We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Super overnight stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a one might stop over for business booked relatively late at a very reasonable rate of GBP81 for B&B in a single room. A friendly greeting at reception was followed by an unrequested upgrade to an executive room which was most spacious and had a a very comfortable bed. Wifi had only recently been made available throughout the hotel on a free basis - the signal was good and strong in the room despite it being far away from the central reception area. I had a very good meal in the restaurant which was busy for mid-week (consequently the dining room staff were rushing around and seemed to be a little short handed, but were very attentive - Mike deserves a special mention as he was fast efficient and very friendly to all his clients). The restaurant accepts Gourmet Card so a 25% reduction was provided on the food bill and a GBP10 reduction was applied at check out as part of a promotion. So I got DBB (3 courses + a glass of wine) for a little over GBP100. Will be back.

Room Tip: Room 229 was most comfortable. Mobile phone reception is patchy in the hotel though - apparently bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear JMH,
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to read you took full advantage of our complimentary WI-fi and enjoyed your dining experience.
I will pass on your comments to Mike and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    579
    266
    86
    55
See reviews for
399
822
20
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My Sister and I have visited Craxton Wood on 2 previous occasions and once again we weren't disappointed. We had booked a classic twin room for 2 nights bed and breakfast. On arrival our room was not quite ready so we were asked if we minded waiting in the conservatory where we were given complementary drinks. Once in our room we were greeted by a birthday card and chocolates for my Sisters birthday. The room was large and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable with clean white bedding. The bathroom was a little 'tired' but this was by no means a problem. We were booked in the Spa for 2 hours and the treatment we received was second to
none. The staff were brilliant and we cannot recommend them highly enough. Our evening meal in the restaurant was superb with one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. Service too was excellent.
Breakfast was delicious with a large choice on offer and even though it was busy, following a wedding party the previous evening, we did not feel rushed. Every member of staff was pleasant and went out of their was to make our stay enjoyable. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rosslyn,

It is fantastic to read about your experience at Craxton Wood. Thank you for your kind words about your stay and the team.
I hope to welcome you back tocelebrate again and again.

Kind regards,
Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I arranged a Spa Day at Craxton Wood, I was able to use the facilities and also has a lovely pedicure with Laura. I also had a snack and a lovely cappuccino. It was a lovely relaxing day and I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was an excellent location and a lot quieter than nearby cheaper hotels. However given the cost of the rooms they are starting to get a bit tired, when we arrived we were given a double room rather than the queen room we had paid for, also after an awful nights sleep the next night after the room had been serviced a mattress topper was now on the bed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tintin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights so we could explore chester and the local area. On approach you nearly miss the place because the signs are not lit up and many off the lights around the hotel are not working making it difficult to navigate car parking etc. The first night we had to endure loud music until one in the morning due to a wedding opposite. We changed rooms which improved our stay and a good nights sleep. We found the food both at breakfast and evening of a good standard and decent portions but there was no atmosphere in the bar area, maybe some light music might help. If we had not used our tesco points for this hotel we would have been disssapointed as its very average except for the very friendly staff. Cannot comment on the leisure facilities as we did not use them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (Friday) with my wife and two children. On arrival receptionist was very friendly and my wife informed her of her dairy intolerance,and asked if it would be possible to have some dairy free spread with breakfast to which we were told that wouldn't be a problem. Once in the room it was very spacious.and comfortable but did look a little tired not worth the rates they charge considering hotels close which we have stayed at close which have a far better standard of room. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were attending a family wedding but had booked for breakfast and upon arrival my wife informed the Maître'D of her request for dairy free spread. We were seated and she then informed that they had been to busy to sort out this request which I thought was a very poor excuse given they had plenty of notice to sort out this request. The high chair that was brought to us for my 7 month old son was disgusting looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. We both had the deluxe cooked breakfast which bland at best just no taste to it at all, black pudding was like rubber fried bread was awful and I've seen bigger cocktail sausages. All in all if you are planning to stay here I definitely recommend eating out there are lots of nice places close by.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel sits in nice grounds with grassed areas outside the restaurant and lounge which is lovely especially for families with young children. The rooms are a good size and the beds very comfortable. The pool is a nice size and again great for kids. Gym not bad. I liked the seating area by the pool and outside areas to enjoy a little fresh air. On the down side there was a mess up with my booking when we arrived, but this was sorted out. The shower screen in my room had a dodgy seal which meant the bathroom floor was flooded every time we took a shower which was unpleasant. This has obviously been a problem for a for a while as the bath panel was blackened. The evening meal and breakfast were average quality. Drinks typical hotel prices - £12.75 for a gin and tonic and a glass of sparkling wine. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay but probably would n't return.

Room Tip: Classic doubles are a good size and I think all the rooms looked over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly043Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#3 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing