We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, Little gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robin Cottage

South-facing private garden lets you relax from sunrise to sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South-facing private garden lets you relax from sunrise to sunset.
'AA' 4-Star, quality assured accommodation. Modern and well equipped kitchen, ready for any master chef!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
South-facing private garden lets you relax from sunrise to sunset.
'AA' 4-Star, quality assured accommodation.
Modern and well equipped kitchen, ready for any master chef!
Dining table seating 4 people.
Comfortable lounge area to rest after a days exploring.
Luxurious Master Bedroom.
The Master Bedroom.
Spacious Twin Bedroom.
Spacious Twin Bedroom.
High quality bathroom.
High quality bathroom.
Welcome to Robin Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Doddington, Sittingbourne, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jacki897
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, Little gem”
Reviewed 25 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lynda the owner is so helpful, the welcome basket was a treat after a long drive, the cottage itself is furnished to a high standard, exceptionally clean, comfortable, A real home rom home, you do not really want for anything here.
Perfect base for exploring Kent, we visited Hever Castle, Wingham Animal Park, Chatam Historic Dockyard, Herne Bay, Folkestone, Battle of Britain Museum, Hythe, Faversham, Sittingbourne, Oare Marshes, would definitely be returning to the cottage.
We were very pleased to find this little gem as we have family that live near by, so got to spend a few more days with them

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiektc...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Peaceful”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Once again we had a most lovely stay at Downcourt Cottages. This time we stayed in Robin Cottage with the private walled garden. Our host Lynda is friendly and helpful and there for anything you require or need. She was very helpful to us following a breakdown beginning to our 2 week holiday when our car was out of action for the weekend.The welcome basket was filled with local produce.
The cottage was spotless and very comfortable and well equipped.
It is a perfect location for visits to London and shows etc if required. Train station at Sittingbourne is easy to get to, with a selection of supermarkets for food shopping etc.
We visited Sandwich, Howletts Animal Park, Canterbury, Lenham,Romney Hythe and Dymchurch railway etc
Robin Cottage is the perfect place to chill and take time out of a busy life. The sunsets are amazing over the fields.
I enjoyed watching the housemartins cheep and chatter until their departure and also the sparrow chicks in the garden.

Thank you Lynda.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George An...
1 review
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A most delightful cottage. The cottage is well-designed, well-furnished and well-equipped. The welcome basket was a most useful extra. The rural countryside is beautiful and there are many interesting places to visit within a hour's drive. The owner of the cottage is friendly, accessible and well informed of the area. In addition, she has prepared a guide book to the cottage and the locality. We hope to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosey26
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the moment we arrived and made to feel so welcome by Lynda to the day we left we could find no fault with this lovely cottage. It is very modern, has everything you might need, including a gas bbq. We were even treated to a welcome pack to cover a few necessities. We used the cottage as a base to explore the glorious county of Kent. Dover Castle and Folkestone's Battle of Britain museum were not too far and the town of Faversham is a delight. I hope to return for a longer stay one day, but it would have to be in the summer in order to see the house martins again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqandre...
Shirley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a lovely 2 bed cottage on a working farm. The accommodation is immaculate and very comfortable. Beautiful bedding and lovely bathroom with seperate shower. The area is simply beautiful but on top of that the enclosed garden is just magic, we loved watching many house martins building their nests, they were so sweet and really made the week extra special for us. Also two wonderful horses to fall in love with in the nearby field. Our 11 year old boy adored this holiday. Doddington Gardens is a lovely place to visit. The local pub is nice for a Sunday roast. Canterbury is so nice, half hour drive from the cottage. Many thanks to Linda for such a lovely welcome and for being so nice and kind throughout our visit.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem Of Tranquillity In The Heartland Of Kent's Beautiful Countryside ...”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In respect of this wonderful holiday rental, clearly, all the previous comments that have gone before, have said it all.

Moreover, the fact that this particular cottage, has gained a 5 star rating, from all who have taken the time to write a review, says all that you need to know about this wonderful property and the surrounding area.

So I will keep it very simple and just say ...

It is inevitably the case, that when seeking out a holiday location, that you hope to find that one golden nugget of a holiday destination, that one perfect holiday experience and that one all providing holiday rental.

Well, take a deep breath, because when you stay at 'Robin Cottage' as we did, or at 'Housemartin' close by, you will find all three!

The cottage was not only comfortable, very clean and excellently equipped but it also had the added advantage of a walled garden which. weather permitting, provided a further area of calm and relaxation.

Add to all of this, the personal warmth and generosity of spirit of the property's owner Lynda and you know that you have found a true 'hidden gem'.

When considering the tranquility of the surrounding countryside and the enchantment from visiting the like of the historic market town of Faversham and the ancient City of Canterbury, to name but two of many, together with the multitudinous coastal and countryside walks that one can experience as we seek to quench our exploratory thirst, for that one special holiday memory that will last a lifetime.... it is no surprise that the County of Kent has been justifiably credited with the enviable title of being 'The Garden Of England'.... I'll say no more!

So, book with every confidence and immerse yourselves in a wonderful home grown holiday experience .. you won't be disappointed... : )

Peter.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing