We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High price for low service”
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inglewood Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey
1 review
“High price for low service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went to a family wedding, arriving on the Friday evening, we met up with family to have a drink, we could not enter the bar as a function was on, went outside on the terrace to be attacked by swarms if wasps, we ended up sitting on the steps of the car park to have a drink, wasps plagued us all weekend and many if us got stung, staffs attitude was poor and rooms basic for the price, the next wedding was being set up befor we were up for breakfast, felt a but like a conveyer belt, - your done now out you go,
Lovely building, but little care inside, would not recommend it got personal touches

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Tessannan
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are always keen to hear how best we can improve our facilities and services.
It would make it much easier, however, to act on the views expressed if there were not a 9 month time lapse between your visit to Inglewood and the review being posted.

I'm so sorry that you and your party were bothered by wasps. We do everything in our power to ensure the comfort of our guests, but as we are located at the heart of 38 acres of glorious grounds and gardens, the local wildlife can occasionally make their presence felt. We do always take every available measure to avoid this problem, and will do so again this Summer.

I can only apologise if our staff did not measure up to your expectations. This is a very rare issue for us, as you may notice from reading other reviews, and one we do take very seriously. Unfortunately, it will be nearly impossible for us to investigate further, as your review was posted so long after your stay, but we will continue with our constant training and development programmes to ensure our staff are fully aware of the importance of exceding guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    158
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
168
327
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at Inglewood Manor. What a beautiful building in immaculate grounds. We paid £75 for a double room including a delicious full English breakfast which I think is excellent value. They were setting up for a wedding as we left and it would be a perfect setting for this type of event. I recommend it highly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank calladium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi calladium
Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As you're not too far away, do come back and see us again soon, as we have some great special offers (check out the Wine, Dine and Stay deal on our website).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a gem of a place, from our very warm welcome to our heartfelt goodbyes Inglewood Manor was just what we wanted and more. We arrived a couple of hours before check-in and were prepared to wait for our room to be ready but not only were we able to check-in we were offered a room upgrade. The lady on reception was so welcoming, we were offered a glass of sherry and cake on arrival but declined we were again offered this welcome drink later.

We were then shown around the public rooms of the hotel and shown the hotels dinner menus should we choose to dine at the hotel. Our room was exquisite, very tastely decorated and was furnished to a high standard so was the soft furnishings, the bathroom leading from the bedroom was up three steps in all we were more that pleased with the room, as we were with the hotel in general.

In the evening we dined in the restaurant the food was excellent, the ambiance in the restaurant was brilliant and the music was very much to our liking.

The hotel staff could not do enough for you, the were all very friendly and there aim was to please which they certainly succeeded.

The location of the hotel was great for Cheshire Oaks, outlet centre, Chester, Liverpool and Manchester, we managed to fit in Liverpool, Manchester and the outlet shopping village, we need to return to explore Chester and North Wales all of which is within easy reach of the hotel (our excuse to return).

The grounds of the hotel were outstanding, very peaceful and calming the only thing that would enhance a stay would be a Spa and swimming pool but who knows maybe such facilities will be added in time.

I would urge anyone to try out Inglewood Manor, you will not be disappointed, the hotel, staff the whole experience was one we will cherish forever, we had a fantastic break and found a little special pice of England that we look forward to visiting time and time again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 22, a brilliant room with great views down to the fishing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Alex D
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely a review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back and see us again soon to explore historic Chester and the delights of the beautiful North Wales coastline, we'd love to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed mid week for one night whilst away on a business trip. The hotel entrance is very impressive and the gardens are very pretty.

I was in a single room which was reached by a staircase behind reception. The room, although clean and well appointed, was probably the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed in. Having said that, I chose to book a single room, and as it was a one night stay, the size was not a big issue. However, the sound proofing in the room was poor and I heard every movement of the persons in the room above me.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all helpful and friendly. Aside from this, there appears little, for a business traveler, to recommend this over a budget chain hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a double room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Tim S
I'm delighted that you found the public areas of the hotel impressive, the grounds very pretty (we have got 38 acres of gorgeous grounds and gardens to explore including a fishing lake and tennis courts, all available free of charge to the business user). I'm also glad you found your bedroom clean and well appointed. In addition to the home from home touches like the ipod docking stations and laptop safes, we do also offer free wi-fi in all areas of the hotel, ample free parking, and a brilliant location for guests needing a central point for Liverpool, Manchester, Chester and North Wales, making us a highly convenient base for our regular business guests. You do also point out that our staff all helpful and friendly, a fact of which we are very proud.

I am, however, very sorry that you found your room to be on the small side, although as you fairly state we do have significantly bigger rooms available, including very spacious Executive Bedrooms, albeit at a greater cost.

I am so sorry that you experienced some noise from the room above. This is not an issue we have encountered before in Room 17, so I have asked our Maintenance Manager to look into how and why this issue may have occurred and how we can prevent it reoccurring.
Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We took our daughter there for lunch a couple of weeks ago.
My daughter and I chose the roast pork. When the order was taken my daughter enquired whether there would be crackling with the meat.
The waiter said he would check with the chef. The reply was "no sorry", and when the meal arrived we could see why.
It was obvious that the pork had not been cut off a joint but had been bought in pre sliced as all the slices were uniform.
This came as a surprise as we had previously been told that there was a terrific new chef in the hotel.
The whole meal was very mediocre, and in future we will be having our celebrations at Linos in Hoylake where we know what we can expect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank banjoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi banjoman1
I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We do really try very hard to ensure that our food is of a consistently high quality, and we hate to disappoint our guests, but it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.
I would like to clarify one point, however. We would never, ever buy in pre cut sliced meat. Whilst I'm sorry that the pork did not live up to your expectations, rest assured that it will have been roasted and carved on the premises.
I really hope that at some point in the future, you return to Inglewood Manor and give us the opportunity to 'wow' you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We attended a recent wedding at this venue, the rooms, grounds and hotel staff were excellent.

The only complaint was breakfast, it was not worth £14.95, the fried eggs weren't fully cooked, plates were cold, and my partner was unable to get any beans mushrooms or eggs as the buffet dishes were not topped up.

I would also suggest you get a hand drier for the gents toilet as there were paper towels all over the floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buncranaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Buncranaman
It is always tremendously frustrating when we tick nearly all the boxes but fall at the last hurdle, and breakfast is such an important part of our guests experience that it is doubly frustrating on this occasion. Normally our full English breakfast's are cooked to order, and the menu contains gorgeous 'country house' items such as porridge, eggs benedict and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and overall represents exceptional value for money. On very busy breakfasts, however, rather than keep guests waiting for long periods (and mainly when all our guests have the potential to arrive in the restaurant at the last minute), we do put a hot buffet breakfast out to ensure that everyone is served nice and quickly. This should have been constantly replenished and you should still have been able to order from the a la carte breakfast menu, so I'm very sorry if these options were not made available to you.
Many thanks for your suggestion for the Gents loos - we will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We recently went here for Sunday lunch and it was well worth the effort.

Superbly cooked food in an elegent surrounding, the service was attentive without being intrusive.

We noticed a number of people who were being welcomed back by staff. That speaks volumes.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie R, Director of Sales at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. Sunday lunch is indeed a traditional treat here at Inglewood with many guests returning week in week out. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
394 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Property: Inglewood Manor
Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award-winning chefs displays flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester
Inglewood Manor Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing