We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great short break with our two little Cavaliers”
Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a really friendly old world country pub the staff where very nice the food was excellent as was the beer.( we also enjoyed dinner on both nights).
Our room was very spacious with a very large on suite bathroom and equipped with
everything you could want even a cafetiere and ground coffee
It was perfect for our doggy friends as well as they where allowed everywhere except of course the restaurant We had booked a two night b&b break at a very reasonable price as we where going to the nearby Leyburn Food & Drink Show.
I only have two very minor quibbles to note.
There is a rather limited choice of vegetarian options ( wife is a vegie).
The 6pm check in which in all fairness we where fully informed on at the time of booking ( although we found out that an earlier check in was available by arrangement).
However I must stress that neither of these detracted from a really wonderful stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for your review and for staying with us in one of our pet friendly rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you feel that we had a limited menu for vegetarians. We try to cook to order for vegetarians depending on the range of fresh ingredients we have in stock on the specific day as well as having our selection on the menu.

We are glad you found both the room and selection of Camera/ Cask Marque cask ales to your liking.

Thank you again for staying with us for the Leyburn Food Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in room 1' very spacious, lovely bed and lovely and warm. plenty of tea and coffee too. the food was good and you were made to feel very welcome. tony is a great landlord
, helpful and friendly too. check in is a bit odd, but you can ring him if you arrive in the afternoon and he will come along and open up for you. breakfast could perhaps be a little more adventurous with a little more choice of cereal. Some areas of the pub are in need of a bit of TLC and they have upgraded the rooms. great area for walking although I think on the whole perhaps horse riding is more suited. Some lovely pubs for lunches close by, but beware the 12 - 2pm lunch, most close after 2pm. we 're used to all day opening and food all day so it comes as a shock if you get your walk route wrong and you miss lunch! really enjoyed our trip though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helvellyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your review.

With regard to check in times, it is not possible for the pub to be attended all day in order to facilitate All Day Check In. We are a country pub, not a large chain hotel. We are flexible if we know someone wants to check in in advance, but if we are not advised we do not offer continuous check in.

We have extended the breakfast range to include a wider choice of cereals and croisette.

We do have a continuous refurbishment program and since your stay we have re decorated the restaurant and ladies loos. As you mentioned all 4 of our rooms have been refurbished to a modern and high standard.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome from Tony who graciously carried my bag up to the room. The room was lovely, warm and welcoming. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and plenty supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. We spent the evening there eating a well prepared meal and refreshing lager. Breakfast has cereal, fruit juice, toast and full English. Yes no menu but hey ... all you have to do is give your request and they cater for you.
The atmosphere is friendly with local people asking about where you live and giving good advice on walks: Couldn't have asked for a better one night stay. Thank you Tony and all your staff. Hopefully we will return again this year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank japat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay at our country pub. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found your stay friendly and welcoming.

Than you again for choosing to stay and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed in room 1 which was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and warm with good facilities. Despite speaking to Tony, the owner ,before booking, we were not advised that we could not check in until the pub opened in the evening. After arriving at 3pm and finding all in darkness and no answer at the door, we checked the pub websiteon smartphone and found that it opened at 5.30pm. We went for a ride around and came back for 5.30. Let in to pub by kitchen staff who said it didn't open until 6 pm... Shortly after we met Tony who was great and polite and showed us to the room.Tony said it was on the website about the check in times, but I cannot see where this is clearly stated and I have never been to an Inn before where check in has been so late.

Evening meal was very very good. Good ambience in the pub and no loud music despite us staying Friday and Sat. No menu at breakfast which is ok if you just want a full english (very good though). Fresh coffee in cafetiere. Tony - get a breakfast menu sorted!
Overall, a nice friendly place to stay where we were able to take our little dog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melancholy_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Pet Friendly country village pub.

Thank you also for the opportunity to address the issue of our check in time, within the TripAdvisor community.

As you are aware we are a small village country pub with good beer, good food and 4 modern and refurbished rooms. We are not a large chain hotel and therefore cannot offer a 24 hour check in service. This is not practical because the pub is not continuously attended.

We can arrange a specific check in time by individual request. If we have to pay for someone to attend we can offer specific hourly check in times. We need to charge for this and it has to be limited to a one hour window. We will try and facilitate any guest who requests an early check in and is happy to cover the costs. We do not seek to make any additional profit but simply to pay our employee the cost of attending. When offered this, in our experience, most guests do not accept this option.

I have checked, it is clearly on our web site and also on the Booking.com website.

This is part of the pub "policies", part of how I choose to run the pub, as is our choice not to have a "standard" breakfast menu. We try to offer a predictable/dependable service but with an element of individuality, with a willingness, where practical, to meet specific and individual requests.

I hope this explains some of the "unique idiosyncrasies" of staying at The Countryman's which continues to demonstrate that all those years ago John Lydgate ( 1370-1451 Benedictine Monk Bury St. Edmunds) first quoted "You can please all of the people...................." but later and more famously adapted by Abraham Lincoln ( 1809-killed 1865 "...... some all of the time, but Not all of the people all of the time.

You can keep going though if the effort is recognised occasionally!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights with my girlfriend during a walking weekend in the dales. Firstly i'd like to mention how welcoming Tony & his staff were upon our arrival and straight away we were made to feel at home, along with our dog. This is truly a dog friendly pub! The room was comfy, clean and warm! The evening meals were good quality along with the selection of 5 local ales makes for a good evening after a good day in the hills.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay in one of our pet friendly rooms and you all enjoyed your walking in the Dales. Although we are only a short drive from the A1 in Lower Wensleydale, we feel we offer a practical base for walking in the Dales and also allow reasonable access to both the Moors and the East coast.

We are glad you enjoyed both the area and the pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked for an early start at a racehorse trainer at Middleham, we were given a large comfortable twin bedded room with excellent facilities called the Jack Berry Room. The room and much of the inn had a horseracing theme. The evening meal was good quality (lamb chops/sirloin steak) with friendly service. We had a walk around the quiet village afterwards. There was some noise from the bar until around 11:15 but we both had a good night's sleep. We had asked for an early breakfast and when we came down they were still setting tables but the breakfast was one of the best we've had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind review. As you are aware we are situated in Lower Wensleydale, midway between the A1 and Middleham, ideal for visiting the gallops at Middleham or our two other local trainers at Constable Burton (Anne Duffield) and Hackforth (Phil Kirby).

As you are aware we are truly a village pub and as such are an integral part of our community and used by the locals as well as visitors. We are glad that the pub being busy until 11.15pm and the need to set up for your requested early breakfast did not detract from your stay.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a real inn with atmosphere and real locals in the bar in the evening. My room was clean and comfortable with full en-suite facilities, though it is worth noting that the rooms do vary - number 1 for instance is much better than number 3. You will get some noise till 11 pm when the bar empties(!), but after that it is quiet. The food is very good, imaginative and tasty, and well presented. That it is good is evidenced by the number of people that come there in the evening to eat. 'Mine host' Tony is friendly and cheerful and serves an excellent range of cask beers. It is very good value, and the final clincher is that it is well situated for the Yorkshire Dales and mid-way between Bedale and Richmond.

Room Tip: Ask for no.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the food and our real ales.

With regard to our rooms, all 4 have been refurbished to the same standard in terms of fixtures and fittings, so Rooms 1 and 3 are fitted with similar facilities. They vary in terms of size and a choice of en suite showers (room 3) and bath & shower (room 1). Room one is also larger with a sofa bed. These differences are reflected in the pricing. We are please, room 3, one of our less expensive rooms met your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Dales again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range: £61 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms and offering either a Light/Continental or a traditional home cooked Yorkshire Breakfast. We are rated AA three stars with the additional" Gold Standard" . The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and were included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015 and again in 2017. The Countrymans Kitchen provides high quality "Traditional Pub Grub four days per week: Thursday Friday and Saturday 18.00 to 21.00 and Sunday with both the full menu and a traditional Sunday Lunch Menu served from Midday until 19.00. Reservations are welcome to ensure preferred times and selection of items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing