We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Pub, Fantastic Food, Friendly Staff”
Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the Countryman’s inn. Tony is a great host with a wicked sense of humour; nothing was too much trouble for him. The room we stayed in was clean, tidy and well equipped. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service we received from all the staff. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was piping hot. They have a good selection of local cask ales witch all tasted very good especially the Lightfoot bitter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

We are an AA 3 star rated Inn with the Gold Award, and a traditional Dales village pub. We only try to do the basics well, a warm welcome, (wicked sense of humour is rather dependant on my mood!), good food, good beer and comfortable rooms.

It seems from your review we managed to cover all these bases during your recent stay. We will try our hardest to keep it up and not let you down should you return.

Thank you one again for your review and staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

This is a local pub, with a warm welcome and manner. The local Black Sheep ale was great, and the food from the Restaurant was second to none,-the winelist is good as well. Tony is a friendly host, who did everything he could to make us comfortable. The room we stayed in was clean and the bathroom excellent. All in all, a very good couple of nights. Special mention for Josie, who looked after us in the Restaurant!!!

(Tony, we will post the Parking Disc back.......sorry!!)

Room Tip: We had room 1, absolutely fine for two plus one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for staying. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the beer and food. We are glad you were comfortable and well looked after. Don't worry about the parking disc. Maybe bring it with you when you next stay!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We were very well looked after during our stay, the food was absolutely excellent, and the newly refurbished rooms are beautiful! Nice location in the centre of a pretty village.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you were comfortable at the Countryman's and you enjoyed the Dales.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Our stay was fantastic, very warmly greeted by the owner who was very accommodating at getting our room ready as we were early for check in. The location was beautiful, very small idealic village where everyone is very welcoming and happy to see new faces. There is plenty of public footpaths for walking in the country. The owner was very accommodating as we had a dog with us and allowed it to sit in the bar with us whilst we scoffed a delicious meal. The rooms were clean, slightly dated but fitted in with the age of the pub. We had a freshly cooked breakfast in the morning which was a great start to the day. To sum it up I would thoroughlly recommend a stay here, it's very personal and we felt as the staff pulled out all the stops to make us have a pleasurable stay. Big thumbs up, thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Countryman's.

We were happy to serve both you and the dog. We are happy to be known as a "Pet Friendly" pub. Pets are always welcome in our bar! visitors and their pets are assured of a warm North Yorkshire welcome.

For information since your visit, in April 2011, we have built a fourth guest room, designed as a large room sleeping from 2 to 5 people, suitable for family occupancy and our original 3 rooms have all been modernised.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

we used this hotel to visit my son for parents day at catterick garrison.the hotel is wonderful ,clean,in beautiful surrondings,tony the landlord could not do enough for us .very warm and welcoming food beautiful room clean and welcoming .would use again .thankyou tony and everyone else x

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulahengoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us for your sons parent's day at nearby Catterick Garrison. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we found our little country pub more suited to your requirements than the nearby "Purple Palace!"

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you found our location, only 3.5 miles or 10 minutes from Vimy/Helles barracks for the ITC or Paras.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Tucked away off the beaten track, but well worth seeking out. The room we had was newly decorated and very quiet and comfortable. The owner was friendly and the bar cosy with a great selection of local beers.
They have a good chef with interesting - and delicious - menu choices for dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed. And breakfast was freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annadoriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you found your stay both comfortable and relaxing, and enjoyed the food!

Although you say we are "off the beaten track", we are infact, only 7 miles from the main junction of the A1 for people wanting to break a North South journey, only 5 miles from Richmond, Leyburn and Bedale and only 3 miles for visitors to Catterick Garrison.

Thank you again for visiting the DAles and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Warm welcome and excellent sevice received from Tony and his staff, rooms are very clean and have some real nice touches.
Excellent food and really good real ales, shame there were no dark ales or stout on cask when i visited but thats just my preference.
we wanted a nice chilled out valentines day/evening with a lovely meal and thats exactly what we got thanks to Tony and his staff.
we both really enjoyed our stay and would highly recomend a stay here to anyone, would we stay here again? yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueAccount08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your subsequent kind review. We were glad we were able to provide both the positive things associated with a country/village pub and the specific needs of Valentines night!! we note your comments regarding cask stout and will promise to have a dark beer as a guest on a more regular basis.

Thank you again for staying with us and your subsequent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms and offering either a Light/Continental or a traditional home cooked Yorkshire Breakfast. We are rated AA three stars with the additional" Gold Standard" . The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and were included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015 and again in 2017. The Countrymans Kitchen provides high quality "Traditional Pub Grub four days per week: Thursday Friday and Saturday 18.00 to 21.00 and Sunday with both the full menu and a traditional Sunday Lunch Menu served from Midday until 19.00. Reservations are welcome to ensure preferred times and selection of items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing