We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's to our next stay...”
Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inglewood Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We've just spent our fourth overnight stay at Inglewood Manor on the special Sunday night offer which is excellent value for money.

As on previous occasions we found staff, to a man/woman to be great - friendly and efficient, particularly Nick who greeted us by name.

Food is excellent, well-presented and of good quality.

We were allocated a refurbished room which was comfortable and well-furnished; bathroom would have benefited from a bit more care, ie, cobwebs on the window and curtain and manufacturer's label still stuck to toilet pan.

We really enjoy this place and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

This stay was bought for me for my Birthday, and it was the best present ever!!! The drive up the, somewhat regal, driveway. Through the most amazing grounds was a hint of how my stay would be.

Myself and my partner were there for one of Inglewoods 'Murder at the Manor' dinner and stay packages. The actual "Murder" was amusing and definitely entertaining.

Though the most amazing thing was the grounds and the excellent staff.

I saw baby rabbits, and a family of geese with 5 little goslings in the grounds themselves, which have ample amenities for weddings and any occasion where photos are needed!! There were tennis courts, ponds, lakes, ornate wrought iron gates, all kinds of flowers and green grass as far as the eye could see.

The staff were the thing that made the stay truly memorable. I have a number of food allergies and before we arrived i rang and spoke to Tracy, on reception. between her and the chef they worked out a alternative menu for me.

Upon arrival on the day, Tracy confirmed that the relevant arrangements had been made. When we came down for dinner, the duty manager, Nik, greeted me by name, as did the restaurant manager, Enrico. All front of house staff had been briefed. It was so nice to dine with the peace of mind that i did not have to remind anyone of my allergies!!

Enrico and especially Nik and Tracy made my stay unforgettable!! There customer service is definitely The best!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRS1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Stayed for one night. Arrived late but they'd reserved us a table in the restaurant and offered sherry and mince pies on arrival. We stayed in the Oak Room, which was lovely with a fabulous new bathroom and lovely views over the well-tended gardens. The staff were without exception very friendly, informal and professional. The food was excellent. We'll definiteiy be back! Would I recommend it? I already have!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Askew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We had our wedding reception on February 26 and were blown away by the incredible service from everyone at Inglewood Manor on that day and the night before. Everybody from Natalie the waitress at our pre wedding meal, Nic our master of ceremonies, Cara on reception who catered for our every wish and the lovely housekeeping ladies Kelly and Christine who took such great pleasure in being a part of our day. We all felt relaxed from the minute we arrived and that nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. The day went without a hitch thanks to their professionalism and I as the bride had nothing to worry about apart from enjoying myself! All the guests commented on how wonderful the food was and how much there was of it. It was such a great venue for a winter wedding and excellent value for money. Book it without any worries!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We decided to have a few days away before being temporarily grounded for medical reasons, and spurred on by a certain national newspaper's offer of "wine, dine, stay for free" we booked this place on the phone, not even checking the web site.
My better half is a veggie, which can be a pain in the neck for some chefs, but this chef produced a mushroom rissotto never before tasted by this veggie, hence the title "we WILL return. I had beef wellington, which was the best ever. Food is all important in this household!
The biggest 'wow' factor?....ALL THE STAFF, from being greeted at reception , through the dining experience, to saying 'au revoir', they were the happiest, 'bubliest' staff we have encountered.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazawatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We had our wedding here last year, we also had a meal there to check out the food before the wedding and returned for our one year anniversary just last week. This hotel has it all, top class staff, food and location. From the Fiona, the manager down to the wait staff, service of this standard is rarely found in the UK in my experience. We shall continue to return here year after year without doubt.
From the moment we stepped into the hotel (by chance) we knew it was the place for us to be married and for the most part they accommodated our every request (a small issue that was swiftly dealt with) The atmosphere puts you at ease almost immediately and every member of staff is singing from the same song sheet. A real gem!!!! If you get a chance try their Sunday night special.....a real treat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Booked a friday night stay just a couple of days before as I knew the weather was going to be great. Thought a relaxing break, having a few drinks on the terrace and meal in the restaurant (both of which had been recommended in previous reviews) would be ideal.

When we turned up mid-afternoon we were informed that there was a wedding on and we couldn't use the facilities which had been our primary reason for booking. The garden, terrace, bar and restaurant are all exclusive to wedding parties!

So up to our room we went - don't believe the pics on their website. Very poor standard, very dated - particularly the carpet, curtains and the awful bathroom, complete with toilet that leaked across the floor. Anybody that's watched 'Vacancy' wouldn't be too keen on the attic door above the bed or the strange door next to it!

The fire alarm going off at 5am just added to the complete disaster that was our stay! The poor bride, groom and guests didn't look overly impressed either. After the firemen had been and given the ok we were allowed to return, no explanation of the cause. The morning after there was no mention of it or apology, not good customer service at all.

Our booking, £76 for one night, was based on being able to spend an entire day relaxing at the hotel which was simply not possible, we therefore drove out to Chester as there is nothing within the vicinity of the hotel, rendering our stay there completely pointless! Such a shame as the buildings, grounds and public areas like the dining room are beautiful and we are currently looking for a wedding venue - this would be a great location.

So be warned if you're booking through a third party website, ring the hotel first to check if there's an event on. The hotel told us it's the agents fault for not informing us (they emailed us the day before to tell us about the wedding, but we didn't receive it until after our stay), however the agent says the hotel didn't make them aware of the impact of a wedding on other guests.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay at Inglewood Manor did not meet your expectations. As you can see from our numerous previous reviews we work very hard to ensure that the vast majority of our guests are delighted by their time with us.
As you mentioned, as soon as we received your booking our reception manager contacted the booking agents to inform them that a wedding would be taking place during your stay, and an email was sent to you. Unfortunately, as the room was booked via an online agency, none of your contact details were passed to us, and so we were unable to contact you directly. We have contacted the online booking agents in question, and asked them once again, to ensure that it is made very clear on their site that functions do occasionally inhibit the use of the restaurant, lounge and terrace areas by residents, and it is always worth contacting the hotel to double check.

With regard to your bedroom, you were allocated that particular room as it is one of our quietist, to ensure that no noise from the function filtered through to disturb you. Some of our rooms do have quirky features, as the hotel is nearly 100 years old, and originally built as a private house. The photographs on the website are an accurate representation of our refurbished rooms, however these are generally on the floor below and more susceptible to noise, and so are normally allocated to guests attending the function. An ongoing refurbishment programme is in place to ensure that all are rooms are brought up to the same high standard, but in the meantime we offer our un-refurbished rooms at a lower rate, which inclusive of a full ‘country house’ English breakfast, is generally felt to represent excellent value. We’re really sorry about the leaking loo – not very pleasant for you, and if only we had known, we would have been happy to move you to an alternative room.

The fire alarm must have felt like the last straw, but we really do take our guest’s safety very seriously, and so would always follow procedures to evacuate everyone. I am very sorry, however, that you did not receive an apology for the inconvenience.

Once again please accept my sincere apologise, as you will have seen from other reviews this is most certainly not the norm here. I hope to have the chance to welcome oyou back to Inglewood Manor in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
421 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.1 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range: £63 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award-winning chefs displays flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester
Inglewood Manor Ledsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing