We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Booked family room. King size bed and two singles in room. Good size. Lovely views from room. Breakfast was well presented and tasty. Only down side for children is the limited amount of time they are allowed to use the swimming pool. So by time we arrived was too late on the evening and only 9 - 11 on morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry you did not have time to use the pool on the evening of arrival. Hopefully next time you will be able to take full advantage.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    587
    276
    94
    62
See reviews for
407
847
20
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Very limited children's access times to the swimming pool. People turned up expecting spa treatments (as part of a weekend spa package) to be told that they were cancelled. Would have had a drink at the spa but £3.50 seems extortionate for a coffee given the setting. Poor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busybusybusybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Busybusy,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to unforseen illness on the day of two of the four therapists, we were unable to accomodate some of the bookings. Due to the specialised treatment and professional team it is not an area that we could just cover. Although we do not want to disappoint, on this occasion it was unavoidable.
We have set swimming times so all users of the pool can enjoy their time in the pool whether using it for Leisure/Spa or with the Children.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the new spa refurbishment being open in July with a new lounge and 12 treatment rooms.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

After staying at this hotel we were left unimpressed. The room we were given had substantial noise from the bar, the bathroom was tatty and unclean with thick hair in the plug hole. The shower went from red hot to freezing cold from second to second, after broaching this with the receptionist a young bar tender was sent to our room to investigate the issue, he then approached us in the bar to inform me that the shower was fine and to tell me maybe I'd worked it incorrectly. After assuring him I was more than capable of working a shower he rudely continued to tell me that some people get confused. I felt it highly unprofessional that this barman had been sent to my room to begin with as he clearly was not maintenance and even worse that he was making out I was stupid and persisting in arguing with me over it. Upon visiting the pool and spa the following day we were further disappointed with the shabbiness of this so called four star hotel. There was grime and hairs in the changing room and shower area. The steam room smelt strongly of mold and damp and was scruffily cemented over were tiles had broken off. One side of windows in the pool were white washed out and the other side boasted a view of some sort of work and work men's signs. A trip to butli so came to mind. Disappointed in all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fizzy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Fizzy,
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent experience at Craxton Wood. I will certainly look at the shower with the maintenance team in repair any faults.
We are currently undergoing refurbishment work to extend the spa, refrubish the lounge and pool area and I apologise for our appearance at this time. We cannot wait to unveil our new Spa and Lounge in June/July. Once agian thank you for your review and I will use it to follow up with your points were we fell short and learn form your experience

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great bed, and the size of the room was excellent for the little one crawl around in. Breakfast was fantastic, great selection. Reception staff are very nice and professional.

Slightly dated, decor needs to be freshened up. Pet peeve of mine - not all the TV channels worked

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you for leaving a review and your comments. It was great to read your feedback on your stay and you had a fantastic breakfast. We have recently refurbished 10 rooms and looking to refurbish the rest over the coming year. I will get maintenance to check all the channels on the TV;s.

We look forward to welcoimng you back soon

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday on a 2 night dinner, bed & breakfast package and were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel! When we first arrived our room wasn't ready so we were ushered through to the bar and given a complimentary drink. Our room was large and very nicely decorated with a lovely view of the gardens and despite the hotel being fairly busy on the first night due to a wedding we did not feel disturbed in the slightest. The spa was lovely - ok a jacuzzi is needed and would make it perfect - but overall it was very pleasant. Our evening meals were delicious, particularly the starters and pudding, and the breakfast was unbelievable - 10/10 - possibly the best hotel breakfast I have ever had due to the choice on offer and the obvious quality of ingredients! As it was my birthday there were chocs and a card in our room on arrival and we were also given a glass of prosecco on the house plus candles in my pudding at dinner one evening which was a lovely touch! We would definitely come back to this hotel as the service was excellent and it is also in a great location close to Chester and the large outlet shopping centre!! Well done and thank you to you all!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frannie1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Frannie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your fantastic feedback and that you had an enjoyable birthday. Also you enjoyed our great breakfast. I hope you did not spend to much at nearby The designer outlet... We hope to welcome you back soon.

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I book a spa day here online. The package included use of the facilities, Bento lunchbox, Green Tea Mud Wrap treatment for 1 hour. We have booked spa breaks at the MacDonalds Hotel in Tarporley and always had a very enjoyable day, but foolishly we decided to have a change. The staff didn't seem to know anything about the Spa day we were booked on. We were told that we couldn't have the Bento lunchbox and asked to pick a salad from the menu instead (the price on the menu was £12.00, which was ridiculous for some lettuce, torn up bread, a few chopped tomatoes and two slices of chicken). When we asked the staff more about the menu option eg. What is a Cobb Salad? We were told 'I don't know' with no offer to find out until we pressed further. We then were collected for our treatment and shown into a double spa room, with the treatment beds next to each other. The assumption was made that my friend and I would be happy to share the room, get stark naked with only a paper thong to wear, be covered in mud and then have to shower it off in front of each other. When we questioned this we were told 'this is the only room available'. We had booked an additional treatment each, I had booked a 1 hour 15 minute facial and my friend a 1 hour facial. When we spoke to the staff about the treatments finishing at different times we were told 'no they don't, they are both 1 hour long'. I was given a 'Modern Facial' when I had booked a 'Visible Brilliance Facial'. When we queried this and showed the staff the emails on our phone with the facial clearly stated as 'Visible Brilliance' the response was 'that's not what we have on our computer! I asked to see the manager and was told they weren't in until Tuesday but she would ring me. surprise, surprise still waiting for the phone call. Very poor, staff apathetic, treatment staff were good but the rest off the issues really spoilt the enjoyment of our annual treat. Tea and coffee included in the price at Tarporley but we had to pay here. After spending £80 on the offer and an additional £50 on treatments I didn't want, I would not recommend at all!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed with my sister over New Year 2013/2014 and we shared a reasonably spacious twin room. We enjoyed our stay but there were so many little things which let this hotel down.

On the good side, the room itself and the bathroom were a decent size. The breakfast was good, with plenty of variety and the cooked breakfast was always nicely cooked and presented. We took advantage of the spa facilities and had a very nice massage each for a reasonable price, however, the cappuccino I ordered to relax with after my massage was undrinkable. Unfortunately we didn't get chance to use the pool but it did look very inviting.

The New Year's Eve party was good too, including the room decoration, with an absolutely stunning main course. The other courses were average / good and we thought the addition of a glass of bubbly as part of the meal would have made it so much more special.

In contrast we felt the restaurant was sadly lacking; with extremely slow - verging on bad - service from the waitress; and very mediocre food. The head waiter was, however, helpful, friendly and extremely efficient.

Our room, whilst it was tidied every day, was not cleaned properly; sheets were pulled up over the bed roughly, glasses left unwashed and some days bins not emptied. The radiator worked nicely though and we had a nice view of the beautiful gardens.

The bathroom had an empty tissue box which we left on the floor and was just picked up and replaced by the washbasin each day - without the addition of issues! We were also left only very cheap shampoo and shower gel, and even that only on the first day - after that we had to ask each day for more. There was just one small bottle of each, despite our booking being for 2 people in the room. There was no conditioner or body lotion (but we did see much nicer looking toiletries on the cleaners' trolley - sadly on the day we were leaving or we would have asked specifically for these).

Sadly our shower did not produce any hot water. And, yes, we should have reported this on day 1, but surely this is something the cleaners should check regularly. It wasn't too much of an inconvenience as we both enjoy taking baths, but really is a basic necessity in a hotel of this supposed caliber. We did report this as we left and the kind receptionist apologised and said she would immediately have someone look at the problem.

The general cleanliness of the hotel wasn't too bad apart from the blue plastic bags littered along the corridor floors at odd intervals.

One particular annoyance was that on our last full day at the hotel (the day before our check-out date) we had several phone calls from one of the receptionists asking when we were checking out. Twice we had to explain that we were not checking out till the next day. On arrival back at the hotel, the other receptionist was also baffled by this as she looked up our reservation and said that it clearly stated our check-out date as the following day.

All in all it wasn't a bad stay, but not the luxury we'd hoped for on our New Year's treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear badiabranca,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your points raised I will use them to improve our service and attention to detail.

It is good to read you enjoyed your stay over New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,022 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing