We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Stay”
Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Initially unnerved by the room not matching the "Olde Worlde" exterior, we settled in and our host Tony Jackson, was a great guy who couldn't do enough to make us welcome and comfortable. Joining the locals (and Tony) in the bar at "crack-a-tinny" time was a highlight.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueBlue5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thank you for staying and for your review.

I just wanted to explain, we did not modernise our 3 rooms and create a fourth "Family Room" because we wanted to unnerve you!

We just want our guests to be comfortable and have modern and up to date facilities like power showers, flat screen Tv's, wireless internet etc.

We add to these modern facilities things that are traditional in North Yorkshire, good food, good beer, a seasonal log fire, but a warm welcome all the year round.

Thanks again for staying and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Countryman's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

This B&B was found by surfing and what a great find it turned out to be. The en-suite room was perfect and the room itself large, comfortable and provided with good extra needs. Tony the landlord was a tremendous host and enabled a small fridge to be in the room, which we needed for medicine storage.
Food here is excellent and booking dinner here was a very nice extra to compliment our stay, which we repeated as the chefs are marvellous. If you enjoy a beer - try the "Black Sheep", which is a local brew and in my opinion rose above my favourite tipple "Guinness"; and I am not familiar with saying this (ever) !!!
The village of Hunton is a particularly desirable location and a very pleasant locale to take a walk.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank DidgerGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the beer and food as well as the stay.

We can claim no credit for the local area but it is , as you note, beautiful! We are lucky to live here and we are proud to share the Dales with our welcome visitors.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights 2 weeks ago and found The Countryman to be a lovely pub in a lovely village location.

The bar is really nice and had an excellent selection of real ales. The evening meals were between average and very good depending on what was ordered. Breakfast time was a little dis-organised as we were "early" sitters (8.30am) but the cooked breakfast was great and filling.

Tony the host was very welcoming, friendly and attentive and the pub staff were friendly too.

Our room was on the small side (but we did opt for the cheaper deal) and was in need of updating/decorating but it was bright, tidy and importantly the bedding was clean. Unfortunately it was directly above the gents toilets so you could hear the door slam each time someone enytered or left - (maybes a soft closing hinge is required here) You may hear some distant bar chatter until the early hours but hey............. it's a country pub so it's to be expected. As I'm a light sleeper I take ear plugs everhwere with em and they worked fine.

The ne thing which let our visit down was the cleanliness in the general areas. We had to send back or change several items of cutlery, glasses, cups etc which had not been washed adequately. We pointed this out to Tony and his staff most times and on leaving Tony said that the washer was not working as it should and he was getting it looked at which is good but until then staff should be asked to be extra vigilant until it is fixed. The good thing is that Tony accepted the problem and welcomed the feedback and said he would make sure it was fixed.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, it had a super country pub atmosphere and friendly staff, just the cleanliness as mentioned let it down a bit.

Room Tip: Although our room was small there are better and more modern rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhibc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCountrymans, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for submitting your review and sharing your feedback. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

The glass washer issue was resolved the following week, through a change of cleaning product and an increased frequency of "clean down".

With regard to the door closer on the gents toilets, I will have this looked at and either adjusted or replaced in the next couple of weeks.

Thank you again for staying witth us and for sharing your constructive and helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a lovely little village this pub is situated in. We did not stay at this pub, we had lunch here. We arrived and seated ourselves in the window seats. After batting down god knows what from the seat covers, removed the dead flies from the cigarette burnt table cloth. We decided to give this place the benefit of the doubt as we'd read good reviews. The food was fabulous, could not fault it at all and very well presented. Again, the cleanliness, the gents toilets were disgusting (poo everywhere!!) I was told and my son refused to use them. We reported this and apparently the cleaner was due, we saw her arrive but she did not make this her first job!! friendly batman, very chatty! Steak & onion sandwich was amazing!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCountrymans, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I have written directly to the reviewer to acertain the date of the visit. I have not had a reply but have now had the opportunity to discuss this with the bar staff on duty at the time. I believe the visit was on the afternoon of Friday 15 July.Unfortuatley I was not on duty at the time of your visit so could not deal with this matter personally.

I am sorry these instances spoiled your visit. I think my barman explained at the time, the previous evening had been particularly busy and the cleaner works from 13.00 in order to meet family/external requirements, and these service failures had not been addressed at the time of your visit.

The gents toilets were resolved immediatly the cleaning staff arrived and were corrected prior to your departure. The items noted in the bar were corrected immediatly upon your departure.

Obviously in these circumstances there is a process issue in completing the cleaning process prior to opening. Should this occur again I will consider asking my cleaner to start earlier.

Thank you again for your feedback and allowing us to further review and improve our service offering. I am sorry that our ommission marred your first visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here with my partner a few weeks ago and really enjoyed our stay, we were at a friends wedding at Bolton Castle for the evening so rather than driving back we stayed here and made a weekend of it.

The Pub is in a little hamlet which consists of lots of lovely little houses and one shop, which only seems to open in the morning and then shuts, we arrived Friday evening and had to wait a little while to check in. We did not realise that check in for the bed and breakfast was not till 6pm. Please be aware of this when booking as on our next nights stay some other people had arrived earlier as well.

Apart from that, we found the pub to be very hospitable. We ate in the pub restaurant the first night and the food is amazing, reasonably priced for top notch, so will highly recommend this.

Rooms – we stayed in the room that is waiting to be renovated and found it to be more than adequate. The room was bright and airy with a clean comfortable double bed. Cannot fault the rooms as very clean and tidy. Our friends that joined us the next night stayed in one of the rooms that had been recently updated, and they were very, very nice.

Our host Tony was very friendly and could not do enough for us, even organised our taxi for us to Bolton Castle, and when we decided to come back he kindly organised a return taxi for us. All in all we had a very pleasant stay at the Countrymans and will end up going back for a meal if not staying again.

Admittedly if we were doing the Castle again I would stay in Leyburn as it was quite a way from Hunton. But saying that this little gem is a lovely little pub in quiet village with some great beers, locals and a great host

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us during your wedding at nearby Bolton Castle. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in fact 5 miles from Bedale and 9 miles from Bolton Castle and offer a slightly quieter location from the pubs in Leyburn market square.

We are glad we were able to offer good quality local, beer, food and hospitality! Thank you for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we stayed at the countrymans inn for 3 nights the room was clean and the bed very comfy we ate in the resturant every evening as the food was excellent(best seabass ive ever had) the cooked breakfast was always hot and plentiful Tony was a great and very amusing host all the staff were friendly and helpful we throughly enjoyed our stay and will definatly be back if we are in the dales again

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 nice view over the garden
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen0582053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Dales and the pub. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Well decorated room, very clean with every facility needed, nice atmosphere with friendly locals, great food (with three vegetarian options - unusual for an Inn) and good real beer selection . Close to A1 so easy to get to. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mh1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the pub, its locals, the beer and particularly the food. We are glad that, as a vegetarian you were happy both with your particular individual choice and the selection available to you.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton
5.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
799 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.8 mi away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
76 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holly Hill Inn
Holly Hill Inn
#14 of 51 in Richmond
155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms and offering either a Light/Continental or a traditional home cooked Yorkshire Breakfast. We are rated AA three stars with the additional" Gold Standard" . The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and were included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015 and again in 2017. Unfortunately we do not currently provide food in at lunch times or in the evenings, but can recommend several local alternatives and varieties to suit your tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing