We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Yorkshire Village Inn; Outstanding Food; Welcoming Community”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Countryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Countryman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Yorkshire Village Inn; Outstanding Food; Welcoming Community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

My wife and I had a lovely time here for two nights in the early December snows, to attend our son's post Afghanistan medal parade at Catterick Garrison.

This is a traditional country inn in a friendly welcoming community, full of character and full of characters. Stay here if you want to experience the warmth and individuality of a village inn, not the sterile environment of a hotel chain. Log fire, great food, good beer. Interesting people at the bar who enjoy chatting if you make the effort to say hello, or will leave you alone if you prefer. Conscientious and committed host, attentive without being intrusive . Fantastic chef.

Our room was beautifully warm, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was clean with plenty of very hot water. We slept excellently.

Food was really, really good, tasty and plentiful. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day.

Thank you, Tony. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2016
Thank you for staying and for submitting your review.

As you note we are a country pub, close to Catterick Garrison centre. So for those, like you, who want something more original ( and less predictable!) than the Purple Palace, that's occupied by real everyday people rather than just staff and guests.Here we are just 3 miles from Camp Centre. The parades to mark the return while soon be over for good ( we hope!). We are however well placed for Parents Open DAys and Pass Off Parades at both the ITC (Vimy) and Paras (Helles). Both are even closer 2.5 miles and only 10 minutes.

Thank you again for staying, your kind review and your sons service. Glad he and everyone still returning are now safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    40
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Central to Dales, not far from Leyburn. When we arrived it was minus 8 degrees. There were locals roasting chestnuts on the open fire. It is clear the owner is not trying to fit in, his Inn is full of ye olde world racing ephermera and gadgets which lends it to a traditional rather than contrived atmostphere. Our room (room 1) was large and well aired and very warm, not drafty and damp (as I have experienced this over the years at other places.) The ensuite was white tiled and spotless with good water pressure and lots of hot water. The pub has got a great menu and has both a formal and informal dining area. it has lots of guest ales (Ye Olde Leg Over was the one available this weekend). We were veyr happy with the accommodation and food given the price - a bargain!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you note all 4 of our guest rooms have been modernised and offer comfortable and up to date accommodation.

We generally offer our standard cask ales and up to 3 guest ales, a total of 5 cask marque CAMRA approved LocAles.

We are glad you enjoyed the area, the food, the cask ales and the company. Thank you again for staying and your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I don't know where some of the other people stayed as The Countryman's Inn was nothing like their descriptions! We stopped over for one night on the way to Aviemore from Norwich and really enjoyed out stay. The room was clean and comfortable and we got a very warm and friendly welcome (especially our dog) Our evening meal was mega scrummy as were the beers :o) We had a lovely walk round the village in the morning and also made use of the fenced paddock to exercise our dog. Cooked breakfast was enjoyed by all and will definately be recommending it. Many thanks Tony and your staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2016
Thank you for using us to break your journey from Norfolk to Scotland recently. Being so close to the A1, only 5 miles, we do have a few travellers who take the opportunity to break the journey and then spend a day in the Dales or travel onwards through the Dales rather than continue directly up the A1.

We are glad you enjoyed our small pet friendly village pub with its exercise paddock,and its modernised rooms. A bonus that you enjoyed the food and beer too!

Thank you again for staying with us and your subsequent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Stayed here 3 nights with my 24 yr old daughter and sister. Tony, the innkeeper, has 3 rooms above his pub/restaurant so we literally took over the place. We also had a medium sized dog. Great rooms, beautifully decorated and the beds were wonderful. Showers/bathrooms had great water pressure and very clean!! We drove from London on our way to Edinburgh and stayed in B&B's. By far, this was the best! Tony is an extremely funny guy (dry humor!!!), great pub and excellent restaurant. We tried a few restaurants in the area (recommended by Tony) which were excellent but would have been more than fine eating at his every day. Plenty of parking both in the back and front. Beer Garden in the back with WIFI coverage! The area is beautiful and we stayed there to enjoy the agricultural fair and countryside. Only complaint - the stairs up to the rooms are a bit steep and narrow but we still managed although we had about 10 pieces of heavy luggage!!! We would defintely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Thank you for staying with us at our pet friendly pub on your trip from London to Scotland. As you note we are well placed to break the journey, ( about half way) but also , just off the A1 we offer a pleasant spot both to take a couple of days in the Dales and visit the nearby Yorkshire Moors. Two national parks from the same base!!

We now have 4 rooms, we have built an additional guest room since your stay, that can sleep a large family or up to 5 adults should they be doing the Coast to Coast walking or cycling!

We are glad you enjoyed the area and your stay at the pub and am sorry you found the stairs an issue, but, its all part of being a 200 year old village pub!.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

A local's pub that just happens to have a great landlord and a really super restaurant in the evening (but note it's not open on Monday and Tuesday, but there are other good recommendations locally). The breakfast is fine (served in the pub), but the selling point is Tony's personal service and the feeling that you aren't just another guest. Good central location for exploring the Dales and the North York Moors. Would definitely go back!!
Nigel & Elaine Tant

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainetant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Thank you for your review following your stay and visit to the Dales and North Yorkshire Moors.We are glad you felt welcome and enjoyed North Yorkshire.

Please note the restaurant is now open 6 evenings per week and from Midday until 19.00 each Sunday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the Countryman for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The purpose of our visit was to completely unwind and relax and that is exactly what we did. Tony the Landlord was so welcoming and hospitable and made our stay a very pleasant one - although he is a Man City supporter and we are Sunderland that didnt make a difference even though his team was beaten 1-0 Sorry Tony!!!!! Great pub - Martin says the real ale was exceptional. Food good and the room we stayed in was very comfortable with a large bathroom with shower and bath. Would definately recommend and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwanttogo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you found the area and pub suitable and were able to relax and chill out. It has taken me some time to go through my TripAdvisor reviews and I think it is now 3 seasons since you beat us 1-0. It wont happen again although I was glad to see you maintain your Premiership status last season. It means a nearby away game and a guaranteed 6 points!!

Thank you for staying and the 6 points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My partner and I visited last weekend. We were welcomed by both Tony the landlord, his wife and the staff as well as the local crew. We went for a quiet and gentle weekend: walking, relaxing and eating. All of these fulfilled ++. The rooms are not of the highest quality and ours did not have a bath but they were comfortable and clean. The food was fabulous and my coeliac disease was catered for with great attention. We enjoyed being here. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Just for information, the rooms have now been added to with the creation of a new family room that sleeps up to 5 adults. All the other three rooms have been refurbished within the last 3 years. Two rooms have en suite showers, such as the one you had, and the two larger rooms have ensuite bath and showers. We try therefore to offer a full range of both services and prices to suit all budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton
4.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.9 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.8 mi away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#4 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Property: Countryman's Inn
Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms. AA three star rated with additional" Gold Standard" and AA Diners Award. The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015. The Countryman's Kitchen, now under new management provides food 18.00 to 21.00 EVERY WEEKDAY and SATURDAY EVENING AND FROM Midday to 18.00 on Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing