We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”

Review of Batchcott Hall

Garden view of Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room Lawned Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room
Lawned Garden
Summer at Batchcote
Master En Suite
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Terrace
Kitchen
Childrens Tennis
Childrens Room
Tree House
4th Double
Kite flying Long Mynd
Lounge
Dining Room
En Suite 3rd Double
Garden Views
Spring Views
Panoramic Views
Spring at Batchcott
Entrance with parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Picklescott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tammy P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Eileen you are a jem, from the friendly initial e mails and the moment you greeted us, you made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, and you even helped me keep it a secret from my husband.
Such a beautiful spacious house, that you can feel totally relaxed in.
We spent all day in the fabulous garden listening to music, with no worries of causing a disturbance
Thanks again and your cake was fabulous..
I just hope I can find a date in the diary to come again this year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words, and sorry I had not replied sooner, somehow I had not seen an email and today there it was in the inbox! A lovely message to start the New Year! Thank you and I hope you have all had a lovely Christmas and New Year we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffspar...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We would buy this place (if we had the money)”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just had our 4th extended family stay at Batchott, as on previous visits it just fit the bill for us all, being in a perfect location (with a short walk to a great pub) fantastic facilites and absolutely perfect house manageress (Eileen). What more could you ask for.

We have already re-booked for next year and are looking forward to another great stay at this beautiful and peaceful residence. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. You are all always very welcome and we look forward to visit number 5!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie03...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“60th Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We came to stay for a family gathering which was a surprise for my partners 60th birthday. Eileen could not have been more helpful & kind, nothing was too much trouble & she did fantastic in helping us to keep it a secret!
It had everything you needed for a comfortable, homely, chill out weekend, with masses of space in the house for a large group to either prepare meals together, dine watchTV, play games or just relax. The garden was great with so many things for the children & adults to do. Our ages ranged from 6months to 60 years old & there was something for everyone. A fantastic feel to the place made even better by Eileen's attention to detail. Another bonus was the views, amazing walks up on Long Mynd & a nice local pub within walking distance. A great weekend was had by all & hopefully we will come back again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words, I thoroughly enjoyed the whole spirit of the surprise and thrilled that you all enjoyed your weekend, and we do look forward to seeing you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPH15
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house for a large group”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our 2nd time visiting Batchcott Hall. We travelled with 2 other families. The house is great for large groups as everyone has their own space. The house has a homely, country feel to it. We made use of the log burners despite having relatively good weather. The outside space meant we could play both tennis and football and the kids made use of the tree house and trampoline. There are some lovely walks and attractive towns within easy reach but most of all it's a perfect relaxing destination. We walked to the Bottle and Glass in Picklescott for a great Sunday roast. Eileen who looks after the house is incredibly welcoming and accommodating. She helped us out on a number of occasions and greeted us with cake and wine - what more do you want! We hope to return. The only thing to look out for are the steep stairs to the bedrooms on the very top floor (probably not suitable for old people or young children).

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was a joy to have you all back at Batchcott and that the whole family were able to enjoy the gardens, and I enjoyed the fireworks!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Special property for my special birthday weekend :)”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wow! One of the best places I've ever stayed and I will be back! Stated here with a group of friends for a special birthday weekend and it was spectacular! Amazing property, spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms were soooo luxurious. For a group it's perfect and the idyllic setting is just amazing. Eileen the house manager is incredibly helpful and put our online shop away before we arrived. We felt at home straight away and the two open fires (wood included!)really helped us all to relax. We didn't want the weekend to end and I would highly recommend anyone to book this place. You will be so pleased you did, it's really special ❤

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you Debbie for your kind words, and so pleased you enjoyed it so much for your Birthday. We would love to see you all again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH75
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were a group of 3 families with 8 children ranging from 1y-16yrs. When we arrived we were amazed both by the outstanding, rural peaceful location and the exceptional house. The facilities both inside and outside far exceeded out expectations. Eileen the house manager had left us gifts on arrival and even out all our food shopping delivery away, which we pre-ordered. The nearest shop is 5miles away along vey narrow lanes so 20min drive and there are no takeaway deliverys, however there is a pub 1mile away and food can be cooked for you in the house. We cooked most nights and had a bbq. We spent most of the time in the large garden with kids playing on trampoline, football, tree house and tennis court, it was perfect. The bedrooms was very large and comfortable with all ensuites. Everything you need was there, it really is a gem of a place and will most definitely be returning. Thanks very much for a fabulous stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review, and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and that you had good weather , I look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra P
Rafz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Party Venue!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just had yet another fabulous family celebration weekend and a party at stunning Batchcott Hall. The property is perfect for large groups, and certainly lends itself to a good party!

We even had a small marquee out on the terrace (very useful with the changeable weather), and Eileen, the House Manager, as always couldn't do enough for us. The house is as beautifully kept as ever and made the perfect base for our long weekend.

The views from the gardens across to the Wrekin and the Shropshire Hills are always a delight, whatever the weather, and we even had the benefit of a double rainbow!

All our family and friends loved staying or visiting, and we've all got our heads together already, trying to think of another reason to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, warm welcome, comfort of furnishings/beds, high end bathrooms
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Sandra for those kind words, you are a perfect party planner and you and Team Batchcott are always welcome for a return visit even just to relax!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing