We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break, beware of the late night knock on the door”
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inglewood Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break, beware of the late night knock on the door”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night in the oak room on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast package that included evening entertainment.

Room was impressive, though a lot of dust on bedside lights and panelling.

Everything was going well, with the sort of relaxed environment that you would expect from a faux country house style hotel such as this, that was until approached in the bar area by the restaurant manager, who informed us that we would be eating dinner at 715pm, when I queried this as had booked for 730 and again had this confirmed when booking in, I was informed that I must have been mistaken, and there was nothing he could do as couldn't we see how busy they were.

The entertainment was suburb, unfortunately the food was not quite up to usual four star standards. With my well cooked beef performing the trick of being served luke warm, but on a red hot plate, served with three soggy barely roasted roast potatoes, and my wife's salmon fillet being of a miserly portion size.

What really ruined the whole experience though was 20 minutes after retiring for the night, we received a knock on our bedroom from a member of staff demanding that we sign for a bottle of wine we had ordered at 7pm that evening, surely there was a more appropriate time for this task to have been completed, than at 11pm!

The breakfast was a poor Buffett affair, let down by un toasted toast, perhaps uncooked by the same chef who didn't get hot beef the night before!

I raised a couple of these concerns with the receptionist in the morning, who agreed that it was unacceptable, however she was happy to take my money, and to date I have had no response from the management, not even an apology.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 683225789ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to leave your feedback, I have spoken to our General Manager regarding the difficulties you experienced during your stay, and I believe she has been in touch. I do hope that once these issues have been discussed you will consider returning to Inglewood Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    158
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
167
327
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiance popped in to inglewood manor one weekend and really liked what we saw. So much so that we arranged to see one if their wedding advisors, and at the same time take our parents out for a meal. We were left waiting for what felt like an age between courses, staring at dirty plates. In the end we were late for our meeting with the coordinator, which although frustrating for the hotel staff was out of our control. We had given ourselves 2 hours to eat our lunch. We saw the wedding coordinator showing round another couple and patiently waited our turn. In the end a young man (who I believe was restaurant staff) showed us round. We didn't mind particularly, but what we did mind was his attitude, throwing prices at us is hardly a good start, then trying to force exclusivity on us. This man knew nothing about weddings or how to treat future brides/grooms. We were completely put off by their money grabbing attitude. We are now going elsewhere. It is a shame as the meal was actually nice despite the service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

booked as a surprise for my wife for our wedding anniversary on feb 13th. On arrival we were very impressed by the venue. They had upgraded us as it was our anniversary to the bridal suite which is a stunning room with fantastic views. We were brought up on arrival sherry and cake and nothing was too much trouble. the room came with a box of chocolates,water, slippers and dressing grown as well as a lovely whirlpool bath.Breakfast was good and you could have anything you wanted. Overall this is a hotel was offered very very good value and a pleasure to stay at. We will be back.

Room Tip: bridal suite is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwyran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Beautiful setting, excellent staff, food very good everything was top notch. Everybody had a great time at my daughters wedding at Inglewood Manor. The bridal suite was called The Oak Room and it was stunning with oak panelling, fireplace and four poster bed. We had the marriage ceremony at the hotel and it was beautiful. The registrar and assistant were very nice, the room fantastic and it was used for the wedding breakfast afterwards. The table looked superb and as father of the bride I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for your daughters wedding - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which was at the front of the hotel and was good value with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pathwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for my cousins wedding and cannot fault Inglewood or their great team in any way. As a hotel, it was clean, with extremely high standards,and was welcoming and comfortable. The room i stayed in had a great decor and a beautiful view over the gardens to the front. The building is beautifully kept and with absolutely no signs of decay etc you often get with such an old building. The surroundings were beautiful and peacefully relaxing, while the food was impeccable.
As a wedding venue, it was quite possibly one of the best i'd ever seen. The day ran so smoothly due to the assistance and attention to detail of the staff and would most definitely recommend it to anyone planning a wedding in the North West.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSq78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a family gathering there last week for a couple of days. The staff,food and service was fantastic. We were looked after the whole time we were there. The rooms are nice warm and comfy and clean. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

tayed here on valentines day on a valentine package and we chose well. Staff where really friendly and the hotel and grounds where beautiful. I work in a similar 4 star, silver service privately owned hotel in cheshire, so booking into places in the past have been rather disappointing...but here was a great find. Complimentary sherry and cake on arrival (something our hotel does not do) was a nice touch and a quick mini tour or the hotel which was nice so we could get our bearings etc...

We had bar snacks in the lounge which were tasty and resonably priced....the evening meal was lovely and well presented so thx to all the chefs for their tasty, scrumptious food!! The service we recieved from staff front of house was top notch...couldnt fault any of it...everybody was welcoming, smiling and very friendly. The whole evening was really relaxing and cosy and just what we both needed.

We stayed in a cosy double as this was all the hotel had left when we rang a week prior to our stay.....the room was lovely and clean and there was still room enough to get ready etc....the only drawback was the double bed.....really comfortable but our feet and ankles hanged off the bed and we aint tall people either....5ft 5 an 5ft 7in lol.

Breakfast the next day was just as nice and again the service was faultless. Check out was easy and again the receptionist was really friendly. All in all we had a lovely time and will definately be returning in the future. Ive already recommended this hotel to my work colleagues, friends and family.

A big thankyou to all the chefs, receptionists, waiters, waitresses, and housekeeping (for their clean rooms) for a lovely and relaxing day/evening/morning and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
999 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.4 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Property: Inglewood Manor
Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award-winning chefs displays flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester
Inglewood Manor Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing