We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downton Abbey Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inglewood Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Arrived 12.15 slightly early as wedding started at 2pm. The outside had a tudor look to it and inside I believe Edwardian. Lovely big open fire place and high ceilings and an elegant feel with cosy sofas. We asked if our room was ready as it does say rooms from 2pm and to our delight it was. I think we had a twin room number 18. The room was lush. The bed felt comfortable and the scenery looking through the window enchanting. We got changed for the wedding, the room felt a little hot but the standing fan worked efficiently.
Downstairs I ordered a sandwich as we were not due to eat until 4pm and a little pricey at £8 but worth the treat. The staff are friendly and nothing seems too much trouble.
The wedding room was nice and the bride with her big smile would enhance any such room. It was a civil service not too long or short. The light refreshment after were a surprise and plenty of choice.
The reception room was also lovely and the table layout nicely presented. The meal again was appertizing and we all had a chuckle on our table with the bird cages and perhaps the wine helped too.
Later we popped up to change for the evening do but not long as my friend suggested as she didn't wish to miss anything. The dj was good plenty of variety of music and he did help make the special couple enjoy themselves and encourage the guests to dance too.
The food again was sufficient I had eaten enough really but those bacon buttys were hard to resist trying one and a couple of chips. The sausage ones also looked nice and desserts.
I had a cosy night sleep and it was a treat to have a tv in the bedroom and no kids to change the channel. Good job the fan was working!
Next day I had a shower and I do like their bathrooms. Breakfast was from 8 and I was glad as I wish to depart promptly for the rugby match in Wrexham.
Whilst I was waiting for my friend to finish off the receptionist or manager went on to tell me about the history and how alot of people whom have met there went on and got married at the venue. I secretly hoped my friend may of met someone special too but I am not sure how that has worked out. Shame as I can't help but feel the magic here as the place feels full of charm, character and romance just like watching Downton Abbey.
Next time I hope to go there with my family and enjoy the lovley grounds they have and I believe my partner would like the course fishing. A treat perhaps or they do lovely afternoon teas that I must try soon.

Room Tip: I heard they have a double room called cosy sound interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Carol J
What a wonderful revue! Sounds like you and your friend had a lovely time - I love your description of the hotel as having 'magic, charm, character and romance'.
Do come back and see us again soon and we'll sort your partner out with a fishing permit fo our wonderful lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    155
    51
    34
    18
See reviews for
162
318
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the summer and what a gem. A real beauty lovely clean and comfortable rooms The location is very picturesque and peaceful The staff are very helpful. We would recommend this hotel. In fact we are planning a family get together over Christmas and we have suggested to people travelling that this is the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryP907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, Terry P. We'll be sure to look after your family if they visit over Christmas - check out the Christmas brochure online for some fantastic Christmas accommodation offers they might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to this hotel, particularly on their Sunday night dine and stays.
We have noticed a steady decline in the quality of the food served on these nights over the past year that possibly coincides with the arrival of their latest head chef.
On our last stay the food was of such poor quality that we could not finish the main course and the serving staff were no the least bit interested in our comments.
Sadly this has put us off staying here again, although we really like the hotel, the rooms and the extensive grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadKevLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi MadKevLondonUK
I'm so sorry that on this occasion we have failed to live up to your expectations, as we value our returning customers very highly and hate to find we've disapointed someone. Whilst I am surprised that you have experienced a problem with the food (overall the feedback we receive is excellent), we are very aware that even the best of chefs can have an off day, and if this was the case we are truly sorry. Perhaps you could get in touch with me at the hotel and we can find out what went wrong, with a view to hopefully 'wowing' you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Really lovely afternoon tea.

Excellent, helpful and friendly service. Lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones and teas.
Lovely relaxed setting and grounds.

Thankyou for a nice treat on a Sunday afternoon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Suzannah198
So glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We've got a gorgeous Festive afternoon tea in the christmas brochure - fire lit, lights twinkling - it's magic! Why not pop back and see us again then?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Oh yes indeedy.
What a great place. This charming manor house reminded us of a setting for Cluedo. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom towels were soft and fluffy. Plenty of shower gel etc, hot drinks tray with bottled water and biscuits, iron/ironing board and a safe in the wardrobe. Lovely meal in the evening in the Burton Suite to celebrate our friends 10th wedding anniversary and plenty of choice at breakfast. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and the service was top notch. One night was not really enough so we plan to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwdMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Owd Miner
What a lovely review! I do hope you are able to come back and see us again soon. We have a lovely twixmas break and a brilliant Festive Wine, Dine and Stay offer - both in the Christmas brochure and on our website - maybe these would make a brilliant excuse for a return visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

we had an overnight here just last night and ate in the restaurant that evening. Our arrival was impressive for the service from the reception as I was worried that there would be noise from the extractor outside our window, we were immediately offered other rooms but also assured that the extraction system would be off from about 10.30 until 7am, so we stayed put as we liked the room. The sherry and cake on arrival is a nice touch.
The room and bathroom were extremely clean and comfortable, I have to say it's the first time we've ever had a fire exit out of a bathroom window! I checked, I could get out!
The lounge area is comfortable and has free wifi. Our evening meal was very good, I had crayfish tails and my husband the asparagus, we followed this with the special offer of ribeye steak, both were cooked exactly as requested, rare and mid rare. The cheese board was generous and the service and wine excellent.
We had a problem with service at breakfast although the breakfast itself was good, my scrambled eggs and smoked salmon one of the best I've had in any hotel. As the service was so poor at breakfast I completed the feed back form to reflect this. This evening, the hotel's food and beverage manger found time to telephone me to ask about the breakfast service issues and to discuss these. This is a sign of very good management and excellent customer service. Well done Inglewood, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi toniShanghai
Thanks for your lovely review, and especially for letting us know, at the time, that we had missed a trick - it's so much easier to correct service issues when we know about them straight away! Do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed on the Sunday night special offer, accommodation & 3 course meal £99. Exceptional value for money!!
The staff were absolutely superb, the meal was great and the room very comfortable.
The girl on check out asked us where we going on the Monday and when we told her we were going to the shopping outlet, she told us to show our invoice at the information point to get an extra 10% discount in some of the stores.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Suzanne C
I'm so pleased you enjoyed our Wine, Dine and Stay deal - it's a fantastic offer isn't it? Especially as it also includes a bottle of wine and full English breakfast.
We can also offer reduced price tickets for Chester Zoo, the Blue Planet Aquarium and Ness Gardens - so plenty to see and do on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Property: Inglewood Manor
Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award-winning chefs displays flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester
Inglewood Manor Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing