We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable rooms, spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good comfortable rooms, spacious”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at MacDonald Craxton Manor for a business trip. The room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was also clean and large. Breakfast was very good and promptly served. Dinner only ok. Free Wifi service available from TheCloud.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mexic07, Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is very much appreciated. I will of course share your comments with the team. It is great to see you used our newly upgraded complimentary wifi. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    583
    271
    88
    56
See reviews for
402
832
20
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent a couple of days at Craxton Wood last week, and had a lovely time. the hotel is relaxed and friendly but also professional and efficient. Our room was clean and tidy, however we did have problems with a leaky shower, and a blocked plug by the time you finished showering you were standing in two inches of water (in the bath)! We used the spa facilities and found them to be good, the swimming pool was well managed with children in one side and adults in the other. I had a back massage which I would thoroughly recommend, it was lovely. The only downside to the whole break was the breakfast, having asked for poached egg and 'crispy' bacon on day one I received cold poached egg and not crisp bacon as I requested and on day two I ordered a boiled egg, my partner had a full English and we waited in excess of 40 minutes for this, and when it arrived my egg definitely wasn't 'softly' boiled. This wait did mean that packing and checking out was a bit rushed but overall we enjoyed our break and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Anne R,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about the friendly service provided by all. I am sorry to read about your breakfast experience as we pride ourselves in our service and offering especially at breakfast. It is great to read you enjoyed your pampering in the spa.
I will pass on your comments to all concerned. I look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Kay returned from a two night stay with my husband and little girl. We stayed with Tesco vouchers and we extremely pleased with the hotel. The room was great, just what we needed. The breakfast was fantastic. I would like to mention that the staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. I would like to say that Mario, the restaurant manager was amazing! He even had the high chair ready at our table waiting for us on our second morning. He was extremely accommodating. The location is the perfect location for Cheshire Oaks and Chester.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTLou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear KT Lou, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read about your FANTASTIC experience and I will share your comments with the team. It is great feedback about Mario and his team. We are a perfect location to relax but in easy reach of Liverpool or Chester.
We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We planned a couple of days to break our journey from South Wales to the north of Scotland. A bit surprised to find there was a big wedding on on a Monday,we were equally pleased that the layout of the rooms/function suite meant that we did not hear a thing and had a very peaceful time. Lovely location,usual standard of room of Macdonald,excellent breakfast and very helpful/friendly staff in all departments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_campbell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Alan, Thank you for your kind words. i am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel was average compared to others we have stayed at. Was nice enough for an overnight stay but not more than that.
Room we were given was 107 that was right in the corner and the staff couldnt help us locate it at first. Spacious room but that was a good as it got.
Bathroom was big but very old design and I found a large spider in the tub as soon as I walked in.
If we wanted robes or anything it was extra cost, late checkout by only 1 hr was an extra cost. Spa was in another building completely so you had to fully dress and walk in the rain and the spa wasnt the nicest at all, dirty showers and very average pool area.
Only stayed for the wedding we were attending otherwise dont plan another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahA786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank You for writing your review. Shortly we are looking at refurbishing several rooms in the original Manor house which will hopefully enhance the customer experience room 107 being one of them. We offer an executive package which in deed does offer robes and slippers and upgraded toiletries in certain executive rooms. I welcome your feedback for areas to focus upon and I will share with the team.

Kind regards

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a one might stop over for business booked relatively late at a very reasonable rate of GBP81 for B&B in a single room. A friendly greeting at reception was followed by an unrequested upgrade to an executive room which was most spacious and had a a very comfortable bed. Wifi had only recently been made available throughout the hotel on a free basis - the signal was good and strong in the room despite it being far away from the central reception area. I had a very good meal in the restaurant which was busy for mid-week (consequently the dining room staff were rushing around and seemed to be a little short handed, but were very attentive - Mike deserves a special mention as he was fast efficient and very friendly to all his clients). The restaurant accepts Gourmet Card so a 25% reduction was provided on the food bill and a GBP10 reduction was applied at check out as part of a promotion. So I got DBB (3 courses + a glass of wine) for a little over GBP100. Will be back.

Room Tip: Room 229 was most comfortable. Mobile phone reception is patchy in the hotel though - apparently bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear JMH,
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to read you took full advantage of our complimentary WI-fi and enjoyed your dining experience.
I will pass on your comments to Mike and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My Sister and I have visited Craxton Wood on 2 previous occasions and once again we weren't disappointed. We had booked a classic twin room for 2 nights bed and breakfast. On arrival our room was not quite ready so we were asked if we minded waiting in the conservatory where we were given complementary drinks. Once in our room we were greeted by a birthday card and chocolates for my Sisters birthday. The room was large and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable with clean white bedding. The bathroom was a little 'tired' but this was by no means a problem. We were booked in the Spa for 2 hours and the treatment we received was second to
none. The staff were brilliant and we cannot recommend them highly enough. Our evening meal in the restaurant was superb with one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. Service too was excellent.
Breakfast was delicious with a large choice on offer and even though it was busy, following a wedding party the previous evening, we did not feel rushed. Every member of staff was pleasant and went out of their was to make our stay enjoyable. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rosslyn,

It is fantastic to read about your experience at Craxton Wood. Thank you for your kind words about your stay and the team.
I hope to welcome you back tocelebrate again and again.

Kind regards,
Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,008 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing