We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean accommodation ”
Review of Hillscourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillscourt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rednal
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good clean accommodation ”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night. Very quiet but near Birmingham City centre. Enjoyed the bar food and they served real ale.
The room was compact but modern. Possibly the bathroom needed a heater. Very clean indeed.
Set In Country grounds. Loads of parking is a des res area.
Would stay again in working near Birmingham.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    26
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
10
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Attended three day conference and found the hotel and facilities to be very good. Small but well appointed room with great bathroom and shower. Tea making facilities and tv. Ironing board on landing. Everywhere in good decorative order. Food was fantastic. Buffet breakfast / lunch and waitress service evening meal. Food quality excellent. Conference facilities were also top notch. One minor grumble. WiFi needed to be logged into continually which was very annoying.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Attended ukwsn conference. Reception staff friendly smart efficient. Bedroom clean and functional. All meals nicely presented good quality with pleasant staff. Shame many in accommodation had never been on how to close and not bang/slam doors course. That said on all occasions I have been here the staff have been great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work conference. Staff courteous and efficient, particularly during breakfast service. My employers were paying so I got the cheapest available room which was a standard single. The room was very small but clean with a decent shower in the small ensuite. Strange layout of the room owing to the small size meant there was no desk area to work and the tub chair was placed directly in front of the tv, facing sideways. Biggest disappointment however was the bed! The thin soft mattress was not conducive to a good night's sleep as I could feel every spring in my back. Had to sleep on top of the bed to allow the thick duvet to give extra padding between me and the mattress, meaning I had to have the electric heater on all night until I could bear the dry air no longer; switching it off until the cold woke me up again. Opted against the set evening meal and chose a burger in the bar. What came out was the driest, plainest burger (without the creole mayo as stated) which I slathered with sachets of ketchup. Bar area full of workmen/contractors who use the hotel during the week, who I found bemusing as they openly discussed the size of "my knockers" on the table next to me without a care as to whether I could hear or not while I ate my meal! (I know venue can't police topics of guests conversations, but could be intimidating to some women) Brownie points were retrieved with breakfast the following morning which was good quality, hot and plentiful. Full marks go to the waitress serving tea, coffee & toast to each table. All in all an interesting experience which would've been more bearable with a bit more sleep. Maybe next time I need to insist that work fork out for a double room where I can spread out instead!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Doamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

stayed here overnight at a work's conference. Room was very clean and nicely furnished. en-suite lovely, bed very comfortable. The food was absolutely first rate with plenty of choice and the service by the staff was excellent - very helpful and polite. Is in beautiful grounds to walk round before your full English breakfast :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Easy to find & friendly greeting on arrival. This is a 'business class' hotel and conference centre, the facilities are clean, basic and comfortable. Plenty of parking and a short hop into the city. The grounds are beautiful and perfect for a quiet drink on the striped lawns. Bar menu is good witha reasonable choice and the set dinner represents reasonable value. Breakfast was average and a little more effort would make a huge difference. Overall, good value for what you get and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianBatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Owned by the NASUWT it is a fine old building in a rural setting with many walks nearby right out of the door. Food was excellent. Rooms in the accommodation block are great for a nostalgic University Halls of Residence experience. Comfy and spotless. Rooms in the old building are more varied. Friendly bar staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the room the Union President uses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neshobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rednal
1.7 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#46 of 117 in Birmingham
638 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
6.8 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
648 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillscourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillscourt

Property: Hillscourt
Address: Hillscourt Education Centre Rose Hill, Rednal B45 8RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Rednal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rednal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillscourt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Hillscourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillscourt Rednal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing