We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find !”
Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Tucked away off the beaten track, but well worth seeking out. The room we had was newly decorated and very quiet and comfortable. The owner was friendly and the bar cosy with a great selection of local beers.
They have a good chef with interesting - and delicious - menu choices for dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed. And breakfast was freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annadoriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you found your stay both comfortable and relaxing, and enjoyed the food!

Although you say we are "off the beaten track", we are infact, only 7 miles from the main junction of the A1 for people wanting to break a North South journey, only 5 miles from Richmond, Leyburn and Bedale and only 3 miles for visitors to Catterick Garrison.

Thank you again for visiting the DAles and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

Warm welcome and excellent sevice received from Tony and his staff, rooms are very clean and have some real nice touches.
Excellent food and really good real ales, shame there were no dark ales or stout on cask when i visited but thats just my preference.
we wanted a nice chilled out valentines day/evening with a lovely meal and thats exactly what we got thanks to Tony and his staff.
we both really enjoyed our stay and would highly recomend a stay here to anyone, would we stay here again? yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueAccount08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your subsequent kind review. We were glad we were able to provide both the positive things associated with a country/village pub and the specific needs of Valentines night!! we note your comments regarding cask stout and will promise to have a dark beer as a guest on a more regular basis.

Thank you again for staying with us and your subsequent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Unlike the Queen Hotel, Olney, the Countryman's Inn welcomes reviews and its guests. Great welcome and host, clean rooms, not huge but it's a country pub, nicely decorated and well appointed. Great pub, good restaurant food, cracking breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Although I used to live near Olney, and visited it often, I do not know the Queen's Hotel so cannot comment on your observation. We are however feel you were welcomed and served properly at The Countryman's.

We try to keep it simple, do the simple things well and make our guests welcome.

If we did this for you during your visit, we are more than pleased.

If we can keep delivering this to our future guests, we will be happy.

Thank you for staying, your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We arrived after pre-booking all 3 rooms at the Countrymans and were given a genuine welcome by Tony, the owner. Unfortunately, due to the fault of other members of the party, Tony and his staff were landed with providing dinner for 13 guests at the drop of a hat instead of the anticipated 2 diners. They took this in their stride and presented dinner on time, served piping hot and of excellent quality & presentation. The kitchen staff worked flat out to achieve this demanding task perfectly.
The genuine welcoming nature of the locals in the bar is warming, you just have to be aware of the Yorkshire sense of humour!!
Well stocked bar, superb menu,steaks cooked to perfection, comfortable, clean rooms....what more do you need.
Added to this is Tony's unique, genuine style.

Word of warning.....Mobile phone users, be aware of some stick from Tony & the locals, you can expect some ribbing...if you can get a signal !!

All in all, first class, good value for money and hospitality at it's best...thanks everyone at the Countrymans for a memorable stay.
Gill & John Rowley
Edenderry
Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowleyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thanks for staying, and the visit by the rest of your team!! glad you enjoyed the bar, food and locals. Just to let you know, since your visit we have "created" a fourth room, designed specifically for families or groups of up to 5.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad you felt welcome and enjoyed our pub as well as your time in The Dales, (with mobile signal!!).

Thank you again for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

There are 3 rooms in this Inn and it was unfortunate that we had a very noisy neighbour who kept his television on at full volume until my husband banged on his door at 2am.
after that peace at last.
Our room was not large but was nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. Dinner was excellent. The Bar area is rather "tired" but we were given a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCountrymans, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. As per my respomse to your original review, submitted in November immediatly after your stay via the booking agent, I am sorry this guests unreasonable behaviour marred your stay.

As explained we plan to re furbish the room used by this guest later this year and at that time will seek to re position the TV in that room to try to mitigate any noise issues. You rated us 4/5 at the time of your original review. I am sorry if this incident continues to trouble you some time after your stay. We will do all we can to improve the positioning of the TV but can never legislate for the unreasonable behaviour of another guest.

Thank you again for your feedback which will be acted upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My wife and I had a lovely time here for two nights in the early December snows, to attend our son's post Afghanistan medal parade at Catterick Garrison.

This is a traditional country inn in a friendly welcoming community, full of character and full of characters. Stay here if you want to experience the warmth and individuality of a village inn, not the sterile environment of a hotel chain. Log fire, great food, good beer. Interesting people at the bar who enjoy chatting if you make the effort to say hello, or will leave you alone if you prefer. Conscientious and committed host, attentive without being intrusive . Fantastic chef.

Our room was beautifully warm, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was clean with plenty of very hot water. We slept excellently.

Food was really, really good, tasty and plentiful. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day.

Thank you, Tony. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for staying and for submitting your review.

As you note we are a country pub, close to Catterick Garrison centre. So for those, like you, who want something more original ( and less predictable!) than the Purple Palace, that's occupied by real everyday people rather than just staff and guests.Here we are just 3 miles from Camp Centre. The parades to mark the return while soon be over for good ( we hope!). We are however well placed for Parents Open DAys and Pass Off Parades at both the ITC (Vimy) and Paras (Helles). Both are even closer 2.5 miles and only 10 minutes.

Thank you again for staying, your kind review and your sons service. Glad he and everyone still returning are now safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Central to Dales, not far from Leyburn. When we arrived it was minus 8 degrees. There were locals roasting chestnuts on the open fire. It is clear the owner is not trying to fit in, his Inn is full of ye olde world racing ephermera and gadgets which lends it to a traditional rather than contrived atmostphere. Our room (room 1) was large and well aired and very warm, not drafty and damp (as I have experienced this over the years at other places.) The ensuite was white tiled and spotless with good water pressure and lots of hot water. The pub has got a great menu and has both a formal and informal dining area. it has lots of guest ales (Ye Olde Leg Over was the one available this weekend). We were veyr happy with the accommodation and food given the price - a bargain!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you note all 4 of our guest rooms have been modernised and offer comfortable and up to date accommodation.

We generally offer our standard cask ales and up to 3 guest ales, a total of 5 cask marque CAMRA approved LocAles.

We are glad you enjoyed the area, the food, the cask ales and the company. Thank you again for staying and your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms and offering either a Light/Continental or a traditional home cooked Yorkshire Breakfast. We are rated AA three stars with the additional" Gold Standard" . The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and were included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015 and again in 2017. The Countrymans Kitchen provides high quality "Traditional Pub Grub four days per week: Thursday Friday and Saturday 18.00 to 21.00 and Sunday with both the full menu and a traditional Sunday Lunch Menu served from Midday until 19.00. Reservations are welcome to ensure preferred times and selection of items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing