We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked afternoon tea for my daughter and myself, only to find there was a large conference for Royal Mail taking place when I arrived in the car park a young man in Macdonald livery banged on my car roof and was very rude to me - I am still waiting for an apology from the general manager 2weeks later, I drove around 3 times a nice car park attendant allocated me a car park space and he was ver pleasant but by this time I was very frustrated and annoyed. We waited half an hour for our food to arrive even though I had pre-booked I think this was possibly down to the conference as the food lacked the usual finesse. I must congratulate the very pleasant bar/waiter who brought us a Fresh pot of tea to have with our food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry I was unaware of the incident with the young man in the car park and please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel and myself for the reception you received. I have shared your comments with the Head Chef who is disapointed that we have not achievied our normally high standards. I am sorry there was a delay on your food. We make all our items from fresh and this sometimes take a little longer to prepare. Never the less I have shared your comments with the team and take your them on board to realise our mistakes and areas to improve our service.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    581
    268
    87
    56
See reviews for
401
826
20
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked a stay and dine package at the hotel. 1st room extremely dusty and not up to what You would expect. 2nd room fine. Excellent food, superb service from staff at dinner and free drink as it was my birthday! Waiter at breakfast rather slow taking our cooked breakfast order and we sat for quite some time, seemed to be extremely interested in other guests! When breakfast eventually arrived it was fabulous, tasty and not swimming in fat -lovely! As we had such a lovely meal we will try Craxton Wood again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwyliauambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear gwyliauambyth,
Thank you for your comments. Great to read you enjoyed the food in our Craxton Wood Grill Restaurant and you had an enjoyable birthday. We hope to welcome you back soon and you get an oppoprtunity to vist our newly opended Spa.

kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd stay at the craxton wood hotel and was great as always. Would like to say how impressed I was with the latest refurbishment to the spa side. Looks very impressive only negatives is still no jacuzzi and sadly no clock to be able to keep an eye on time's, which to us was important as children can only swim between selected times even if you are a guest of the hotel. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Loved the fact we ordered 2 latte but they brought 3 biscuits as they noticed we had a toddler with us. We'll done keep up with the friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK1NG, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mel K
Thank you for your review. Great to read you are regular visitors and you enjoyed the new spa. Good feedback on the team and their customer service. I will share your comments with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this lovely Macdonald's hotel whilst taking a short break to Chester. Staff were extremely polite & helpful, the spa was a lovely treat, our room was perfect and both our evening meal & breakfast was delicious! Looking forward to our next stay at the Macdonald's a Hotels already!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From arrival this tranquil looking place made us feel welcome. From checking in to departure we found the staff very helpful. The rooms are superb, large, with all comforts, chairs, settee, tea making facilities. The TV set up included most channels and even a speaker in the bathroom, although that caught us out at first. The breakfasts were well prepared and tasty.We did not eat at other times. The gardens were attractive and pleasant to walk in. Access from the road was good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the original building on ground floor. Very quiet with views from the patio onto the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanguard917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just had the one night there and that was enough. Felt as though it was there for business people passing through. Our room was also 'standard' with no "ooh" at all when we went inside. There was a fair walk to the bar/restaurant but we took a short cut through a fire door.
Into the restaurant and we were sat at a table facing into the room so we asked it be reset so we looked out onto the lawn. Others followed. What an odd setup!
The meal was acceptable but main the criticism was the waiter who kept prowling around seeking reassurance at every opportunity "is everything alright". Yes, go away!
So much could be made of the rear garden but then that would require maintenance, that requires funding which right now should be spent on the rooms.
Slept really well though and breakfast was good and fuelled us for a walk on the Sandstone way.

Room Tip: Haven't got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a tour of North Wales and Ireland. The hotel seemed to have that touch of luxury to indulge ourselves at the start of our holiday. The hotel was almost empty but we were given a room that was miles from all facilities. The spa and pool were closed but we had not been advised this when we booked. (The information was available if you trawled through the webiste)
Staff were not interested. Food average.
If you want to stay in a MacDonald hotel, the Portal is just the other side of Chester and in my opinion is a much better hotel for similar money and it has a golf course.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MickeyBlue-Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing