We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a three night long weekend break as it was the central point for meeting friends from the north and south and the B&B offer looked very good value. The hotel offers spa breaks and these were obviously very popular and it was evident there were a lot of "girl" groups booked in. We didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment on them.

Alison on reception was a delight, she remembered my booking and the problem we had in identifying our particular offer which included a complimentary cream tea. Suffice to say the cream tea was provided and it was very good.

The hotel has large grounds and there is building work underway in the spa area but this did not impact on us and there was no noise or disturbance. We had booked standard rooms and these were very comfortable, clean and fitted out with what is now expected in the way of toiletries etc.

We had dinner in the main restaurant for the first two nights, the choice was limited and didn't change other than for the soup of the day and a fish special. It is not a cheap menu and three courses was about £35 a head. The food was good without being exceptional but the service from the waiting staff and the maître de was exemplary. This standard of service was maintained throughout our stay and the breakfast which thankfully was a serve yourself starter but a a la carte main course was excellent. The poached eggs were perfectly cooked and the bacon was as ordered. One small point to highlight the excellent service, one of our party can only eat gluten free bread and was provided with her own toast to order - congratulations to the staff for such service.

The hotel is about 7 miles outside of Chester and reception arranged taxis to take us there and back.

To be honest there's little about the hotel to distinguish it from other 4* hotels, it has the same bland bedroom set up as they all seem to have. And why do hotel rooms have to be so dark? They never seem to have ceiling lighting! BUT what makes the difference here are the staff. This was our first stay in a Macdonalds hotel and they seem to have service nailed. The staff all, including the cleaners, greeted you with a cheery good morning/afternoon. The reception, bar and restaurant staff were polite, cheerful and accommodating. They made the difference between an OK hotel and a very good one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinGBucksEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I went to the hotel for lunch at the hotel the food was very bland and dry, the burger burger bun was stale the burger very dry, the gravy on sausage and mash was cold, the ham and chips, the ham was dry on the ends and was very bland no taste , it took 30 minutes from time of order to food arriving, there were only 3 tables with people on , so not busy. Drinks , we asked for ice and lime cordial which didn't arrive for 15 minutes . Sorry Craxton Wood but we will not be returning .,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank rowl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked a room for my son as part of his 18th birthday present - upon arrival he was told they had switched his room due to a wedding, not because somebody else wanted the room as he initially thought but because they thought it would be too noisy as the wedding reception was directly below which I thought was very considerate. The hotel was lovely as was the room, he chose room service for his breakfast which arrived on time and was lovely. This was all topped of with the polite and friendly service of the staff - thank you for making his 18th special

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sandra,

It is lovely to read your son had a great night away on his special occasion and we looked after him with some great customer care. Also that he enjoyed the room service breakfast.

Hopefully we can welcome him back for his 21st...

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here at the Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel for a night on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We upgraded to an executive room as its not very often we get away just the two of us. Our room was very spacious with a huge bed and lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries.
We used the spa and each had a treatment which were fantastic, we also used the pool which was a lovely temperature and didn't get too busy when we were there.
Dinner was fantastic, a good choice and it was delicious. Breakfast was also lovely and the service was good.
Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Derry99,

Thank you for your review. Great to read you had arelaxing time and enjoyed the pool facilities as well as making the most of our two rosette restaurant and breakfast selection.

We look forward to you taking time out with us again and relaxing. See you soon.

Kind regards,
Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. We stayed with our 18 month old little boy. The room we had was spacious and a cot was provided for us. We had a lovely view over the grounds.
The pool was lovely but a but disappointed that we were only allowed to use a small section and there were private lessons going on on that section too so we felt a little in the way.
Breakfast was delicious.
We were made very welcome and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank MrsPtoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mrs PtoB,

Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to read about your recent stay with us.Also that you enjoyed breakfast and the selection. I will share your review with the team.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I would like to put in writing, some positive feedback, after my Spa Experience on the 19th April at the Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel in Chester.

This trip was booked as a special birthday/pre pregnancy treat for myself, and also a gift to my sister who is emigrating in 2 weeks.

Upon arriving, we were immediately seen to, given the relevant forms to fill in and the opportunity to order lunch. The surroundings were comfortable and relaxing as we were shown around the facilities. We were even treated to a mini Lindt chocolate bunny which was waiting in our lockers with dressing gowns & slippers! (nice touch)

The pool was a perfect temperature and we relished being able to lie on sun loungers by the side whilst occasionally taking a swim – it helped that it was gloriously sunny that day – but it really added to the sense of relaxation and being on holiday.

The Bento Box lunch was tasty and my sister and I agreed that the treatments were the most relaxing we have ever had in a Spa.

Much praise goes to the ladies who showed us round and completed our treatments, as they were so polite, helpful, and fantastic at their job. They are an absolute credit to the company, and it is mostly down to them that I have made the decision to book again.

Cannot say enough positive things about this place and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLICKSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Flickstar,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to read of your experience at the Spa and you enjoyed with your sister a relaxing afternoon.

I will share your review with the team and I am sure they will be thrilled with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back when our new spa opens. Congratulations on your pregnancy.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was a great size for a family of 4. Good to have single beds for the children rather than a pull out/sofa bed. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We stayed for 4 nights and every day the breakfast was fresh and tasty with excellent service from the staff. The location was perfect we visited Chester, Liverpool and LLandudno. Parkgate up the road was worth a visit too.
The only downside to this hotel were the times allocated for children to swim. Very limited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Gme1

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read you had a fabulous time during your 4 day stay and enjoyed the central location to visit Liverpool and Chester etc.

Glad to read you managed to find time to sample our great breakfast and enjoyed the pool with the children.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
793 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range: £73 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing