We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break away”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here at the Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel for a night on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We upgraded to an executive room as its not very often we get away just the two of us. Our room was very spacious with a huge bed and lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries.
We used the spa and each had a treatment which were fantastic, we also used the pool which was a lovely temperature and didn't get too busy when we were there.
Dinner was fantastic, a good choice and it was delicious. Breakfast was also lovely and the service was good.
Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Derry99,

Thank you for your review. Great to read you had arelaxing time and enjoyed the pool facilities as well as making the most of our two rosette restaurant and breakfast selection.

We look forward to you taking time out with us again and relaxing. See you soon.

Kind regards,
Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    579
    266
    86
    55
See reviews for
399
823
20
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. We stayed with our 18 month old little boy. The room we had was spacious and a cot was provided for us. We had a lovely view over the grounds.
The pool was lovely but a but disappointed that we were only allowed to use a small section and there were private lessons going on on that section too so we felt a little in the way.
Breakfast was delicious.
We were made very welcome and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsPtoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mrs PtoB,

Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to read about your recent stay with us.Also that you enjoyed breakfast and the selection. I will share your review with the team.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I would like to put in writing, some positive feedback, after my Spa Experience on the 19th April at the Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel in Chester.

This trip was booked as a special birthday/pre pregnancy treat for myself, and also a gift to my sister who is emigrating in 2 weeks.

Upon arriving, we were immediately seen to, given the relevant forms to fill in and the opportunity to order lunch. The surroundings were comfortable and relaxing as we were shown around the facilities. We were even treated to a mini Lindt chocolate bunny which was waiting in our lockers with dressing gowns & slippers! (nice touch)

The pool was a perfect temperature and we relished being able to lie on sun loungers by the side whilst occasionally taking a swim – it helped that it was gloriously sunny that day – but it really added to the sense of relaxation and being on holiday.

The Bento Box lunch was tasty and my sister and I agreed that the treatments were the most relaxing we have ever had in a Spa.

Much praise goes to the ladies who showed us round and completed our treatments, as they were so polite, helpful, and fantastic at their job. They are an absolute credit to the company, and it is mostly down to them that I have made the decision to book again.

Cannot say enough positive things about this place and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLICKSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Flickstar,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to read of your experience at the Spa and you enjoyed with your sister a relaxing afternoon.

I will share your review with the team and I am sure they will be thrilled with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back when our new spa opens. Congratulations on your pregnancy.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was a great size for a family of 4. Good to have single beds for the children rather than a pull out/sofa bed. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We stayed for 4 nights and every day the breakfast was fresh and tasty with excellent service from the staff. The location was perfect we visited Chester, Liverpool and LLandudno. Parkgate up the road was worth a visit too.
The only downside to this hotel were the times allocated for children to swim. Very limited.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Gme1

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read you had a fabulous time during your 4 day stay and enjoyed the central location to visit Liverpool and Chester etc.

Glad to read you managed to find time to sample our great breakfast and enjoyed the pool with the children.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent a weekend at this hotel with husband and kids on a 'spring break' offer. The lady on reception was very welcoming and efficient and we were allocated a family room. The room itself was very quiet and overlooked the back of the hotel, it was very spacious and had a double and 2 decent single beds, which is a nice change from all being crammed into a small room with the kids sleeping on a sofa bed. There was a lovely big, well maintained bathroom with toiletries should you be one of those who doesn't bring their own, and plenty of quality towels.

The hotel has a leisure facility so after dumping our bags we headed down there for a swim. The pool wasn't the biggest but apart from a bunch of women on a hen weekend we pretty much had it to ourselves. There are some tired areas but from the plans on display it looks like they are in the process of a revamp.

We ate dinner in the hotel that night as part of our package but found the restaurant and food not to our taste. The menu is dated and expensive, which I would say is pretty typical of hotel dining. The food was distinctly average - tasteless fish and overcooked steak. The only people eating there must be on similar packages as you certainly wouldn't choose the place as a dining destination! Had I been paying the prices quoted on the menu I'd have been very upset!

Breakfast the morning after was a totally different experience. We were seated in the conservatory overlooking the gardens at the back of the hotel. The food offering was great with a huge selection of continental items, breads, cereals, yoghurt, juices and fruit. There was also a good selection of hot items and everything was of excellent quality and perfectly cooked and presented. Staff were very attentive and there was a good supply of tea and coffee and toast.

In all this is a nice hotel, I'd say it attracts lots of weddings and other functions but it was very convenient for trips into Chester, the zoo and of course Cheshire Oaks, which is just down the road.

Recommended if you are looking for a place in the area and a nice change from some of the other chains.

Room Tip: I don't think you'd get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Travellersonline,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read you took full advantage of a spring break and enjoyed the Leisure facilities available at the hotel. We have several family rooms which cater for up to four people sharing with a double and two singles rather than pull out beds. Much more comfy and a sound nights sleep.

We change our A la carte menu quarterly and Market menu daily in the restaurant so disappointed to read of your experience. Although you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and the selection available with great service from the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose this hotel over the city centre Macdonalds as we felt it would be quieter and it did not disappoint. Our room 228 overlooked the back of the hotel and was a very quiet good sized room. A slight glitch when we arrived as twin beds had been requested but this was quickly sorted out. We were disappointed with the set menu which at 23.95 for 2 courses was a bit overpriced given the choices available which we felt were dishes you would get in an average pub for half the price. The fish pie was excellent but my friend had the risotto and was not impressed. The second night we decided to go for the a la carte menu and it was well worth the extra cost, lovely salmon mousse to start and the lamb was to die for so we felt the extra cost of £6 was well worth it. Breakfast was excellent and the black pudding voted the best ever! All the staff were very pleasant and efficient - we felt the only area for improvement was probably housekeeping which seemed to be carried out by anyone who was available rather than set staff. The beds were not well made - double duvet covers on single duvets, the shower leaked and some of our towels were soaked and not changed but all in all a very nice weekend. £14 each way in a taxi into Chester was probably the same as it would have cost us to park in the City centre hotel so we were very happy with our choice. We did not use the Spa facilities which was due to lack of time, we tried to book a massage late Saturday afternoon but no appointments left but that was our fault for not booking in advance!!

Room Tip: Room 228 overlooking the back with woodland areas was very pleasant and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Cimscate,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Some great comments on the hotel and the team and it is great to read you enjoyed the food. I will be sure to pick up your points with housekeeping. Lovely to read you took advantage of our location and took a taxi in so you could relax in Chester. Hopefully next time you return you will be able to take advantage of the newly refurbished Spa opening in June.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend at Craxton Wood Hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms and general cleanliness. ..especially after reading some of the reviews here. I absolutely loved it (and I am not one to gush over mediocrity). We had a pleasant stay which was only slightly marred by the very rude young blond lady who served us breakfast on the Saturday morning....may I suggest a refresher course in customer services for the young lady? Apart from that slight annoyance. ..pretty good stay, brilliant food and the gentleman who served us our dinner more than made up for the rudeness in the morning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank missteeheehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Miss Tee Hee Hee
Thank you for leaving us a review. It is great to read you enjoyed the food and the service. I will take your feedback on board and share with the team.
Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing