We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Countryman's Inn
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
78
42
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
42
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcountry villagefriendly localsdog friendly pubwarm welcomesuite bathroomcatterick garrisonenjoyed our staybreakfast was freshly cookedwe booked a family roomperfect retreatforbidden cornerlovely mealpretty villageyorkshire dalespower showertea and coffee facilities
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My main advice don't go there. My husband and I were booked in for a four night stay at the Countryman's Inn - nobody there. When staff did arrive could not allocate a room to us. First visit to the area so not exactly a good experience. Public Bar area was unaired dark and dank. Had the look of neglect about the place. Tables consisted of old tressel sewing machines decor needed freshening up. Flies buzzing round one of the light fightings. Would not recommend this place to an enemy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCountrymans, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

This reviewer arrived prior to the stated check in time, without prior advice. My staff came in especially to check her in. She had access to her room but did not view it. She also commented on the restaraunt not being available on the evening of her arrival. Both the check in time and restaraunt availability are clearly stated on my web site and were included in the booking confirmation sent to the reviewer. She had several weeks prior to her arrival to confirm the suitability of her booking. She did not do this.
She left the property stating that she would seek a full refund. She was in Breach of Contract and my credit card service provider, having reviewed the full facts have declined a full refund.

I believe this review is inaccurate through ommission of salient facts.

Please consider this, and the remainder of the reviews on Tripadvisor when making your choice of places to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

What a lovely weekend spent in this beautifully unspoiled country village. Tony was hospitable, friendly and accommodating. Liz's meals and attention to detail was second to none. Fabulous time in a gorgeous setting. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyAveris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for staying and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We had an enjoyable two night stay at this country hotel in Hunton. There was a very warm welcome from the owner Tony, our room was as described and very acceptable. Clean and comfy, although we did have a slight problem with the heating which was immediately rectified by him.
The food in the restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced.
It is a little out of the way but is well worth finding!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyNorthofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for staying and your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and have now modernised all 4 of our rooms and replaced the heating system. Although you comment we are " a little out of the way" we are in fact only 7 miles from the A1 and midway from Bedale, Leyburn and Richmond. We are in Lower Wensleydale and both the Dales National Park and the North Yorkshire Moors National Park are easily accessible. York, Harrogate, Leeds, Newcastle are all within 1 hours drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed for one night on a Monday. Good location as not a long drive to Leyburn, Richmond and the Dales. Warm welcome form Tony who allowed us to check in earlier. The room was lovely and clean. Complementry drinks and biscuits :) Rooms well equiped with digital tv, DAB radio and dvds. Our a stay coincided with the Monday night music in which a small band played modern classics which was just to our taste. We were happy to stay in the pub with the locals until past midnight. No rush to check out in the morning. Overall a lovely stay, would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you found your stay comfortable. Just to update we now no longer have a regular music night. They tend to be "impromptu" and on Wednesday evenings. We also now cook on 6 nights per week.

It is however impossible to commit to a routine earlier check in each day and our standard check in remains at 18.00 hours on weekdays.

Thank you again for staying and your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I don't normally write reviews but feel I must for two reasons. First, as a response to Southport Lassy who seems to have had expectations that could not be met by any accommodation in a traditional country pub, and second because our stay was truely memorable for all the right reasons.
The welcome was warm and friendly, our bags being carried for us to the well equiped en-suite room we were to stay in. The meal was splendid and served in a convivial manner in homely surroundings but the best was yet to come. During our meal the locals began to arrive so that our after meal drink was enjoyed in their chatty company by the side of a log fire. We felt as though we had known Tony and his locals a long time and that we were all sharing a home from home.
Highly recommended. Walk in with a smile and an open mind and you will be rewarded.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honourarylocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for staying and your kind review. It is enouraging to read that we can get it right some of the time. All we strive to be is a friendly, comfortable village pub. So I guess we just have to accept that "You can please all of the people some of the time....... etc." We are pleased we were able to please you and your encouragement will ensure we try harder! ThanK you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews