years short Break. We were allocated a family room on the 2nd floor ( no lift). Going up to the room we noted that the decor was worn and tired.
The room was the same. It quickly became apparent that the double bed mattress had collapsed and had a trough across the width of the mattress about 6 inches deep. It is difficult to see how anyone could have made up this bed without noticing this.
We complained to reception who promised to send housekeeping. They never arrived so we went to look for them. The solution was to change the mattress. After a wait 2 men arrived carrying a mattress . This mattress had body fluid stains on the top and a stain about 2 feet wide on the other side. Needless to say we declined to accept this although the staff clearly didn't have a problem.with it.
We were then relocated to another room. This was also tired and worn. One of the floorboards sank down with a bang everytime we stepped on it. We didn't look at the beds at this stage but went into Chester. Whilst in Chester we realised we were not looking forward to returning to the hotel and wondered what the beds in the new room were like. On our return we checked the mattresses. 2 were old but cleanish the third was covered both sides with bodily fluid stains. At this point we decided to check out and drive 140 miles home after complaining to the manager and deputy manager who both apologised.
we have subsequently complained to Best Western and Brook Hotels who own this place. Best western to our surprise seem to be little more than a marketing tool - we had mistakenly though it was a quality indicator. Brook Hotels have apologised, told us the mattresses have been thrown out and offered us another weekend at one of their hotels. Having checked out these hotels on this website and similar websites we have declined the offer as we discovered many people reporting similar experiences to ours ( including the dirty mattresses). We have settled for a contribution towards our wasted travelling costs.
Our advice to anyone considering this hotel is to look carefully. We take many short breaks and holidays and this is our worst experience for many years! We have photos but have decided not to post them.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spotWirral, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2010

As advised the mattress was removed and a brand new bed has taken its place.



While I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the mattress it is unfair to brand the hotel a ‘nightmare’ as you did not stay to experience any service. You were invited to return but you declined my offer .


To focus on the bigger picture Visit Britain graded our hotel 4 star and rated the house keeping above average.

Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Booked 5 nights here for a get away with my mum. Having stayed in other best western hotels I had high expectations. On checking in we were given a room that stank of smoke. We were moved to another room without too much fuss and settled in. The internet was controlled by an outside company and was £10 a day or £25 for a week. I needed the internet for work and so had to pay. The hotel is a great location for visiting chester but not being in the city center. First night the hotel was quiet and slept well (other nights found out the walls were made of paper). In the morning went down for breakfast only to be shouted from across the room at by a very rude waitress that we had sat in the wrong place and we had to move. I asked if I would be able to have a hot chocolate as I dont drink tea or coffee and the response I got was "NO". To add insult to injury a couple came and sat where we had tried to sit only to have the waitress move things around so they could sit there. The breakfast was dissapointing and inconsistent. It seemed to alternate between table service and buffet but was consistent in how bad it was, The bacon was dried to the point it was inedable, they ran out of butter and marmite on our second morning, this might just be me being picky but the cereal was out on the table exposed which in these swine flu times I dont think is very hygeinic. The next morning I asked a different waiter for a hot chocolate and He was more than happy to get this for me. The waitress then seemed annoyed the next morning when I asked for this and there were black lumps in it so I didnt drink it. The next morning when I asked for hot chocolate she replied "well are you going to drink it this morning". I found her manner so rude and it really upset me on the morning we had here, It's hardley what you want on holiday. We did complain about her to the manager on the morning we left and they knocked one breakfast each off but considering the breakfast was inedable I didn't think this was exceptionally generous. We used the swimming pool attached to the hotel which was nice enough and seemed clean. Although the hair dryers in both the leasure center and the rooms are useless. I liked the location but would not stay at this hotel again I would not recommend it to anyone else. Avoid, or at least avoid the breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elphierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerChester, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2009

Thank you for your review
I am sorry about the poor service you recieved at breakfast .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Having visited the hotel some months ago with my family (young boys), my husband and I decided to have a romantic break child free!!

The reception staff instantly remembered who we were from our previous visit and even asked how our children were. I have to say the staff at the Mollington are exceptional, very friendly and nothing is to much trouble, starting from offering help with our luggage to a courtesy call to see if everything is alright with our room.

Dinner on the saturday evening was fabulous, (compliments to the chef), the restuarant staff were run off their feet with a full restuarant but their friendliness and attention to detail never faultered.

The pianist who plays on a saturday evening adds to the atmosphere and it certainly rounded off a really great evening. Breakfast on the sunday morning was first class (great start to the day).

We will definately be returning again for our third visit

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flooseyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerChester, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2009

Many thanks for your review , we look forward to welcoming you back again
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Just returned from a 3 day break 2 nights DBB & 1 night BB, the room was comfortable but not very spacious. The staff were excellent, pleasent, polite and made sure everything was to our liking. We had no problems with waiting any length of time in the restaurant as mentioned in previous comments.
It is approx 2.5 miles to the city centre we used a taxi one evening which cost £5. During the day the park & ride is the best way to get to the city as parking is quite expensive
We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing