We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde English”
Review of The Godstone Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Godstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Godstone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Godstone B&B and Inns
Surbiton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ye Olde English”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A unique place in a lovely setting, each room having its own front door!
Yes the rooms were a bit old fashioned and the bathroom cramped with an inconsistent supply of hot water..
The restaurant food was copious and delicious and the wine excellent.
Service "faulty towerish" but friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
16
24
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Location is ideal, in the centre of the beautiful picturesque village of Godstone. The coachouse itself is lovely, but the bedrooms are dated, and, require attention. The hotel is clean, has plenty spaces for cars but rooms and breakfasts need attention.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJGBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

From moment of arrival to departure the staff did nothing to make you feel welcome. We arrived just before your proposed check-in time and were greeted with a questioning “Yes’ as if we had walked off another planet. After a distracted registration we were handed the key and pointed to our room outside, no offer of assistance considered.

All the rooms are outside the main building and ours faced the car park, at least we could park right outside our front door! The rooms open straight onto the car park with no inner lobby. The room was small, wallpaper peeling in a number of places, the bed linen average and the bed far to small for a real double. We spent most of the first night trying not to fall out of the bed! Bathrooms are tidy and functional – the water is very hot (a positive point).

Breakfast was a farce. Completed ignored to start with. Asked for brown toast, and after reminding the serving staff twice we ended up with slices of white bread. Second morning we gave breakfast a miss. As we had pre-paid we did not have to see anybody in the morning before we left – not I that I think it would have need any difference either way, as we never felt anybody was in anyway interested in us.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any. Do try to avoid being on the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godstone hotels

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A motel type room attached to the back of the hotel. Room was clean but rather gloomy but slept well. Continental breakfast was average but overall good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our party of 9 arrived at The Coach House Restaurant at The Godstone Hotel to celebrate our friends birthday, we have been here many times in the past but hadnt been for a couple of years, the food was ok as usual if a little predictable but it was the attitude of the Manager we found a bit lacking, he is very abrupt almost to the point of rudeness and made us rush to order our meal, we sat in the lounge after our meal to finish our drinks and as we were the last customers in there we were asked to leave, not very professional and I dont think we will ever return. The manager needs a course on customer relations!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel with a group attending a wedding, we stayed just the one night but others stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are on the ground floor and accessed by an external door. The rooms vary, all are very clean, our room was pretty good apart from the bed was small, we had a regular size double bed which we found small after having a king size bed at home and no spare pillows, the shower was excellent, powerful and plenty of hot water. Some of our fellow travellers rooms were not as good as ours, one had rather gloomy wallpaper and the shower room was mould stained in another. The staff were very accommodating regarding check in; we were not able to be there during the regular check in time which I think was between 2 and 10 pm but we were able to arrange for our room key to be given to one of our party who had stayed for the 2 nights. The complimentary continental breakfast was fine although we had to ask for a couple of things, no butter was put out for example but the additional cost fry up was well below par and definately not worth the money. We didnt eat at the restaurant in the evening but it was very busy and obviously very popular. All in all, it was ok for a couple of nights stay.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the room you are allocated, ask for another and go somewhere else for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godstone
3.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Redhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godstone Hotel

Property: The Godstone Hotel
Address: 87 High Street, Godstone RH9 8DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Godstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing