We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
38
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub comfortable bed enjoyable stay kent countryside two nights warm welcome breakfast hamper separate building split level richard accommodation wheat bath nuts tv furnishings plough
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

We spent two nights at this delightful pub/restaurant in the lovely Kent countryside. The experience was wonderful with the food exceeding expectations, great local ales and welcoming staff. The accommodation was well presented and very comfortable. Our 2 year old Labrador fell in love with Baxter and we were all sad to leave.

Room tip: The restaurant/pub is closed on Monday with a restricted menu on Tuesday.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank christ192
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2022

We booked a one night stay at the Plough while visiting Kent and loved everything about it. Yes, there are some winding lanes to get there but it is definitely worth the trip. The pub is definitely steeped in tradition and the food is fabulous. There is a traditional style menu and a generous choice on the specials board which we dined from. Our food was delicious and imaginitive and service by Ruby and Josie made our evening perfect.
The split level rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast is ordered the previous night and delivered at your chosen time in the morning (by the lovely Marianne) and taken at the table in the upstairs sitting room.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2022

Back for our third visit and we can’t rate The Plough Inn enough. A lovely warm welcome as always and the facilities are amazing! The room was heaven sent and I loved the added bonus of the bath robes this time around. Our son has allergies to wheat and nuts so it is always a worry when we eat out/stay at a hotel. Again we were able to put our trust in Richard and Marianne as Harry could enjoy his dinner without stress. The breakfast was excellent too! Our son also loved the new play park area which is a new addition. Thank you!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TipToptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2022

Two miles off the main road, the winding country lanes lead you to this true hidden gem in Stalisfield - and I highly recommend going that extra mile to find it.

Warm welcome, excellent food and a really comfortable bed!

The location is quintessentially English - village lifestyle, rural, peaceful and perched on a hill. The views across the Kentish Downs stretch to the coast on a clear day. Perfect base to explore Leeds Castle, local gardens, go hiking and have a day at the coast.

The food is outstanding. Chef-owner Richard and his head chef Matt have created a mouth-watering menu that deserves at least two nights to explore and decide. Plenty of dining choices and two open fires in winter.

The ensuite rooms are in a separate building, which adds to the privacy, spacious and appointed with hand-crafted joinery throughout. The extra lounge space that comes with each room was great for relaxing in and working from.

The Plough Inn's remote location and absence of light pollution makes it a star-gazers dream spot.

The row of gins in the bar is enviable...will definitely be back to work our way through the selection, and owner Marianne has a recommendation for everyone.

Go the extra mie - the hosts certainly do - and you wont regret it!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

Lovely country pub nice food good service
We went with friends for Sunday lunch every helpful staff wanting to good service
Food was of good quality hot and well presented (Brussels needed more cooking) would really recommend and will return again

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marianne Baker, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2022

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your meal with us, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews