We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"A Gem"!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season. A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
44 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
Pleasurewood Hills theme park is a few moments drive away and well worth a day out when visting.
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pamela e
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A Gem"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would be very surprised if anyone could find fault with this lovely property.
The kitchen is extremely well equipped - great quality crockery, glasses etc.We had taken out own tea and coffee - which we used, but these items where there.
Comfortable hide sofas and just a very genial area to spend time with a glass of wine! Shame we didn't have the need to light the open fire!
The beds are super comfy, and the bed linen compliments same. No scrimping on towels either. Hand wash and lotion at every washing point - small point maybe, but I have rented other holiday lets, and this has not been provided - even in some, no loo rolls - not the ORR!
The property was absolutely spotless - and we are 'fussy'.
Hayley made it clear that nothing was too much trouble, and stressed to contact her with any problem/query. Can't think anyone would ever have to though!
All in all, a great place to stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything inside the property
Liked least: Having to walk from the front to the garden area - small point though
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thanks for the Great review , we appreciate your kind comments and we hope you remember the ORR and the Suffolk Coastal area as a great holiday destination. We really value recommendation as future guests can really gauge what they should expect when deciding where to book. You will be very welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a Holiday Home near the North Suffolk coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Used the Old Reading Rooms (ORR) for a weekend as a base for our daughter's wedding at Wood Farm Barn, Benacre. The ORR was ideal for this purpose and only about one mile from the wedding venue. The property itself was very thoughtfully and tastefully renovated and provided enough space to prepare for the event comfortably. After the event we were able to enjoy the very relaxing and comfortable surroundings of the ORR which accommodated 4 adults, 1 child and 2 under two's on our visit. It was like a home from from home for us and certainly the ORR is on our agenda for a longer visit in the future.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space provided by the open plan ground floor
Liked least: Nothing that would spoil a holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thanks for your kind review , we are so glad your stay was enjoyable especially given the special occasion. You will be very welcome back at the ORR for a pure relaxation vacation , see you soon, cheers Hayley and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penni P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect holiday home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the outset we were welcomed in by the unbelieveably friendly owner to the holiday home that was to be our base during our stay in Wrentham for my sister's wedding. Despite not having it for a holiday as such, the house was warm, fully equipped with everything we needed and more (wine already in the fridge). The whole place was very tastefully decorated with a lovely cottage feel, the beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was in fact a power shower, which is always a plus. The whole experience from start to finish was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone. With a short drive to the beautiful Southwold or for plenty of walks on the doorstep, pubs within walking distance and So many things to do in the area, this is a perfect holiday home for anyone wanting to explore Suffolk or wanting a quiet retreat for a well deserved rest from the hustle and bustle of city living.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Hey Guys, glad the Wedding went well and you enjoyed the ORR for the course of the celebrations, we've a few this year so hopefully they will all do as well! If you ever feel like returning for a proper vacation you know where to find us and we'll keep the wine chilled. atb Hayley and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda P
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

An excellent base for exploring Suffolk by car or walking.Old Reading rooms was well presented and had everything we needed,including lots of towels!Lovely large open plan ground floor room,just right for relaxing and chatting whilst cooking!Good sized TV screen for watching DVDs.Nice friendly reception on arrival.Only thought,maybe some local walks could have been provided.All in all a great place to stay.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The big open planned downstairs.
Liked least: No windows to open downstairs for some fresh air.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thanks for a great review and it seems you got the most out of the ORR living layout. Great to see the new BIG plasma TV was appreciated. Thanks for the recommendation about the walk maps , there should be some in the desk BUT they do have a tendency to go walking themselves , will replace ASAP. We'd love to see you return to the ORR so drop us a line if you get any unexpected free time and i'm sure we'll fit you in somehow. Cheers !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place to explore Suffolk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a really nice break here. Liked the area and the cottage was really great. We loved the big room downstairs with big comfy sofas and the fireplace. It was very well equipped, everything we needed was there.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thanks for the great review and we are so pleased the ORR's unique open-plan living room layout suited your group so well, glad you enjoyed the Sunshine Coast and we know both the ORR and the surrounding area would love to see you return, Cheers !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seren2204
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We've just got back from a 3 night stay at The ORR. Was a great situation with easy access to everywhere.

The house was well kitted out particularly the kitchen with everything you could want, it's open plan which is great for a group of people as no on was stuck in the kitchen.The bedrooms were all a really good size and done up lovely.

We had lovely weather for our stay but gutted that we didn't get to use the lovely open fire as it was so nice!!

Was a nice personal touch to be met by the owner and not just a keybox!

We'll be back soon!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review , its greatly appreciated. We would love to see you back at the ORR , please get in touch before booking to see if we can ensure you get the best possible deal as a return guest !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning property, perfect for a family get together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This property is perfectly situated to enable guests to explore the gorgeous coastal towns that Suffolk has to offer. The property is maintained to a very high standard, is beautifully presented and well located for a family break. The accommodation is a great size, downstairs open plan ensures that no one gets stuck in the kitchen! The open fire makes this space a pleasure to be in. We had a fantastic stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Gorgeous decor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thanks for your review , makes it all worth the effort ! So glad you enjoyed the ORR and got the most of its uniqueness during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing