We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic rural cottage with easy access to the sea...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Docking, Burnham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SamThrow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic rural cottage with easy access to the sea and rolling fields which is Great for the pups..”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful cottage with a lovely warm feel the minute you step in side. Locality is great for dog walking with rolling fields half a mile down a country lane.. Lots of local information left in the property and loved the puppy pack.. Already planning our next trip back..

Further info.. Brancaster beach 5 miles north and local shop in the village. Lots of restaurants, wether it's a quick bite to eat or fine dining..

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thanks for the lovely review!
We are so delighted you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggerbab...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage with extra special touches”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A really lovely cottage that we booked last minute. We loved the welcome backed and the one for our dog Dennis was extra special.
It was clean, comfortable and well equipped and we couldn't fault it.
It's location is perfect for us as we love Docking and the surrounding areas.
It will definitely be a returning visit for us.

Thank you Jane.

See you soon

Mary, Wilf and Dennis

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thanks you for the lovely review. It was great to meet you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy N
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family holiday”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for a week at Easter with our two children (11) and (9). The cottage was perfect - everything you needed was thought about from kitchen utensils to info on the local area.
Beaches at Brancaster, Holkham and Wells next to the sea were stunning. Pubs were fab, particularly The Duck Inn at Stanhoe - best desert I've ever had! Norwich is worth a visit - lovely city. A really lovely family holiday - we will be back!

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
thank you for your lovely review! We would love to welcome you back. Jane Jones Naturally Norfolk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudie P
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, pet friendly cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for the Easter weekend at Lavender Cottage. It surpassed our expectations, the photographs online do not do this place justice. It is beautiful, cosy and very homely. The amazing welcome basket provided by the owner was an added bonus and a lovely treat for the whole family after a long journey. Our dog was also made so welcome with a dog towel, ball, bowl, biscuits and even a dog bed provided...in fact he preferred to sleep on the bed provided rather than his own! All in all, we all had a great weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Would love to return, hopefully for a little longer next time. Thank you Jane for our wonderful weekend.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a great weekend.
I'm lucky as I have a help from the fabulous Sam at Done and Dusted!
We hope to welcome you back another time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zain Y
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place near the coast!”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely cottage, in the scenic village of Docking, Norfolk.

The owners were very welcoming and hospitable.

Made for a great weekend in the countryside!

Date of stay: March 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetm819
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location,clean and comfy cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We used this cottage as it was central to our cycling routes to coastal areas of Hunstanton,Thurnam, Brancaster, holkham,wells at sea,stiff key and Clay at sea. Docking its self is lovely and has facilities of a chippy,local SPa shop and village hall which holds a food market Wednesday's and a pub. We ate out at two excellent places The White horse and The GLobe. The roads where quiet with georgeous vistas.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed,no noise.
Liked least: Parking a little tight.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrussing...
Thrussington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here recently with our two little boys and couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. It's a beautiful little cottage in the lovely village of Docking. Very close to many of our favourite spots; Brancaster, Holkham, Burnham Market all very close by.
The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need; even plasters when our eldest cut his hand! It has a lovely kitchen with everything you need to make family meals and a great living room with a dining table that extends.
Two lovely bedrooms, one double and a twin with the addition of an extra bed (perfect when Granny popped in to join us for a night!).
Jane provides a lovely welcome pack and a huge amount of information on the area and things to do, places to eat etc so if you haven't visited the area before you'll get lots of ideas here! She has clearly gone to a lot of trouble to make sure guests want for nothing during their stay.
We've stayed in several Norfolk properties but this was by far the best all rounder we've found so far; we'll definitely be back!!

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.