We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a beuatiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Annexe with private garden area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland
Enter a caption for your photo
Lounge with log burner
Well equipped kitchen
large lounge where you can relax
The large kingsized bedroom with some lovely views
The master double bedroom
Kitchen with dining table
Lrrge shower cubicle
Master bathroom with spa bath and shower cubicle
Private garden
Some of the cattle on the farm
Barn
Farm buildings
Some friendly cattle
Lovely views all around
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Large convertable lounge with french doors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bodle Street Green, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
davidineu...
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beuatiful location”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I had a great relaxing stay at Woodlands Farm for a week in August. The accommodation is very well catered for and there is a lovely garden and patio for sitting out in. We were hoping to use the log burner as the hosts Hazel and Chris had supplied some free logs but it was too warm that we didn't need to so gives us the perfect excuse to return in the winter. It was very well decorated with plenty of space and parking.

Being on a working farm was great to see the cows and chickens and we even were able to sample some free range eggs for breakfast! Thanks to the hosts for a lovely week we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the kitchen window!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Woodlands Farm and for the lovely comments you made. It would be nice to see you again some time and thank you for the time to write a review. Many thanks Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRoffel
Roderesch, The Netherlands
1 review
“wonderful holiday in Woodlands Farm”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We (family of five) had a wonderful time at Woodlands Farm. Thank you so much, Chris and Hazel! Very welcoming and kind. Your cottage felt like home from home. Nice garden with grass so the children could play ball and spacious patio with large table with parasol and enough chairs (with cushions!) There are lots of things to see and do in the surroundings, like Herstmonceux Castle and garden, Eastbourne with shopping and sea, Seven Sisters coastline not far and National Trust properties all around. We're looking forward to our next stay at Woodlands Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view!
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. It is lovely to know how much you enjoy staying at the farm and as you say there are lots of things to do in the area.

It will be lovely to see you all again in August and are so glad you are so comfortable here and it feels like home from home.

Kind regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam20181
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was on a training course in Crowborough and decided I couldn't bare to leave the children for 5 days so I searched for something big enough for us all!

Hazel responded immediately to my message and we booked straight away.

On arrival (we admittedly did get lost sat nav advised we had arrived at our destination a bit further down the road) we were met my Hazel and Chris who were very welcoming, they showed us round the house which was beautiful and well equipped. There were fresh eggs and tomatoes and wine for us and biscuits for the children. Such a lovely welcome.

The bedrooms were comfortable and Hazel and Chris had erected stair gates, travel cot and high chair for the baby. In our 3 year olds bedroom it had been decorated with owl bed covers and a big teddy bear. So lovely. She didn't want to come home!

It took me around 35 mins to drive to Crowborough each day, whilst the hubby and the children went on many day trips. Beach, Science Museum, Adventure parks and more!

I would not hesitate to recommend the Annexe to anyone, and we would definitely love to return.

Thank you again Hazel and Chris x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments. Our sole aim is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay so it's always pleasing to hear we've achieved our objective. We're very fortunate to live where we do and enjoy sharing it with others.

You have a lovely well behaved family and it would be nice to meet you again sometime.

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0sie1234...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful Cottage, beautiful surroundings and great log fire!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Hazel and Chris were great hosts. There was a box of fresh eggs and red wine on arrival and we were warmly greeted by both Hazel and Chris. The cottage was very comfortable and a real home from home. The living space was spacious and the whole place was lovely and warm. We enjoyed the log fire, Jacuzzi bath and great views. My son was made up being allowed to sit on two tractors before we left. We enjoyed a lovely walk on the land on New Years Day. Thanks for a great time :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area, well appointed kitchen and log fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands farm. Very sorry about the weather but that was out of our control.

Thank you for bothering to do a review and very much appreciated and perhaps we might see you again one day.

Many thanks

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodney304
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
“A tranquil haven to return to after a day exploring East Sussex”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Exceeded our expectations. Comprehensively fitted out, spacious and comfortable, the Annexe was our home away from home for two weeks. Easy to relax in and the views from the house and the outdoor area were very peaceful. Hosts Hazel and Chris were discreet, very friendly and most responsive to our requests. A splendid base from which to explore our genealogical roots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location.
Liked least: Fridge capacity could have been just a little bigger.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands Farm. The weather could have been a bit kinder to you but it didn't put you of going to look for places where your ancestors lived and meeting some of your relatives.
Kind regards.
Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage with an amazing view”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hazel and Chris were very welcoming and their cottage is beautiful. We loved the jacuzzi bath and the log fire. Also had a lovely walk in the woods by the stream and enjoyed meeting the cows. Our children loved the farm and especially loved sitting in the tractor, a real treat, thank you. There are also great places to see nearby, such as Knockhatch Adventure Park and the Observatory and Science Museum which was enjoyed by kids and adults. Many thanks Hazel and Chris for your hospitality xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: leaving and going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for bothering to write a report on our holiday let. So glad you enjoyed your short stay and hopefully we will see you again one day. Your children were so well behaved and a pleasure to have them stay here with us. As you say there is a lot to do here in this area with plenty of walking, beaches not far away and lots of villages to visit.

Everyone who goes to the science observatory loves it as it is great for the kids and adults and is only five minutes in the
car at Herstmoneux.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandMF
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for all the Family”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Woodlands Farm is in a beautiful quiet location with far reaching views over the Sussex countryside. The accommodation was ideal for us - grandparents , daughter and 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 8. There are so many places to visit nearby - Herstmonceux Science Observatory , Kent and Sussex steam railway , Bodiam Castle , Battle Abbey and grounds.
The local walks are perfect, leading to woods with stream and bridges - an idyll for young children.
Hazel and Chris are welcoming hosts - helpful and discreet - we had complete use of the large sunny garden with a large table to eat outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the cottage. So glad you enjoyed your stay here at the farm and taking the time to review it and we hope to perhaps see you and your family again one day.

Kind regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing