We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bed and breakfast”
Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here with my partner a few weeks ago and really enjoyed our stay, we were at a friends wedding at Bolton Castle for the evening so rather than driving back we stayed here and made a weekend of it.

The Pub is in a little hamlet which consists of lots of lovely little houses and one shop, which only seems to open in the morning and then shuts, we arrived Friday evening and had to wait a little while to check in. We did not realise that check in for the bed and breakfast was not till 6pm. Please be aware of this when booking as on our next nights stay some other people had arrived earlier as well.

Apart from that, we found the pub to be very hospitable. We ate in the pub restaurant the first night and the food is amazing, reasonably priced for top notch, so will highly recommend this.

Rooms – we stayed in the room that is waiting to be renovated and found it to be more than adequate. The room was bright and airy with a clean comfortable double bed. Cannot fault the rooms as very clean and tidy. Our friends that joined us the next night stayed in one of the rooms that had been recently updated, and they were very, very nice.

Our host Tony was very friendly and could not do enough for us, even organised our taxi for us to Bolton Castle, and when we decided to come back he kindly organised a return taxi for us. All in all we had a very pleasant stay at the Countrymans and will end up going back for a meal if not staying again.

Admittedly if we were doing the Castle again I would stay in Leyburn as it was quite a way from Hunton. But saying that this little gem is a lovely little pub in quiet village with some great beers, locals and a great host

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2016
Thank you for staying with us during your wedding at nearby Bolton Castle. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in fact 5 miles from Bedale and 9 miles from Bolton Castle and offer a slightly quieter location from the pubs in Leyburn market square.

We are glad we were able to offer good quality local, beer, food and hospitality! Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    40
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we stayed at the countrymans inn for 3 nights the room was clean and the bed very comfy we ate in the resturant every evening as the food was excellent(best seabass ive ever had) the cooked breakfast was always hot and plentiful Tony was a great and very amusing host all the staff were friendly and helpful we throughly enjoyed our stay and will definatly be back if we are in the dales again

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 nice view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen0582053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2016
Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Dales and the pub. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Well decorated room, very clean with every facility needed, nice atmosphere with friendly locals, great food (with three vegetarian options - unusual for an Inn) and good real beer selection . Close to A1 so easy to get to. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mh1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the pub, its locals, the beer and particularly the food. We are glad that, as a vegetarian you were happy both with your particular individual choice and the selection available to you.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed at the Countrymans Inn with Family at the tail-end of a great weekend away from it all. Good, clean accommodation along with fine ales and great food, as well as great company made the short stay a memorable one.

Tony (the Landlord) and his staff provided us with a genuine warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door and we were well looked after during our stay.

The food in the restaurant was first class (well done Josh) and Tony made sure the service was of the highest standard.

On behalf of the Strefford Family (Mick, Carl, Steve, Elaine, Sue, Hollie and myself of course), we would like to thank Tony and the staff for a relaxing and entertaining stay.

I (we) highly recommend the Countrymans Inn, Hunton

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StreffordWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you found your visit to the Dales relaxing and the basics of a local village pub met your requirements over a range of ages. We only try to offer straight forward things, comfortable rooms, good beer, good food and a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome.

Thank you for your recommendation. It is particularly pleasing that, as a country pub, we met the requirements of the whole family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the Countryman’s inn. Tony is a great host with a wicked sense of humour; nothing was too much trouble for him. The room we stayed in was clean, tidy and well equipped. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service we received from all the staff. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was piping hot. They have a good selection of local cask ales witch all tasted very good especially the Lightfoot bitter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

We are an AA 3 star rated Inn with the Gold Award, and a traditional Dales village pub. We only try to do the basics well, a warm welcome, (wicked sense of humour is rather dependant on my mood!), good food, good beer and comfortable rooms.

It seems from your review we managed to cover all these bases during your recent stay. We will try our hardest to keep it up and not let you down should you return.

Thank you one again for your review and staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This is a local pub, with a warm welcome and manner. The local Black Sheep ale was great, and the food from the Restaurant was second to none,-the winelist is good as well. Tony is a friendly host, who did everything he could to make us comfortable. The room we stayed in was clean and the bathroom excellent. All in all, a very good couple of nights. Special mention for Josie, who looked after us in the Restaurant!!!

(Tony, we will post the Parking Disc back.......sorry!!)

Room Tip: We had room 1, absolutely fine for two plus one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Thank you for staying. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the beer and food. We are glad you were comfortable and well looked after. Don't worry about the parking disc. Maybe bring it with you when you next stay!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We were very well looked after during our stay, the food was absolutely excellent, and the newly refurbished rooms are beautiful! Nice location in the centre of a pretty village.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you were comfortable at the Countryman's and you enjoyed the Dales.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton
4.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.9 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.8 mi away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#4 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Property: Countryman's Inn
Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms. AA three star rated with additional" Gold Standard" and AA Diners Award. The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015. The Countryman's Kitchen, now under new management provides food 18.00 to 21.00 EVERY WEEKDAY and SATURDAY EVENING AND FROM Midday to 18.00 on Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing