We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights at feb half term. I had read some of the reviews about the staff and so was a little bit unsure of what to expect. But I can tell you the staff are fantastic especially Alison on reception who booked us in on the phone and who was there when we arrived. What a really nice lady and nothing was too much trouble. In fact all the staff were great from the dining room staff to David in the cocktail bar to all the staff at Breakfast. The food was amazing we had the market place menu on an evening which was excellent value and a great choice . We fell in love with the black pudding it was to die for. Our room was amazing we booked a king size room and it was massive especially the bed!! We had great views from our room and it was lovely watching the squirrels running around. We also used the spa facilities which were excellent and staff very pleasant. All in all a great break and will be definitely returing thankyou craxton wood we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,383 - 1,389 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed one night for our anniversary treat. First impressions of hotel were excellent....long driveway ensures away from traffic noise set back in lovely grounds with squirrels roaming feely and lots of birds too. Very friendly greeting by Chris on reception. Reservations gave us wrong info about room so we were shown to a room which did not match our requirements. However one phone call to Chris on reception and we were moved to another room which was perfect for us with sincere apologies and help moving bags etc. Dinner was served in the conservatory which overlooked gardens which were very well kept. As a delightfulbsurprise we were presented with a glass of sparkling wine each for our anniversary which was a lovely gesture !! Dinner was superbly cooked and they kindly agreed to do something from room service menu rather than evening menu for me. Dessert was fantastic....creme brulee .....gorgeous twist with banana and a cookie ! Waiters were very attentive without seeming intrusive. Breakfast was also delicious however staff excellence was let down with maitre de, gent with European accent, not allowing us a window seat as "they were setting them up for lunch" .At 10am !! This seemed very poor service as there were still people eating in that area even after we had finished our breakfast and the tables weren't even then set for lunch ! Seemed a pointless rule which spoilt my experience of the hotel a little I'm afraid and I think this ruling should be reconsidered for the sake of good customer relations. Pool was lovely perfect temperature and good changing facilities however no Jacuzzi which spoilt the experience a little for us. Perhaps this facility could be considered to add a little more luxury to the leisure complex ?? Requested a late check out however housekeeping not informed and entered room before we checked out !! All in all I would recommend this hotel especially for the staff who mostly were friendly and again mostly went the extra mile to help. Chris on reception A definite assert to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother with feature room not worth extra...executive double better value and overlooking g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Decided last minute to go away, searched round and glad we found this place. Lovely and clean. Staff extremely helpful. Good value for money. Excellent location. My husband (a Chef) was pleasantly surprised with our evening meal. Good choice of wines.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sue,
Thank you for your recent review. It was wonderful feedback that I will share with the team and glad to read your husband got a night off.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Booked family room. King size bed and two singles in room. Good size. Lovely views from room. Breakfast was well presented and tasty. Only down side for children is the limited amount of time they are allowed to use the swimming pool. So by time we arrived was too late on the evening and only 9 - 11 on morning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry you did not have time to use the pool on the evening of arrival. Hopefully next time you will be able to take full advantage.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Very limited children's access times to the swimming pool. People turned up expecting spa treatments (as part of a weekend spa package) to be told that they were cancelled. Would have had a drink at the spa but £3.50 seems extortionate for a coffee given the setting. Poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Busybusybusybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Busybusy,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to unforseen illness on the day of two of the four therapists, we were unable to accomodate some of the bookings. Due to the specialised treatment and professional team it is not an area that we could just cover. Although we do not want to disappoint, on this occasion it was unavoidable.
We have set swimming times so all users of the pool can enjoy their time in the pool whether using it for Leisure/Spa or with the Children.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the new spa refurbishment being open in July with a new lounge and 12 treatment rooms.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After staying at this hotel we were left unimpressed. The room we were given had substantial noise from the bar, the bathroom was tatty and unclean with thick hair in the plug hole. The shower went from red hot to freezing cold from second to second, after broaching this with the receptionist a young bar tender was sent to our room to investigate the issue, he then approached us in the bar to inform me that the shower was fine and to tell me maybe I'd worked it incorrectly. After assuring him I was more than capable of working a shower he rudely continued to tell me that some people get confused. I felt it highly unprofessional that this barman had been sent to my room to begin with as he clearly was not maintenance and even worse that he was making out I was stupid and persisting in arguing with me over it. Upon visiting the pool and spa the following day we were further disappointed with the shabbiness of this so called four star hotel. There was grime and hairs in the changing room and shower area. The steam room smelt strongly of mold and damp and was scruffily cemented over were tiles had broken off. One side of windows in the pool were white washed out and the other side boasted a view of some sort of work and work men's signs. A trip to butli so came to mind. Disappointed in all.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fizzy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Fizzy,
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent experience at Craxton Wood. I will certainly look at the shower with the maintenance team in repair any faults.
We are currently undergoing refurbishment work to extend the spa, refrubish the lounge and pool area and I apologise for our appearance at this time. We cannot wait to unveil our new Spa and Lounge in June/July. Once agian thank you for your review and I will use it to follow up with your points were we fell short and learn form your experience

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great bed, and the size of the room was excellent for the little one crawl around in. Breakfast was fantastic, great selection. Reception staff are very nice and professional.

Slightly dated, decor needs to be freshened up. Pet peeve of mine - not all the TV channels worked

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Frank,

Thank you for leaving a review and your comments. It was great to read your feedback on your stay and you had a fantastic breakfast. We have recently refurbished 10 rooms and looking to refurbish the rest over the coming year. I will get maintenance to check all the channels on the TV;s.

We look forward to welcoimng you back soon

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
796 reviews
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,359 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range: £77 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing