We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast to coast mountain bikers”

The Barn, Home Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fremington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn, Home Farm
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coast to coast mountain bikers”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Sue greeted us with home made cake and tea and showed us the excellent drying facilities for our wet and muddy clothes
Bike storage was good

Room was first class and Jed made us a fantastic breakfast before going off to work.

The bard is perfect location on route and close to the Bridge which provides good food

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was a good place to stay - had no complaints. We were welcomed by the family and their dogs. The yard is beautiful and has a gorgeous view. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great and the woman who cooked was very friendly and attentive.
It's about 10 minutes from Reeth, which makes it a little far to go for supper after a long day of hiking, but there is one restaurant nearby (unfortunately the restaurant was very busy and not so friendly).
Enjoyed this stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked into The Barn by Packhorse. Lovely welcome by Hosts Sue and Ged, Very clean and comfortable establishment. Close to Reeth and Grinton for Pubs / Food. Good packed lunch and filling breakfast. This was a walkinh break with a good friend but I would not hesitate from spending a long weekend with my wife based at this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixDieKatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Barn.
We were welcomed with tea and cake by Georgie, who was running the B&B for her parents who were away for a few days.
The room was spacious and bright and Georgie worked hard to make sure that everything was fine. She made a good breakfast too.
This B&B is perfectly located just outside of Reeth right on the Coast to Coast path and we recommend it, especially to walkers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a lovely stay here on our Coast to Coast walk. We were welcomed by Anna, the hosts' daughter, who had been put in charge for the night. She did a fantastic job! The room was lovely, especially as we booked the one that comes with the bath :-) It was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was one of the best on the whole C2C- I had the lighter option, which was pancakes, Greek yoghurt and fruit and was really delicious. We also enjoyed playing with Peat the dog. Thanks Anna, you did your parents proud and I would recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Book Duncan's room as you get the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Following a sleepless night in Keld the night before (revelers celebrating a birthday all night long), the Barn was just what we needed - a haven of peace and pampering. Sue and her husband couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderfully comfortable room, spacious and well appointed. Tea and scones upon arrival, superb cooked breakfast and a great packed lunch. A wonderful meal at the Bridge Inn just five minutes from the B&B. Delightfully entertaining sheep dog Peat, who amused us with his ball and tin can chasing skills. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay, and only wish we had been able to stay another night. We highly recommend you plan on staying here when passing through Reeth on the Coast to Coast Walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popsydoodles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Let me start off by saying that Sue and her husband are top-notch proprietors of this B&B just outside of Reeth. They bring a very personalized touch to all of their interactions with their guests, and go above and beyond to help.

I had just been drenched by a car speeding through a puddle after a full day of rain on the Wainwright Coast-to-Coast (we later found out they had received a month's worth of rain that day!), so stopped in the town just before Reeth to ask for a pick-up. I spoke with Sue and she was on her way, even after I warned her that I was soaked through and muddy - she said not to worry and that her car was "people-proof." She led me into the B&B, as I shivered uncontrollably; she fetched me a cup of hot tea and homemade flapjack and bade me take a hot bath to warm up while she took my wet things. She was nothing but hospitable and concerned and took the greatest care with me, and then my friends when they finally arrived. She even called the Bridge Inn (a 5-minute easy walk) to ensure we could get reservations, then made them for us. (The Bridge Inn has great food and great staff, we recommend it!)

They have a drying closet, as well as an internet station - both of those things that none of the B&Bs along the route offered. The accommodations themselves were warm and friendly with the feeling and appearance of a cozy whitewashed barn. Breakfast the next morning was at whatever time we desired and was homemade to perfection, with homemade jams, etc - all served with a smile. Sue's husband bent over backwards to help us with logistics, looking things up on the internet for us (without being asked) and advising us on weather, taxi service, you name it! They both went well above and beyond to ensure we had the best stay while on our soggy hike.

Also, if you like dogs, Pete was something else, always happy to play ball whenever you wished! But he was not intrusive and was kept in a different area of the house, out of respect for all guests. This lodging was staffed by a very happy family who made us all very happy in return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Barn, Home Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn, Home Farm

Property: The Barn, Home Farm
Address: | Reeth, Fremington, Yorkshire Dales National Park 046 989, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Fremington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fremington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Barn, Home Farm Fremington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing