We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, relaxing, perfect stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, perfect stay! ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this lovely Macdonald's hotel whilst taking a short break to Chester. Staff were extremely polite & helpful, the spa was a lovely treat, our room was perfect and both our evening meal & breakfast was delicious! Looking forward to our next stay at the Macdonald's a Hotels already!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    578
    266
    85
    55
See reviews for
399
820
20
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From arrival this tranquil looking place made us feel welcome. From checking in to departure we found the staff very helpful. The rooms are superb, large, with all comforts, chairs, settee, tea making facilities. The TV set up included most channels and even a speaker in the bathroom, although that caught us out at first. The breakfasts were well prepared and tasty.We did not eat at other times. The gardens were attractive and pleasant to walk in. Access from the road was good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the original building on ground floor. Very quiet with views from the patio onto the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanguard917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just had the one night there and that was enough. Felt as though it was there for business people passing through. Our room was also 'standard' with no "ooh" at all when we went inside. There was a fair walk to the bar/restaurant but we took a short cut through a fire door.
Into the restaurant and we were sat at a table facing into the room so we asked it be reset so we looked out onto the lawn. Others followed. What an odd setup!
The meal was acceptable but main the criticism was the waiter who kept prowling around seeking reassurance at every opportunity "is everything alright". Yes, go away!
So much could be made of the rear garden but then that would require maintenance, that requires funding which right now should be spent on the rooms.
Slept really well though and breakfast was good and fuelled us for a walk on the Sandstone way.

Room Tip: Haven't got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a tour of North Wales and Ireland. The hotel seemed to have that touch of luxury to indulge ourselves at the start of our holiday. The hotel was almost empty but we were given a room that was miles from all facilities. The spa and pool were closed but we had not been advised this when we booked. (The information was available if you trawled through the webiste)
Staff were not interested. Food average.
If you want to stay in a MacDonald hotel, the Portal is just the other side of Chester and in my opinion is a much better hotel for similar money and it has a golf course.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MickeyBlue-Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a tired and frankly charmless hotel that is in dire need of the refit that it is undergoing. My room had a sofa in it that was literally broken, the carpet need a good clean and it just all felt pretty grotty. The bed however was big and comfy. The food was fine, and served with friendly efficiency. Very limited wine list. I can't review the spa as it was shut! The bar when we were there was full and hopelessly under-staffed. We waited 10 minutes for a drink, served by rather stressed-out staff.
However this is not an expensive hotel and frankly when you look at the cost (about £120 b&b), it is probably good value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked with friend to enjoy a spa break and had a really lovely time. Very comfortable bar and lounge with spacious conservatory over looking the beautifully landscaped gardens. Staff were friendly, attentive and happy to help with local knowledge and advice for our shopping trip the next day. Both enjoyed a wonderful massage and was good value. Great restaurant for dinner and food and service was of a very high standard. Apparently the Macdonald breakfast, we were told, is something they pride themselves on. I can confirm that this is well founded and perfectly cooked to order. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens at the rear of the hotel are particularly nice but due to rural settin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in the area and this hotel was an ideal base. There was plenty of space to leave the car.

We arrived a bit flustered as we had been stuck in traffic on the motorway, but thankfully even though it wasn't yet 3pm our room was ready (our friends had phoned ahead explaining our visit). The team on the front desk was efficient and ordered us a taxi too.

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and we were very comfortably. I have a very sweet tooth and one wee criticism would be that despite there being two of us in a double room there was only one biscuit at the tea and coffee station. The choice of teas was a little limited, but these wee details didn't spoil our visit.

The shower was excellent but another wee criticism would be the toiletries hadn't been topped up, so there was no shower gel for us to use.

In the morning the team was very helpful down in the breakfast bar. A couple of our friends were a bit late in coming down (owing to a great wedding party the night before!) but the team was very accommodating. The choice of breakfasts was brilliant, but it was a bit of a shame that some of the not obviously more expensive options had a supplement in addition to the bed and breakfast rate.

Room Tip: Book ahead and look online on the hotel's website for a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing