We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you’re looking for a friendly independent pub restaurant in the picturesque Faversham area, then look no further. Local beers, wines & ciders and a choice from the constantly changing selection of unique homemade dishes from our blackboard come as standard in our family-run country pub. Tucked away in an area of outstanding natural beauty between the historical towns of Maidstone, Ashford and Faversham, The Plough inhabits a unique space amongst Kent’s rolling hills and lush farmland. Our unspoilt surroundings in ‘The Garden of England’ create the perfect setting for enjoying the fresh, locally-sourced meals we serve here. Just come and see for yourself.There’s plenty to see and do nearby, and we’re a great stop-off for walkers and cyclists alike. A short drive from Faversham is medieval Leeds Castle, the home of Catherine of Aragon in the sixteenth century, with parts dating back to the early 1100’s. We also enjoy stunning views out to Herne Bay, a popular Victorian seaside town known for its pier, pretty shingle beach and pastel-coloured huts along the seafront. Other local attractions are Farming World in Faversham for a day of family fun, and some of Kent’s leading vineyards for those who are young at heart. Whether you’re looking for somewhere to enjoy a warm and lazy afternoon taking in the stunning views from our gardens or seeking the unbeatable cosiness of an open log fire in the winter, we look forward to welcoming you to The Plough Inn.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I first visited The Plough for my father's birthday (9/8) and had to quickly return with my wife last night. The food is outstanding with locally sourced ingredients. I've tasted some of the best local lamb and oysters. The owners and staff are doing a fab job to provide great service and exquisitely tasting food. Definitely be back again soon and spreading the word! Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank J_Gambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Plough Inn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you for sharing your experience with others, it means a lot to us as it's a huge compliment for people to recommend their friends and family to our pub. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Marianne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had been to The Plough before, under previous owners, and had always enjoyed the meal and so, having read recent reviews, we a high
expectations. However, the Sunday lunch, four of us had recently, was a disappointment. The starters were ok, even if one of us had a bone in the fish cake - but, I suppose, that can happen. It was the main courses which were the disappointment. The roast beef was far from perfect. The meat was pink but very tough. The Yorkshire puddings were not cooked in the middle. We're they frozen and reheated?
My burger was fine but the fries that came along were not. They looked fine but tasted as if cooked in old oil or were from a packet. The desserts were adequate, except the Cambridge burnt cream, which was served on so big a plate it meant it was, perhaps, 1/4 inch thick - is that how it is really meant to be served? The bread is good and there are plenty of local drinks to try. The Plough is picturesque and the service friendly if, on this occasion very inexperienced. Every question about the food or drink had to be checked out before answering. The cost of a Sunday three course meal is £24.00, which is not unreasonable, provided that the food matches the price. On this occasion we were not convinced it did. Are there different people in the kitchen on Sunday? It is a shame because we wanted to like The Plough and this could be a real gem - if more TLC is done with the food.

3  Thank ModMan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to talk to us further regarding your review and we look forward to seeing you again after your break away. Kind regards Marianne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our 2nd visit to The Plough within 3 weeks, our first being Saturday, 12th July as a watering hole on our annual village bike ride. The previous year it was closed for a private function. However this year it was open. Although only about quarter full (on on sunny Saturday) we had problems actually getting a drink. The service for 7 drinks, mainly halves or soft, was painfully slow and confused. The staff were polite and friendly, but a simple drinks order was protracted and embarrassing. The landlady was apologetic and friendly and intervened to try to complete the order. Whilst enjoying our drinks outside we all decided to come to try the pub for lunch.
On said day, Friday 1st Aug,a beautiful sunny day, 7 of us set off on our bikes from our village 8 miles away and had a pleasant cycle through the Kent countryside to The Plough. A 'ladies who lunch bike ride'. We arrived at about 12.45 and proceeded to order drinks and requested menus. Different staff this time and again an uncomplicated order of halves and soft drinks...again the bar staff were very polite and friendly but seemed incapable of multitasking as order took an exceptionally long time. We took our drinks outside and studied the menus. Just before 1.30 we went inside to order, mainly from the bar snack menu. The barman/owner?? was very friendly and polite asked us if we had booked...(for bar snacks???)which we hadn't and informed us that the kitchen was busy so couldn't guarantee we would get food. Nothing was said to alert us to this when requested several menus earlier. We looked around somewhat confused as there were only 4 or 5 tables in a very large pub occupied and eating. In total I think under 20 people using the restaurant facility, in fact using the pub, plus us. We expressed dismay and explained we had cycled 8 miles and only wanted predominantly bar snacks. It was just before 1.30. The gentleman said he would talk to the chef and see what he could do. A few minutes later he came back and said he could do a deal and take our order but that it may take up to 45 mins to all come out. We were OK with this and our orders were taken. We returned to our table outside where the topic of conversation was obviously how sad it was that such a beautiful pub in a lovely setting should be let down by a somewhat perplexing attitude to providing customers with the goods they advertise. The food came well within the 45 minute time and excellent it was. The salt and pepper homemade burger was exceptional, and others more than enjoyed the whitebait, steak sandwich, chicken chorizo roll and various ploughmans. I itemise the
food to highlight the simplicity of the food we ordered. We wondered how the pub would cope if it were 50% or even 100% full.
In summary, the pub is an a wonderful building in a lovely setting, the staff are friendly and polite, the food IS good, BUT, the slow service of drinks on both days, in what lets be honest were definately not busy sessions, and, the seemingly inability to cope with food orders within the advertised times with very few other diners is worrying. I wanted so much for my experience to be other than it was. As it was, this ride was a prelude to possibly booking for one of their specials nights...I cant imagine how they would cope if they were fully booked and am not prepared
to be disappointed a 3rd
time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that you experienced friendly & polite service, great food and that you received it in a timely manner but were advised that there could have been a longer wait. All our food is freshly prepared, which does take time to produce. The delay in your drinks order was only because you all wanted to order separately and pay separately, not that this was an issue to us anyway. If you would like to call us personally prior to your next visit we will reserve an area for you and ensure a speedier service is delivered to meet your requirements. Marianne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Haddock and chips with a glass of Chardonnay. The haddock was fresh and well prepared, I found the chips a little underdone. Still a decent meal for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BillyBoyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, we hope that you mentioned the chips at the time so we were able to rectify this. Our fish & chips are very popular - so much so that we even offer take away for the locals! We look forward to seeing you soon, Marianne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My thoughts about the plough in is very good. The food is out standing' the staff are very polite' and I most say I had the best meal I've had in a while' I would like to thank you with my kind regards on your lovely meal thankyou very much! Only one word for this place amazing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. It is delightful to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us from both the service to the food. We hope to see you again soon, Marianne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing